Carlton Blues' savage pokies grab from Richmond and Bulldogs

Collingwood 4 eternity

Mar 16, 2009
All pokies in existence should be crushed and dismantled. Organisations that operate based on the revenue from pokies don't deserve to exist.

Can transfer the machines, not the hotel though.

secondly, it would mean that they couldnt get Tabaret Machines, Tatts however would easily swoop in.

third, in 2012, Tatts and Tabaret lose their Duopoly on the Machines in Victoria, and each venue will purchase the machines outright, rather then leasing them from the two companies.

And finally, there are plenty of companies who work in the gaming industry (ALH for example) and im sure that they would come in to help out both clubs. They own the lease to a fair portion of the machines in Victoria.

Both clubs are in either Bulldog's or Richmond's heartlands. I'm not a fan of pokies myself, but I can say the communities will likely snub the venues when the leases change. I can see Mathieson begging both footy clubs to take them back, but they will both refuse as they should.
The venues themselves will be victims of this.

Both clubs are in either Bulldog's or Richmond's heartlands. I'm not a fan of pokies myself, but I can say the communities will likely snub the venues when the leases change. I can see Mathieson begging both footy clubs to take them back, but they will both refuse as they should.

Are you a time-traveller from the 1950's?

It can be a handy way to generate revenue from your own players. Just take a look at Steve Price when he was skipper of the Canterbury Bulldogs in the NRL. Effectively put his house through the club's pokie machines.

Can transfer the machines, not the hotel though.

secondly, it would mean that they couldnt get Tabaret Machines, Tatts however would easily swoop in.

third, in 2012, Tatts and Tabaret lose their Duopoly on the Machines in Victoria, and each venue will purchase the machines outright, rather then leasing them from the two companies.

And finally, there are plenty of companies who work in the gaming industry (ALH for example) and im sure that they would come in to help out both clubs. They own the lease to a fair portion of the machines in Victoria.

Mitch, the pokies auction starts soon :thumbsdown: .. club premises have a sweet heart deal with the State Govt, but the pubs as investments, they are going to have to bid to keep what they got ... ouch! Why the Pies want out of the 'Eddies disaster' pubs, they are going to have to stick bulk money in to keep the pokies, cash money, no terms (they owe Westpac $10 mil due & payable 2010).
#1 pokies owner in Vic: Woolworths. Mathieson has a deal with Woolies.

See why the Munday Group hit troubled waters:
This week Mr Munday blamed the devaluation of his pub portfolio and the State Government's recent gaming licence regulations on the failure of his business

All pokies in existence should be crushed and dismantled. Organisations that operate based on the revenue from pokies don't deserve to exist.
Agree 100%. As evidenced by the epidemic of bankruptcies and financial problems, fraud and embezzlement, and child neglect, that occurs on a daily basis as a direct result of poker machines.

It's been a long time since Williamstown was the Bulldogs' heartland. I don't remember Steve Bracks proclaiming allegiance to the Bulldogs in the years he was the local member of parliament for the area.

Given the cosmopolitan make up of Richmond these days, I wonder how many of the local residents are Richmond supporters. Certainly one of the highest profile residents, Molly Meldrum, certainly isn't.

I think suburban Melbourne is a long time removed from the days when the local community exclusively supported their local VFL team.

What is it about Carlton and this sort of shady crap...?:confused:

Nothing shady about this at all. The owners of the pubs can assign the lease to whoever they see fit (within relevant licensing laws).

Once again you have to admire the media & its ability to be behind the times. This information was posted on the Carlton board several weeks ago by a Carlton supporter.

It's been a long time since Williamstown was the Bulldogs' heartland. I don't remember Steve Bracks proclaiming allegiance to the Bulldogs in the years he was the local member of parliament for the area.

Who needs Bracks when we have Julia:p

Given the cosmopolitan make up of Richmond these days, I wonder how many of the local residents are Richmond supporters. Certainly one of the highest profile residents, Molly Meldrum, certainly isn't.

I think suburban Melbourne is a long time removed from the days when the local community exclusively supported their local VFL team.

Williamstown Seaqulls is our affiliate in the VFL - and that is where many of our players live so don't agree.

Nothing shady about this at all. The owners of the pubs can assign the lease to whoever they see fit (within relevant licensing laws).

Once again you have to admire the media & its ability to be behind the times. This information was posted on the Carlton board several weeks ago by a Carlton supporter.

Ok I should rephrase, what is it with Carlton and the way it moves forward using shonky means of support?
You don't need me to elaborate do you?;)

We'll pay seven cents in the dollar like The Fireman's honest club.

Mathieson is every bit as honest as Lindsay Fox who financially supported the St Kilda Football Club.

Some people have their head in the sand.

In that case the AFL should call in the bailiffs or revoke your license. I mean what type of lowlife outfit welchs on a generous no interest loan of $1.5 Million.

Carlton Blues' savage pokies grab from Richmond and Bulldogs