Opinion AFL 2024 Round 7 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

Welcome to the Weekend Wrap for round 7 folks! As always, don't forget to post your liked, learnt, hated below.

Tigers v Demons, Wednesday night: Wednesday night footy hey. Can somebody tell me why Anzac Day "Eve" became a thing? Come to think of it, I wish this game hadn't been a thing. Horrible viewing.

Bombers v Pies, Thursday arvo: The players clearly cherished that eerie moment when 100,000 people fell silent before the game, because they came up with a result that meant they got to experience it again when the final siren went. Essendon blew this one, but I'm not sure Collingwood can lay claim to being the kings of a close finish anymore either. Some howlers from both sides late.

1714293821326.png

Giants v Lions, Thursday night: So let me get this straight... the Giants NEAFL side - and yes I know the NEAFL doesn't exist anymore - beat last year's grand finalist by 9 goals. Wtf is going on at Brisbane?

Port v Saints, Friday night: Neither of these sides are challenging for the flag this year. Massive call I know. You heard it here first.

North v Crows, Saturday arvo: Another round, another hefty loss for North. Genuine respect for the fans that keep backing up each week, I don't know how you do it. Meanwhile, huge chance for the Crows to go back to back when they face a decimated Port next week.

Cats v Blues, Saturday arvo: Saturday afternoon at the G, perfect weather, big crowd, plenty of goals, close finish. I'm not entirely convinced that was a grand final preview, but if it was then I don't hate it.

1714293982269.png

Freo v Dogs, Saturday night: Yeah seriously no idea what to make of either of these two teams. Tipsters nightmares. Nice to see old mate Fyfe try to convince us it's 2019 again though.

Suns v Eagles, Sunday arvo: Hands up if you thought this margin would be at least double what it was? Another big effort from the plucky Eagles before they ran out of puff. Going the right way.

Hawks v Swans, Sunday arvo: Not much to say about this game, except that the Swans ruined Mrs Zevon's perfect tipping round (what she was doing tipping the Hawks I do not know). She never would have let me forgot the week she tipped 9 correctly including a draw, so there were two reasons to celebrate the win.

Liked the consistent effort of the Suns and the Eagles.

Learnt that Brisbane are Max Gawn.

Hated nothing, I'm a Cats supporter.

Liked: I didn't run of beer in the last qtr

Learnt: It’s gonna take more than beer to get through this season

Hated: The price of beer
If it makes you feel better, just know that it could always be worse...

beer GIF

Hated: "Anzac eve' football, s**t idea, pathetic further commercialisation of the day by footy.

Liked: Some pretty good results across the round, competition is shaping up nicely

Learnt: Eagles need Harley Reid to play as often as possible

Hated: Anzac "ROUND" it's just gone far too commercial. Keep it at ANZAC day itself 1 day match, 1 night match.

liked: anzac day clash is the pinnacle of AFL football, nothing in the regular season matches it. pat voss debut

learnt: doubt west coast at your peril, the base is there & they’ll beat unsuspecting teams. kicking straight wins games

hated: scheduling cats/geelong for the twilight game, that’s a prime time fixture right there

Liked: Beating a contender to gain some public credibility.

Learned: I look underage at 33. Asked for ID at the G to get a very overpriced beverage.

Hated: Seeing North continue to be non-competitive. There are VFL teams that'd beat them.

hated: scheduling cats/geelong for the twilight game, that’s a prime time fixture right there
GFC asked for it. Helps rural fans get to and from the game at a reasonable hour. Night games are often a 12-1am return time for many.

Liked -
The second biggest crowd numbers in history this round.
Jamie Elliots mark woooo
Waterman 15 goals in 3 games

Learnt - Geelong and Sydney are just consistently amazing

Hated - Nasty injuries to players

Liked: NZ national anthem.

Learnt: Cats are playing ruthlessly efficient football at the moment. Long may it continue...

Hated: Advance Australia Fair. Has to be the dullest national anthem in the world

Learned that googling 'what are the dullest national anthems in the world' gives you a selection of really really really bad national anthems ... which I am not going to inflict on anyone here.

Hated that I just listened to a portion of a bunch of really really really bad national anthems. (think I might do a quick listen to a couple I know I like to clear my brain!)

Liked: Vossy’s presser after the Carlton loss. Finally seeing some high standards at my club.

Learnt: that the Demons have a long way to go before being a real contender in my eyes. That first half against the Tigers was some of the worst footy I’ve seen in a while.

Hated: seeing Tom Liberatore being a late out. He’s one of my favourite players and what happened to him a couple of weeks ago was scary. Hope he’s doing okay.

Liked: It's always nice when Carlton lose and the fact that neither Essendon or Collingwood won!

Learnt: GWS Giants are the real deal, the Lions are shot and North could be the worst team of all time.

Hated: Geelong in white shorts for a home game at the MCG, i hate it... I HATE IT!

Liked: It's always nice when Carlton lose and the fact that neither Essendon or Collingwood won!

Learnt: GWS Giants are the real deal, the Lions are shot and North could be the worst team of all time.

Hated: Geelong in white shorts for a home game at the MCG, i hate it... I HATE IT!
How quick was that guy on debut.

🤦‍♂️We have to play them twice ffs

Liked:
Essendon-Collingwood and Geelong-Carlton putting up cracking contests. Freo-Dogs not bad either.

Learnt:
Can take nothing out of beating North. There are state league sides that would give them a run for their money right now.
I'm becoming less convinced of Mitchell's coaching capabilities with every passing week.
Another Ken-like year for Port. They'll do enough to make finals, but they won't be contenders (although I probably should have learnt this ages ago)

Hated:
Not really a fan of the "ANZAC Eve" concept either. It was a s**t game to boot.

GWS are the real deal..

We aren't as bad as so many said....the tiger's are in the same boat as we were last yr re injuries and know the feeling.

Nth.... they're like a boat...the. AFL just keep throwing picks into them!
Honestly can't see what the fix is.

Liked & learnt: First round I've made it to this year and I'm super happy to learn they're not blasting horrendous music between breaks anymore. Christ that was so annoying. Could chat with the folks around me and it was excellent.

Hated: Anzac round. You're diluting something hugely successful (and respectful) in the Anzac day clash and making the whole thing ridiculous. Two anthems and a catafalque party before every game for 6 days straight, come on. It's not Anzac week in Australia, don't make it one in the AFL.

Loved
Just one of the nine Melbourne teams were good enough to get the win.

Liked
Some terrific footy being played inc some youngsters at non Vic Clubs. Really like the GoCo lads. Harley has competition.

Learned
Oddly despite an ordinary loss in an average game, Whately King and co continue to talk up the Blues

Hated
Some terrible injuries and thoughts are with the BoxHill Hawks lad who suffered a shocking leg injury.

Looking forward to

Two cracking games in Sydney and Melbourne - the Dees v Cats, not the bread and circuses one.

I spent the first 3/4 of my life in Australia, and most of the last 1/4 living in the US, recently becoming a naturalized citizen of the latter. Even though I am a "dual citizen", in my heart and mind I am Australian and besides the tangible legal aspects of US citizenship I am not yet able to articulate how being a "naturalized American" fits into my self-identity (especially vs. the clarity of my Australian self-identity).

But with all that said, my eligibility for US citizenship prompted me to finally learn the words and origins of "our" (I can say that now, but it feels weird!) national anthem, The Star-Spangled Banner... and holy s**t, whenever I hear it now the emotions and sense of patriotism it evokes are like I'd never experienced before. Likewise I have also developed a deeper understanding of the historic role and importance of the flag to Americans.
I wish Australia had something like it, but then again the fact "our" (Australia's!) history does not provide for any source material like that which "our" (US!) anthem originated from is a good thing, at least from the perspective that fighting brutal wars on Australian shores is a bad thing (there are plenty that would advocate for the result of the wars that won the Americans independence, of course). So in the end maybe a dull national anthem that doesn't have "us" (Aussies!) running through brick walls after hearing it is a feature, not a bug.

Liked: Marc Pittonet's old school ruckwork was one for the purists ... but is he able to assert dominance (or even do anything) around the ground?

Learnt: Hawks are the team with the fewest reasons to be optimistic right now.

Hated: St Kilda's game style. They're fourth for possesions per game, but their opponents are first. Their games are surreal to watch ... so much pointless ball movement and so little tackling, whilst they're constantly getting tackled themselves. It's like watching the least skilful 'circle work' (or something that rhymes with it).

Liked: Geelong's performance against Carlton, GWS' second half against Brisbane. Both Collingwood and Essendon impressed me.

Learnt: The Crows are some of the biggest downhills skiers around - unfortunately for them, there isn't many teams below them on the mountain.

Hated: The discussion around removing draws. West Coast got savaged in the midfield in the third quarter (the I50 count was 22-5, one of the most lopsided I've seen). North looks awful, to the point of being pitiful. No light at the end of the tunnel for them, and it doesn't look like showing up soon either.

Liked: Another Anzac Day Classic.
Jamie Elliots hanger & the continued effort from the weagles.

Learnt: Carlton can take down Geelong next time they play.

Hated: Another hawthorn flogging.

On SM-S918B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hated: Anzac round. You're diluting something hugely successful (and respectful) in the Anzac day clash and making the whole thing ridiculous. Two anthems and a catafalque party before every game for 6 days straight, come on. It's not Anzac week in Australia, don't make it one in the AFL.
Keep the Appeal going for the whole round; can the rest.