AFL Grand Final WILL be shown on 7 in HD in 2015

Is this simply so they can flog the HD footage on DVD by making any possible taped versions SD?

Nup - in 2012 I spoke to the company that does the conversions - they couldn't produce an HD version as 7 produced it in SD. They did themselves out of my money at least in doing this. Was the same again last year I believe.

Why would Seven provide Foxtel a HD feed and take away viewers from their (admittedly shithouse) feed? Having said that - I don't believe Seven even use HD equipment for the GF. What you see on Fox's replay is the standard upscaled SD version.

Foxtel isn't simulcasting the GF, never have, because of the anti-siphoning laws. They will replay it from 6.30pm in upscaled HD. You're right, the C7 games simulcast on Foxtel are not true HD, they're SD upscaled. One of the reasons that C7 don't broadcast in HD is because they'd have to buy new cameras to film it that way. So it's cheaper just to keep using the SD ones. Since they're not competing against anyone then why should they care.

Err...I think you just repeated everything I said.

Further - the Anti Siphoning laws don't prevent Foxtel simulcasting the GF.

They prevent Foxtel having exclusive rights.

Thanks mate, we gathered that a few posts before yours.
No, he's intellectually superior to everyone, it was his idea and he thought of it first, everyone else copied him.

Er... BBC show premier league highlights every sat and sun night. After that they show highlights from the lower leagues. All in HD.

He's right about the quality of tv too. BBC programming is brilliant. Also, all in HD.
ok its been a few years since i lived there... i remember they use to only be allowed to show still pictures of the games and sky was the only place you could watch the games...

next step: 60 fps

e.g. gfycat.com/CompetentDefensiveGosling

our standards wouldn't do 60, they'd do 50. I believe the cameras record at least 50 frames native.

Otherwise how do they get the smoothness of those slo-mos in the packages? You see in the quarter/half/end breaks etc they'll have some slow mo elements I believe this is why the goal review system mostly has that terrible blur. They don't generally have enough time to "render" out the raw 50 frame package slowed down, then back to 25.

Though in saying that, the North Melbourne game last week when we saw a clearly rendered angle of the ball glancing the north players forearm (rippling it) which led to a "touched" call and behind. So it can sometimes be delivered quickly.

We won't see higher than 25fps broadcast for some time.

ok its been a few years since i lived there... i remember they use to only be allowed to show still pictures of the games and sky was the only place you could watch the games...
Sky was the only place you could watch live. The BBC and other FTA stations couldn't show any highlights until after 10:00PM. Not even on the news.

I don't think that's changed.

We can watch the sport live and free in the state that it is player against the gate. How many sports say they do that?

off the top of my head -

MLB
NBA
NHL
NFL
EPL
La liga
Bundesliga
Ligue 1
scottish premier league
uefa champions league
uefa europa league
asian champions league
nrl
A league

A-league has one game you can watch live on free to air, epl you have to have pay tv to watch live, not sure about the other ones.

The fact that you might have to pay is irrelevant.

He asked a question and he received an answer, a good one too.

our standards wouldn't do 60, they'd do 50. I believe the cameras record at least 50 frames native.

Otherwise how do they get the smoothness of those slo-mos in the packages? You see in the quarter/half/end breaks etc they'll have some slow mo elements I believe this is why the goal review system mostly has that terrible blur. They don't generally have enough time to "render" out the raw 50 frame package slowed down, then back to 25.

Though in saying that, the North Melbourne game last week when we saw a clearly rendered angle of the ball glancing the north players forearm (rippling it) which led to a "touched" call and behind. So it can sometimes be delivered quickly.

We won't see higher than 25fps broadcast for some time.

The slow mo vision you see is generally taken by different cameras capable of up to 1000fps+. Quite a step up on the cameras used for regular vision.

The fact that you might have to pay is irrelevant.

He asked a question and he received an answer, a good one too.
He asked where else you can watch it live and free, the answers provided were not correct. I think you'd find most of those other sports listed you'd have to pay for as well to watch live.

When you pay for foxtel in this country you see all games live and in HD. If you don't pay you get what you're given which is still more than what you get for free in most other countries.

He asked where else you can watch it live and free, the answers provided were not correct. I think you'd find most of those other sports listed you'd have to pay for as well to watch live.

When you pay for foxtel in this country you see all games live and in HD. If you don't pay you get what you're given which is still more than what you get for free in most other countries.

No, you don't. For C7 produced games, you get upscaled SD tish.

One of the reasons that C7 don't broadcast in HD is because they'd have to buy new cameras to film it that way. So it's cheaper just to keep using the SD ones. Since they're not competing against anyone then why should they care.

Incorrect.
TV networks don't produce outside broadcasts, they hire specialists OB production companies such as Global and Gearhouse.
Foxtel use Global for AFL
Seven use Gearhouse.

The Gearhouse OB truck Seven use is HD compatible and all the cameras and lenses are HD compatible.
However Seven choose to downscale the vision to SD. Why??
Only Seven can answer that. One logical reason is. As they simulcast the games with Foxtel. It gives Foxtel HD subscribers more of a reason to watch the Fox Footy broadcast (As Grand Final is not simulcast with Foxtel, why not simulcast it on 7mate in native HD as was the 2010 Grand Final).

It's not a money issue. As shown last weekend when Seven broadcasted the lowly Davis Cup tie between Australia and Uzbekistan in native HD.

Agree that HD is better than SD and they need to get with the times, but those who say SD looks s**t - remember it could be your HD TV is not very good at upscaling the SD broadcast. Sometimes a SD broadcast will look better on a SD screen compared with a HD screen.

So can someone explain to me how it works with the camera situation? Do Foxtel have their own HD camera's at their exclusive home and away games? Seven also have their OWN camera's for their broadcasts? Why can't Seven just use the Foxtel HD camera's and pay some kind of fee to Foxtel for the privilege?

As someone stated before, its pretty pathetic that the AFL didn't put a broadcasts must always be HD clause into the broadcast rights deal.

Missed the free part. My bad. :thumbsu:

So can someone explain to me how it works with the camera situation? Do Foxtel have their own HD camera's at their exclusive home and away games? Seven also have their OWN camera's for their broadcasts? Why can't Seven just use the Foxtel HD camera's and pay some kind of fee to Foxtel for the privilege?

As someone stated before, its pretty pathetic that the AFL didn't put a broadcasts must always be HD clause into the broadcast rights deal.
Seven use HD cameras, they just refuse to broadcast in HD for whatever reason.