Employment Applying to jobs outside your quals/experience

Remove this Banner Ad

nobbyiscool

Cancelled
WWE Board Goosed Sweet F.A Sikh Volunteers Charity Match Tasmanian Team NFL Fantasy Comp Champion Armchair Endzone Major Comp Champion
Aug 11, 2006
I don't think I'll ever understand how I fell into this weird mish-mash of writing, stakeholder relations, media advising, graphic designing and para-legaling... but man I hate it. I fell into a job that is 80% dealing with people (either the public or colleagues) despite the fact that I really, really hate having to deal with people.

I'd love to give it up... but I can't do a so-called "unskilled" job because I've been earning so much money for so many years I just couldn't afford it.

So - does anyone have experience successfully winning a "skilled" job despite not having the formal skills? So you'd probably have the skills informally, and commit to formalising them if you get the job.

For example:
  • vet nursing without having started a course
  • gardening for a council/state government park/school without horticulture quals
  • working in sports administration/operations despite my quals being in comms and not ops

I'd really love some good news stories to give me some hope!

Why don't you get the qualification and then apply for the role?

I'd be reluctant to visit a doctor that's just about to start medical school.
I'd be reluctant to hire a vet nurse that doesn't have any formal training.
I'd be reluctant to apply for a role that I wasn't formally qualified for.

How big a change do you want to make? Domain experience counts for a lot. If you have 20 years working in a particular industry, then you can often jump between very different roles where your industry knowledge is equally valuable.

If you want to move into a profession where qualifications are non-negotiable (medicine, law, accounting, whatever) it’s going to be a much harder move.

Some jobs are non-negotiable as an above poster mentioned.