Bulletproof® Lifestyle / BP coffee etc...

ablett

Jan 27, 2006
Tasmania
Here is where we can discuss all things regarding a Bulletproof Lifestyle, BP coffee, BP diet & BP supplements / products etc...

Let's make it a positive places to post your feedback & questions in regards to living the Bulletproof lifestyle.

If it's not for you then don't bother posting here, quite simple I reckon!

Also incorporating the BP diet with fasting is a good discussion point.

The BP lifestyle is vastly becoming more popular world wide, Cafés in Brisbane & Sydney are serving BP coffee which is pleasing, hopefully in the near future there will be BP restuarants!

i have been to woolies and coles in my area and the only westgold butter avalible is salted. I went for the westernstar unsalted chefs choice and coles brand unsalted. I used the westernstar first off and felt good but today used the coles brand i fell a bit squirmy in the tummy. What would people recomened if the westgold is unavalible???

I asked this on another thread but not sure if it got answered.

Can you have just black coffee with the oil or is it pointless without the butter? And can you just put the oil in and mix it with a spoon? CBF using a blender, who has time for that.

I just put butter & oil in a thermos then add air pressed BP Coffee and shake for 20 sec and all lumps are gone. Nice and frothy top.

i have been to woolies and coles in my area and the only westgold butter avalible is salted. I went for the westernstar unsalted chefs choice and coles brand unsalted. I used the westernstar first off and felt good but today used the coles brand i fell a bit squirmy in the tummy. What would people recomened if the westgold is unavalible???
This is from the Aussie bulletproof web page
  • Westgold butter (available at most woolies) - NZ dairy farmed butter. NZ is a wet country with lots of grass, its fundamentally uneconomical to farm dairy as a grain fed operation. Furthermore, being a wet country the drought risk is low (they don't have to substitute grain to keep the farm going).
  • Ashgrove butter (order from their webstore) - tassie farmed butter. This butter is sold as grass fed but they do feed the cows some grain when they're being milked. The amount of grain feed is minimal but still existent.
  • Peppie Sayers (available at farmers markets) - Aus dairy farmed. This is a real artisan style butter, its amazing but also really expensive.
  • Woolworths HomeBrand - NZ dairy farmed butter (we suspect it comes from the same manufacturer as Westgold)
  • Organic Times - NZ dairy farmed butter. This is the only butter brand that actually says 'from grass-fed cows' on the packaging.
  • Allowrie butter - Aus dairy farmed butter. This is my backup when the woolies is out of butter. We've spoken to the manufacturer, and the cows have grass as their primary food source but there is risk that the diet is supplemented with grain or hay silage when the availability of grass is poor.
The bolded bit is interesting.

http://www.optimoz.com.au/blogs/new...in-australia?gclid=CNzApPGhg7oCFc7DpAodt3kAwA

[EDIT, found this in the forums on that site]

"Dear Leon.

Thank you for contacting Woolworths regarding the Woolworths Select Butter.

The Select Butter is from cows that are Predominantly grass fed, however, diet is supplemented with Hay Silage & Grain.

We hope that this information has been helpful and thank you for shopping at Woolworths.

Kind regards,

Supermarket Specialist Team
Woolworths Contact Centre
PO Box 8000, Baulkham Hills, NSW 2153
t 1300 767 969

Ask Woolworths to get the unsalted Westgold & they will, it's the cheapest grass fed butter by far.
If not a NZ butter would be next best option.

Works better with the butter, butter contains bytric acid which triggers fat burning , plus A, D &"k.

Can just stir it with a spoon after butter has melted but you won't get the smooth frothing effect on top as you do from a blender.

Still trying to track down some MCT in Ballarat before i go online, so far not to good.

I tried for the first time today just with the Westgold butter and no oil.
First this morning with unsalted butter and found it a bit sickly and bland, and hour ago tried one with Westgold salted butter and found that a massive improvement in taste.

Is coconut oil a reasonable substitute? Loving earth, Melrose and Cloud 9 are at the shops i went to.

Still trying to track down some MCT in Ballarat before i go online, so far not to good.

First this morning with unsalted butter and found it a bit sickly and bland, and hour ago tried one with Westgold salted butter and found that a massive improvement in taste.

Is coconut oil a reasonable substitute? Loving earth, Melrose and Cloud 9 are at the shops i went to.

If don't mind the taste & smell of coconut it's fine, coconut oil is 60%' MCT oil.
Melrose sell a MCT oil , if the store doesn't stock it they should be able to order in cos they obviously have an account with Melrose if stocking their coconut oil.
Currently using Melrose but will be switching when run out, Bulk Nutrients now sell MCT oil which is more economical cost wise &'doesn't contain glycerine which Melrose does, glycerine isa sugar alcohol used as a preservative, in a lot of protein bars for moisture to soften them.

If the taste seems bland you need to add a teaspoon of stevia , it sweetens the coffee nicely, plus cinnamon & vanilla powder enhance the flavour too, recently I've added cacao butter which gives it a slight chocolate aroma.

The reason unsalted butter is suggested is due to the salt added is poor quality, unfortunately butter producers don't add pink Himalayan salt!

An aussie blog the Paleo network has this

Good news if you’re in Australia, Coconut Oil has just got a bit easier to find. Woolworths now stock a small jar of Spiral Coconut Oil in the Asian Foods section.
721375.jpg

Also his prefered brand is Melrose.

I might give them a go while i order some MCT.

http://paleo.com.au/2012/06/woolworths-coconut-oil/

What is your recipe??

I put 2 heaped spoons of BP in the areo press then add 50g butter & 30ml of brain octain oil in thermos and shake comes out smooth and creamy.

I've been using Butter in BPC and found that I produce excess mucous and have been waking up incredibly groggy/brain fog in the mornings. So I've stopped the butter and have noticed a big change - no more fog/grogginess and basically no mucous. However, I do feel hungrier earlier while I IF so I do miss it in that regard.

I've read that for people like me who aren't tolerant to milk products/butter, Ghee is a better alternative?

What are the main health difference between GF Butter and GF Ghee? Am I missing out on any key vitamins/minerals by using Ghee over Butter?

I'm also considering buying Westgold Butter and making my own ghee as its so damn expensive to buy it pre made!

I've also been using Melrose MCT but I'm looking to buy the BP MCT (as it has no glycine, is better quality and is the same prices as Melrose) and also try the Brain Octane. Can't wait!

I've also been eating a lot of sweet potato and rice for my carbs after cutting out grain products such as pasta, breads etc.

I've noticed that by cutting the grains I don't get so bloated and have a clearer mind throughout the day/night.

However I have noticed that within 20seconds of eating Sweet Potato it knocks me out straight away. I feel so sleepy, drained and tired so quickly and all I want to do is fall asleep. I feel like death lol.

Is this common? Should I not eat Sweet Potato? or should I only eat it late at night close to bed time?

I really need my carbs as I'm looking to put on weight/muscle and I really don't want to just eat rice, I want some vegetable alternatives. Any ideas!?

What is your recipe??

I put 2 heaped spoons of BP in the areo press then add 50g butter & 30ml of brain octain oil in thermos and shake comes out smooth and creamy.

Nice, I used to make it the same (used MCT oil instead of BO).

Now that I don't add butter I put 1tsp of Extra Virgin Coconut Oil and 1tsp of MCT oil. Without out the butter I find adding the oil straight, and a high quantity, upsets my stomach quickly. So I'm going to work my dosage up slowly.

What is the Brain Octane like? How does it make you feel, can you notice a difference to say the MCT oil or Coconut Oil if you used it previously? I'm keen to try the BO next!

I also tried BPC with salted butter and enjoyed the taste. However the salt they use is low quality. Try using the unsalted butter but add a small pinch of some Himalayan Pink Salt or Celtic Sea Salt.

CO is an ok substitute for now.

I've been using Butter in BPC and found that I produce excess mucous and have been waking up incredibly groggy in the mornings. I've stopped the butter and notice a big change in that regard. Though I do feel hungrier earlier while I IF so I do miss it in that regard.

I've read that for people like me who aren't tolerant to milk products/butter, Ghee is a better alternative.

What are the main health difference between GF Butter and GF Ghee? Am I missing out on any key vitamins/minerals using Ghee over Butter?

I'm also considering buying Westgold Butter and making my own ghee as its so damn expensive to buy it pre made!

I've also been using Melrose MCT but am looking to buy the BP MCT (no glycine, better quality and the same prices as Melrose) and Brain Octane. Can't wait!

This is a good post. I have wondered why the butter is necessary at all, and why not just the MCT?

Im sure their is an explanation, but as someone who has a family history of high blood pressure and cholesterol the thought of 14+ grams of saturated fat per day isnt filling me with confidence.

If i told my Doc i was doing this i think i would have to pick her up off the floor.

That said, im keen to do it for 6 weeks, not tell her and get my regular bloods and see where the cholesterol is at.

If its up, im giving BP up, if its the same or lower ill continue.

[Also, i just went and got some extra virgin Melrose coconut butter/oil]

This is a good post. I have wondered why the butter is necessary at all, and why not just the MCT?

Im sure their is an explanation, but as someone who has a family history of high blood pressure and cholesterol the thought of 14+ grams of saturated fat per day isnt filling me with confidence.

If i told my Doc i was doing this i think i would have to pick her up off the floor.

That said, im keen to do it for 6 weeks, not tell her and get my regular bloods and see where the cholesterol is at.

If its up, im giving BP up, if its the same or lower ill continue.

[Also, i just went and got some extra virgin Melrose coconut butter/oil]

I too have some slight concerns regarding a family history of cholesterol and the BP lifestyle consuming a high amount of saturated fats via butter/ghee etc.

As it does go against almost everything we've heard about a "healthy lifestyle/die" in how fats and cholesterol are bad for you..

Take a listen to this podcast - http://www.bulletproofexec.com/podc...urated-fat-cholesterol-with-chris-masterjohn/ it will probably go through all your concerns.

On the BP diet you will see your cholesterol levels increase, possibly skyrocket, it is to be expected. However I'm keeping an open mind like you and going to try this lifestyle. I've already felt the benefits in my body - clearer mind, more energy etc. so I will persist. My aim is to increase my T-levels and one of the key ways of achieving this is by increasing your cholesterol levels. Don't worry too much about the actual HDL/LDL number levels, monitor your Ratio's though.

Also go onto the BP forums and read other people's experiences regarding cholesterol and blood test results - inform yourself as much as possible.

PS: See how you go on the Melrose MCT. I've been using it and will get the Bulletproof MCT oil - its basically the same price as Melrose and is better quality. When you finish with Melrose go Bulletproof! Are you using BP Coffee at the moment?

An aussie blog the Paleo network has this

Also his prefered brand is Melrose.

I might give them a go while i order some MCT.

http://paleo.com.au/2012/06/woolworths-coconut-oil/

I grabbed a jar of this a few months ago when there was a MCT oil shortage, it's from Shrilanka, didn't smell n taste the same as coconut oil from Thailand or places alike, infact it made me feel heavy in the stomach.