Injury/Rehab Injury/Niggle Management - w/ cptkirk

that sounds heaps like a form of rheumatoid arthritis. It's common to move around.

Maybe go see a different doc, mate.

Just got referred to a specialist in this field...Hopefully he can shed some light on what to do next.

i think i've done this my entire life...i rolled an ankle on a wed (probably med, not the worst I've done) night playing basketball before a grand final...trained thu and got 3rd best on on the sat...im yet to miss a game of footy from injury (36) since my comeback at 33 and have probably missed 5 in tots all my playing career (from 8yrs old)

if i get hurt, (history of back problems) i always modify so as to never miss training session so my beliefs are sound in regards to pain management and keeping on training takes away any perceived threat the ns had initially pretty quickly

Every single pain you have ever felt has been in your head (as has everyones ever). Stress can play a huge role in pain, and often drives a lot of pain experiences.
Hypersensitisation is a nasty thing! pregabalin/gabapentin works great for neuropathic pain, but also worth getting CRP levels in the blood tested.

Wondering if someone can give any insight or help with this.. My old man nearing 50 has a recurring calf problem. It happens when he's running. Today for example he got 4km through a 5km fun run and it blew out on him and he had to walk the rest of the way. He has been to seen Physios who tell him its his running form, he goes to running shops who just sell him another pair of expensive shoes that will apparently fix the problem. The thing is his running is only a side thing as opposed to his cycling. He would cycle a couple of hundred kms a week easily. My line of thinking is through cycling he is very quad dominant therefore the lack of work in his posterior is the causing of the issue but I am no expert at all. Thanks in advance for any help. I understand its difficult the assess without knowing the full issue but any help or input would be greatly appreciated as he's very frustrated at the moment.

calf injuries are known as the old man injuries and once you bet them they can be hard to get rid of, especially with repeated injuries

pretty much impossible to tell you what to do without a video of his mechanics

glutes can always do with some work but also have him run on grass when he does come back to running if he's not already...he might also need some proprioception work for the ankles and lower leg if he's hitting ground at a funny angle

Kirky I have hurt my soleus - it started I'm pretty sure from driving tractors the last 3 months as a RSI, but now I can't shake it. Its not particularly limiting me but its painful from time to time and very stiff in the mornings or any time I've been immobile for a while. Any thoughts on rehab for it ?

(this is why I'm doing the 10000 swing challenge - thought it would give it a break and hopefully come good)

can't really answer - was he born with some back thing?
He's got 3 degenerative discs in his back that cause all his issues.

And a question, I have some weird pain in my left foot. So walking on it is absolutely fine. Putting any pressure/weight on the outside of my foot hurts excessively. I keep forgetting about it so haven't gone to the doctor about it yet. I have a tendency to sit with one leg under me, so that's when I notice it most. I just can't sit like that at the moment. I have dodgy feet from being a ballerina during my teens, then playing roller derby for a few years (quit a couple years ago)

ballerinaring will strengthen the feet like nothing else so maybe it's a case of "squashed foot" if you sit on it which proably means you "roll" it to side?
Yeah I do that with both feet, particularly when barefoot. I've done a lot to try & stop that but it hasn't worked so far. I should just stick to walking around on my toes all the time haha.

so begin a desk monkey means i have tight pecs and lats which was giving me thoracic back issues.

visit to the physio has loosened them all out and some stretches where advised. apart from stretching whats the best course of action to stop the problem reoccurring?

the best posture is a changing one but once you 'align' with your stretches and whatnot then you need to strengthen/cement that new posture so hopefully, over time, it stucks

Had wrist pain for about a year or so. Had to have it heavily strapped all last season. Something changed over the off season when lifting weights and the pain became too much. Had an MRI and I have a minor tear of my Scapholunate ligament. Anybody had any experience with this? The Sports Doc is recommending surgery but won't say how long I'll be in a cast for or anything like that.

Any similar issues with anyone else?

look its probably something you could tape up and play with by the sounds of it but then it never recovers...if surgery is the only option then get it done and fire up for the last three quarters of the season - it shouldn't keep you out too long i wouldn't think...surgery should be a last resort though i mean if you can simply rest and it will recover and it takes 1 - 2 weeks more then that's easily a better option

'Runners Knee' - inflamed knee joint after each session, can be quite painful. Literally cannot do the traditional hip flexor stretch because I can't lean on my knees at that angle - too painful.

Had wrist pain for about a year or so. Had to have it heavily strapped all last season. Something changed over the off season when lifting weights and the pain became too much. Had an MRI and I have a minor tear of my Scapholunate ligament. Anybody had any experience with this? The Sports Doc is recommending surgery but won't say how long I'll be in a cast for or anything like that.

Any similar issues with anyone else?

Call me crazy but I'd go with what the doc says rather than the Internet. His advice seems legit.