Opinion Mick Malthouse

What is the next move on Mick?

• Sack him immediately; replacement coach to see out the year.

Votes: 192 48.9%
  • Let him coach out the year then show him the door.

Votes: 70 17.8%
  • Sign him now to give coaches and players some direction.

Votes: 81 20.6%
  • Not sure yet... still too angry to think clearly.

Votes: 50 12.7%

Not sure if that's strictly true Meb, the list had already looked stale (or at least peaked) by the time MM took over, the failure of our club to have sustained success with draft picks (as well as the expansion team drafts) has really crippled our club.

Other clubs in a year or two, like Essendon and North, will feel the pinch of Gold Coast and GWS hoarding the draft, of that I am certain.

Look at NM's age demographic and their top ups like Higgins and Potential. Reckon they are in deep strife myself. :)

Next year will be North's last chance to get into the top 4. Things aren't looking good for them this year.

If Betts wanted to leave 18 months ago, then surely there was some awareness from the club that this was the case. This begs the question as to why they didn't try and move him on sooner and maximise the value that we could have received for him. On top of the poor recruitment and list managements has been the ease at which players have been able to go for next to nothing.

The same about Betts could be said about Waite, why did we wait until last year? Why did we let Jeff walk away for two meaningless picks? Essentially giving him to Melbourne for free.

There are so many questions to be asked of Carlton right now.

To people questioning Trigg, I think it's a valid concern. A CEO should be providing a clear and concise message to the public, not contradicting the coach or claiming to have no communication with him, which is patently bullshit. Trigg's appointment could also be considered an example of Carlton going out and thinking they can just buy a successful appointment without considering other factors during Trigg's tenure. Eg. Did he actually contribute to success at Adelaide? How important was his role in the Tippett scandal? Should we have appointed a CEO who would be complicit in a salary cap rort around a decade since we cheated the cap ourselves?

Something to me is inherently wrong at Carlton, there is a mentality of arrogance and of trying to get out of situations with money and band-aid fixes rather than hard work and an ability to accept just how far your club has fallen from the one that has won 16 premierships previously.

I think there's still too many deluded characters around who need to be flushed out behind the scenes. Any club who would let a criminal (he is a criminal) like Edelstein buy his way into a coaches box on a MILESTONE AFL OCCASION and then be perplexed as to why anyone would find that on the nose, is a club that has completely lost its way.

Not sure if that's strictly true Meb, the list had already looked stale (or at least peaked) by the time MM took over, the failure of our club to have sustained success with draft picks (as well as the expansion team drafts) has really crippled our club.

Other clubs in a year or two, like Essendon and North, will feel the pinch of Gold Coast and GWS hoarding the draft, of that I am certain.

Look at NM's age demographic and their top ups like Higgins and Potential. Reckon they are in deep strife myself. :)

The list was decimated by injuries when MM took over, but prior to that had been playing finals (on merit, not because of other cheaters). Mick decided to 'top us up' with such current superstars as Dale Thomas, Liam Jones, Andrejs Everitt (who had a good year last year but where the **** has he been lately?...

at some point we have to say NO MORE EXCUSES. No resting on the salary cap punishments. No hiding behind the compromised drafts. No backtracking and saying it's all Ratten's fault. Mick must take some responsibility for this mess, he's the ****ing head coach of it.

If Betts wanted to leave 18 months ago, then surely there was some awareness from the club that this was the case. This begs the question as to why they didn't try and move him on sooner and maximise the value that we could have received for him. On top of the poor recruitment and list managements has been the ease at which players have been able to go for next to nothing.

The same about Betts could be said about Waite, why did we wait until last year? Why did we let Jeff walk away for two meaningless picks? Essentially giving him to Melbourne for free.

There are so many questions to be asked of Carlton right now.

To people questioning Trigg, I think it's a valid concern. A CEO should be providing a clear and concise message to the public, not contradicting the coach or claiming to have no communication with him, which is patently bullshit. Trigg's appointment could also be considered an example of Carlton going out and thinking they can just buy a successful appointment without considering other factors during Trigg's tenure. Eg. Did he actually contribute to success at Adelaide? How important was his role in the Tippett scandal? Should we have appointed a CEO who would be complicit in a salary cap rort around a decade since we cheated the cap ourselves?

Something to me is inherently wrong at Carlton, there is a mentality of arrogance and of trying to get out of situations with money and band-aid fixes rather than hard work and an ability to accept just how far your club has fallen from the one that has won 16 premierships previously.

I think there's still too many deluded characters around who need to be flushed out behind the scenes. Any club who would let a criminal (he is a criminal) like Edelstein buy his way into a coaches box on a MILESTONE AFL OCCASION and then be perplexed as to why anyone would find that on the nose, is a club that has completely lost its way.

All valid points. Can't help but think we need to flush it out starting at the top and working our way down. MM certainly was one major issue but he just isn't it.

He did, but wouldn't give any names. You can tell he is just as frustrated as us supporters.

It would be more of a surprise that people are NOT trying to remove the current board behind the scenes. Even with all of the Coterie and wealthy benefactors who have tried to inculcate themselves in the club by splashing cash around, there is still a good amount of rational and logical people with influence who should be trying to get themselves appointed. It's so patently obvious to everyone how bad the situation is, both externally and internally, that it makes sense that there's a faction forming who want to take over.

The biggest question is whether or not they are willing to change from the old methodologies and bring in a totally new ethos, or whether they are just happy to get themselves appointed and try and keep the status quo. I feel uncomfortable with the idea that Elliott could be involved in such a 'coup'. There's absolutely no chance that John Elliot would not start to have an influence via his son. He's already on TV trying to tell us who to hire next, he'd be parroting the exact same stuff to his son.

I was told (and this is 3rd hand gossip, can't verify it) that Eddie was in our lower paid tier of the playing group for years and was upset that several other players (ie Warnock) were on significantly higher money than him, so when his contract was up, he wanted to stay, but on a larger contract, but the penny pinchers at the club said no (were happy to give Eddie an 4 year deal, which was still considerably less than the 3 year deal he got at Adelaide) and that's why left, he was insulted and frankly I don't blame if that was the case.

MM had nothing to do with Eddie leaving, put it that way. Something stinks at our footy club, at board level.

Its time for Mick to go, I have a lot of respect for him but everone can see that this has not worked. A great career and a fighter to the last gasp. What disappoints me now is I have zero confidence in Trigg and the board to make the right decisions moving forward.
Trigg is very obviously an underhand operator who we can do without. LoGiudice is floundering and out of his depth in dealing with this crisis. He is coming out of this with very little credibility. I really hope a true leader emerges from this joke.

Excuse this intrusion from an Adelaide member, but a few points that might interest you.
Trigg has experience managing two coach exits, Ayers and Craig. The Ayers one went OK, his handling of Craigs exit was the beginning of the end for him at AFC. When supporters called for Craig to be sacked he in effect doubled down, dismissed the supporters as 'agitators' and said Craig will be coach 'as far as the eye can see'. Very provocative. (The Tippett saga was the final straw).
He obviously takes his riding I instructions from the CFC Board but it seems like he, last Friday night, and Mick today are both now doing their positioning in the media. Good for transparency so supporters can see what's really going on, but bad for morale within the CFC.
I almost feel sorry for Trigg, having to deliver the hard message to a coaching legend who is also a monumental ego. (Don't want Trigg back though).

The Hun is saying the board is meeting at lunchtime to talk Mick, after his outburst this morning.

He won't last the day.

The list was decimated by injuries when MM took over, but prior to that had been playing finals (on merit, not because of other cheaters). Mick decided to 'top us up' with such current superstars as Dale Thomas, Liam Jones, Andrejs Everitt (who had a good year last year but where the **** has he been lately?...

at some point we have to say NO MORE EXCUSES. No resting on the salary cap punishments. No hiding behind the compromised drafts. No backtracking and saying it's all Ratten's fault. Mick must take some responsibility for this mess, he's the ******* head coach of it.

It's time for Mick to go now, I agree, however the problem isn't so much the recycled players MM bought in, but failure of the club to recruit/develop 2nd/3rd/4th round draft picks from 2007 onwards ..

at some point we have to say NO MORE EXCUSES. No resting on the salary cap punishments. No hiding behind the compromised drafts. No backtracking and saying it's all Ratten's fault. Mick must take some responsibility for this mess, he's the ******* head coach of it.

Posted this in the letters to the board thread to reply to someone but it's not where the list Mick inherited discussion is taking place. This was what I posted:

These are the 2007 listed players and the ages they were come 1/3/2008. Of course some of them retired at the end of 2007, and some were delisted but this is what Ratten had to work with when he came in as caretaker coach at the end of 2007.

Anthony Koutoufides - 35
Matthew Lappin - 32
Barnaby French - 32
Cory McGrath - 29
Troy Longmuir - 29
Lance Whitnall - 28
Jason Saddington - 28
Callum Chambers - 28
Nick Stevens - 28
Heath Scotland - 27
Ian Prendergast - 27
Brendan Fevola - 27
David Teague - 26
Ryan Houlihan - 26
Chris Bryan - 25
Dylan McLaren - 25
Adrian DeLuca - 25
Simon Wiggins - 25
Trent Sporn - 25
Jordan Bannister - 25
Luke Livingston - 25
Jarrad Waite - 25
Setanta O'hAilpin - 24
Justin Davies - 24
Bret Thornton - 24
Andrew Carrazzo - 24
Brad Fisher - 23
Kade Simpson - 23
Adam Bentick - 22
Aisake O'hAilpin - 22
Jesse Smith - 22
Adam Hartlett - 21
Daniel Batson - 21
Andrew Walker - 21
Jordan Russell - 21
Luke Blackwell - 21
Eddie Betts - 21
Anthony Raso - 20
Ryan Jackson - 20
Marc Murphy - 20
Craig Flint - 20
Josh Kennedy - 20
Jake Edwards - 20
Paul Bower - 20

This was the 2012 list and their ages at 29/3/2013

32 Heath Scotland
--------------------------------------
30 Andrew Carrazzo
30 Jarrad Waite
29 Chris Judd
29 Bret Thornton
28 Kade Simpson
28 Nick Duigan
--------------------------------------
27 Brock McLean
26 Dennis Armfield
26 Michael Jamison
26 Andrew Walker
26 Eddie Betts
26 Jordan Russell
26 Robert Warnock
25 Paul Bower
25 Marc Murphy
25 Sam Rowe
25 Shaun Hampson
----------------------------------------
24 Andrew Collins
24 David Ellard
24 Bryce Gibbs
24 Simon White
23 Aaron Joseph
23 Jeff Garlett
23 Jeremy Laidler
23 Mitch Robinson
23 Matthew Kreuzer
23 Zach Tuohy
23 Ed Curnow
23 Lachie Henderson
23 Levi Casboult
---------------------------------------
22 Rhys O’Keeffe
22 Nick Heyne
22 Chris Yarran
21 Marcus Davies
21 Kane Lucas
21 Rohan Kerr
21 Tom Bell
21 Mitch Carter
21 Luke Mitchell
21 Pat McCarthy
21 Andrew McInnes
20 Blake Bray
20 Matthew Watson
20 Josh Bootsma
20 Dylan Buckley
19 Matthew Lodge
19 Fraser Dale

In my opinion Mick's list was far more balanced and had an age profile to be better right away.

All valid points. Can't help but think we need to flush it out starting at the top and working our way down. MM certainly was one major issue but he just isn't it.

Yeah, in fact you could argue that one issue informed the other. Going out and getting Mick instead of a young coach was created by a board who thought you could just buy our way out of trouble, when we already had a defective list that was going nowhere fast. Getting us into the finals (via a technicality) was an admirable achievement considering the restrictions of the playing list, but that was the peak of it. All of that money has basically gotten us a 50% turned over list, most of which has been replaced by players who have either not been given a proper chance or are showing to be poor choices. Add to that the recycling of players nobody else wants and it's been a wasted three years, time that could have been spent rebuilding and actually playing the young players to determine who could sink or swim, like Graham and Holman.

Mick also tried to blame the change in president and CEO as a factor in all of this. The guy has clearly lost it.

Malthouse was recruited by Swan and Kernahan was not strong enough to stop Swan's influence. Swan argued that malthouse brought a 'package deal' with him - he would attract quality assistant coaches/training staff and his name would bring FA players - essentially taking Carlton to the next level of Premiership contention. This is what the then carlton Board brought with them.

Swan left and Kernahan stepped down - and Malthouse was left to show his worth or otherwise. Clearly the new administration and President were not impressed with last year's performances. malthouse's narrative about process/game plan morphed itself into I dont have the cattle and the Board agreed.

What became an open question was whether malthouse was the coach to oversee a rebuild -performance was to be the answer to the question.

We have our answer - Malthouse has merely replicated his self serving claptrap that he started off with at Collingwood and now is repeating itself at Carlton.

He has been negative divisive influence at the Club for two years now - time to go.

I was told (and this is 3rd hand gossip, can't verify it) that Eddie was in our lower paid tier of the playing group for years and was upset that several other players (ie Warnock) were on significantly higher money than him, so when his contract was up, he wanted to stay, but on a larger contract, but the penny pinchers at the club said no (were happy to give Eddie an 4 year deal, which was still considerably less than the 3 year deal he got at Adelaide) and that's why left, he was insulted and frankly I don't blame if that was the case.

MM had nothing to do with Eddie leaving, put it that way. Something stinks at our footy club, at board level.

apparently a guy i went to school owns a pub in brunswick and betts used to have a beer with him all the time. he states they only offered him $200K a year and would have stayed for 400K a year but left because he was insulted. true or not who really knows but definitely wasnt offered the figure stated in the media.

the facts are that when you lose betts, garlett, waite and even a player like robinson who was good in our forward line under ratten and dont replace any of these guys it causes issues. again, thomas at that high salary with those injuries was a MM want. just doesnt make sense. how about laidler who gets a game for sydney but MM didnt rate him at all?

22 Rhys O’Keeffe
22 Nick Heyne
22 Chris Yarran
21 Marcus Davies
21 Kane Lucas
21 Rohan Kerr
21 Tom Bell
21 Mitch Carter
21 Luke Mitchell
21 Pat McCarthy
21 Andrew McInnes
20 Blake Bray
20 Matthew Watson
20 Josh Bootsma
20 Dylan Buckley
19 Matthew Lodge
19 Fraser Dale

That really sums it up, doesn't it. Two years ago and these were the youngest guys who should be coming into their breakout years. Out of that entire group of 16 players, four of them are left. 75% of young draftees gone, Watson will be gone and Buckley is struggling at this point in his career to get continuity.

Lucas and Bootsma were absolute howlers in particular.

When it's laid out like that, it's really not hard to see why things are as dire as they are.

Furthermore, if you look at the age group of players who should be around 26-28 years old and playing their best footy, almost all of those players are gone too.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...lton-blues-coach/story-fni5f5nx-1227369211781

CARLTON executives will meet at lunchtime today to decide whether to sack Mick Malthouse.

The Herald Sun understands the meeting was called after Malthouse’s outburst at the board on radio this morning.

Malthouse revealed he expects to be sacked as Carlton coach but refused to quit despite saying nothing will be gained from the next two weeks.

The besieged coach arrived at Ikon Park shortly after 10am and took centre stage in a circle of his players ahead of training.

story-fni5f5nx-1227369211781

Malthouse appeared to give a passionate pep talk with the words “ stick together” heard across in the grand stand.

Media and supporters were then told to leave the arena as it was a closed training session

He will be sacked today...

Board meeting soon...

On a side note, I'm disgusted in my club and the board, that's both sides of it, have the clubs blood on its hands and should resign as well...

Mick has been crippled by the left wing of the board and hopefully he has his chance to say what he really thinks... So every one of the Carlton supporters out there get to hear how poor our club is being run...