FTA-TV Open Mike

Spot on. So many players came to the VFL from the SANFL or WAFL. Very few went the other way. Bulldog Murray would have been the last top player to do it, and when was that? The 60s?

Peake was 27 when he joined Geelong. He should have been at his - what's the word - best.

Peake came to the VFL the same year as Ken Hunter and Peter Busustow. They were both better than him. The next year Maurice Rioli and the Krakouer brothers came; they were all better than him. Gary Buckenara was better. Brad Hardie.

Mick Turner was an electrifying player, clearly better than the Brian Peake we saw at Geelong.
So age is definitely no excuse for Peake! As far as Open Mike being too focused on VFL players, I can't understand the mentality of that argument? What would anybody expect? You could do an SA or WA equivalent and how long would it take for the Victorian viewers and the rest of Australia, outside of that particular state, to start saying to themselves "Who the * is this guy?"! I don't mean to disrespect SA or WA but far less exposure for players in those state leagues, outside of their own border.

Selfishness & politics prevented them from becoming a premiership team.
Thanks mate for doing that for me.

Computers started to * itself and I've had problems getting on!

the rumours were about his fascination in winding up car windows late at night ;)

Times were very different, AIDS was unknown, Top AFL players were like Rockstar Gods - look at the hair on them for Gods sake, plenty of them exploited the situation to their advantage.

There were plenty of unsavoury stories. Mick Turner's is just one of them, but not the only one...

There was a young lass who was quite promiscuous, loved her footy, and the Geelong footballers. The Cats were playing in an Escort Cup game at Waverly on a Tuesday night, a now prominent AFL talent manager, then a moustachioed rover had teed up a rendezvous with the eager teamster at a said motel in Geelong that featured a spa post game on the Tuesday night. His fatal mistake was that he had mentioned it to a few players in the showers after the game on Saturday what was in place.

It's fair to say the Escort Cup or night series wasn't viewed as overly important and if you watched the Mick Turner interview on Monday night, he admitted to struggling to get himself for so-so games.

Knowing of Shifter's planned rendezvous, No.9 withdrew from the Escort Cup game and promptly turned up at the said hotel instead. Post the game finish at Waverly (pre mobile phone days) Shifter allegedly rang the hotel via public phone at Corio or Lara to ensure the young lady was ready and waiting. No.9 answered the phone.......I can't remember if Shifter made it to the room or not.

The lass involved later became my PE Teacher.

So age is definitely no excuse for Peake! As far as Open Mike being too focused on VFL players, I can't understand the mentality of that argument? What would anybody expect? You could do an SA or WA equivalent and how long would it take for the Victorian viewers and the rest of Australia, outside of that particular state, to start saying to themselves "Who the **** is this guy?"! I don't mean to disrespect SA or WA but far less exposure for players in those state leagues, outside of their own border.

I would argue that in Peake's case - age was the significant factor. Like Mick Turner, at his best Peake was electrifying, but he was a better player on top of the ground and in the wide open spaces of the WAFL. He debuted in 1972, played in three flags with East Freo but by the time he came to the VFL he was 27, turning 28. The VFL was a much more physically demanding competition, that is in no way denigrating the WAFL or SANFL but the depth that was in the VFL was superior and the fitness required to perform consistently was higher. Peake was brought over as a Centreman by Geelong to complement the wings of Turner and the like, but by that stage he was already well on the way to becoming the mercurial forward pocket that he displayed in a State game against the Vics in about 1984 or 1985. In short he lacked the fitness and his age played a significant part in that. Most players were done and dusted at 30 in that day and age.

Unfortunately the show is Open Mike, Sheahan covered footy in essentially Victoria, he knows all of the back stories on the people he is interviewing. To do so for WA & SA would require other journo's to do it.

Rubbish, Mike can do his research like any other professional.

Great interview with Mick Turner.

He was a really good footballer, don't get me wrong, but the show doesn't need to have ex-champions or loveable rogues like Terry Daniher, Warwick Capper or John Barnes in order for it to be interesting.

Mike just needs to get people talking like Mick Turner did. I'd much more interested in what people really have to say about stuff than simply nodding along in agreement as Mike asks them the predictable questions about winning the Brownlow or playing in the premiership. That s**t bores me to tears.

A West Coast fan was saying he should interview Peter Matera or Dean Kemp, but I don't really care how good the player was. I'd be just as interested to hear what Peter Sumich, Dwayne Lamb or Monkey Brennan had to say about playing for the start-up Eagles.

From my club, Sheahan has interviewed all the predictable legends - Hudson, Matthews, Knights, Scott, Dunstall, Dermie, Ayres, Dipper
But I'd be just as interested in hearing from someone like Richard Loveridge. He wasn't a star. Just a good little rover back in the 80's, who played alongside all those guys and probably has a better insight and more to say than all of them. A smart guy who became a lawyer after playing in premierships and has also been a sitting member of the AFL tribunal for the past decade.

Ken Judge would be another - not so we can hear a litany of his career highlights or talking about himself - but just to get him talking about playing in the 80's and coaching in the 90's and working in the media since 2002 or whatever. I'm sure he'd have some really interesting stories and opinions.

I just think the most interesting episodes of Open Mike don't necessarily involve the biggest names.

That's all I'm saying.

I would argue that in Peake's case - age was the significant factor. Like Mick Turner, at his best Peake was electrifying, but he was a better player on top of the ground and in the wide open spaces of the WAFL. He debuted in 1972, played in three flags with East Freo but by the time he came to the VFL he was 27, turning 28. The VFL was a much more physically demanding competition, that is in no way denigrating the WAFL or SANFL but the depth that was in the VFL was superior and the fitness required to perform consistently was higher. Peake was brought over as a Centreman by Geelong to complement the wings of Turner and the like, but by that stage he was already well on the way to becoming the mercurial forward pocket that he displayed in a State game against the Vics in about 1984 or 1985. In short he lacked the fitness and his age played a significant part in that. Most players were done and dusted at 30 in that day and age.

That you question Peakes physical presence on a footy field makes me doubt you ever saw him play ..

I am not questioning his physical presence at all - what I am saying is that he was an old man, well past his prime when he came to Geelong, I am saying he was nowhere near his physical peak. Michael Turner questioning his presence in the Hall of Fame is totally unwarranted he was a gun.

Rubbish, Mike can do his research like any other professional.

Research is one thing - knowing the stories because you covered them at the time is another and having the ability to lead the discussion to get to things you want discussed, that's entirely different IMHO. To have the same effect you would want someone like Commetti doing it for the WAFL and KG Cunningham for the SANFL.

Great interview with Mick Turner.

He was a really good footballer, don't get me wrong, but the show doesn't need to have ex-champions or loveable rogues like Terry Daniher, Warwick Capper or John Barnes in order for it to be interesting.

Mike just needs to get people talking like Mick Turner did. I'd much more interested in what people really have to say about stuff than simply nodding along in agreement as Mike asks them the predictable questions about winning the Brownlow or playing in the premiership. That s**t bores me to tears.

A West Coast fan was saying he should interview Peter Matera or Dean Kemp, but I don't really care how good the player was. I'd be just as interested to hear what Peter Sumich, Dwayne Lamb or Monkey Brennan had to say about playing for the start-up Eagles.

From my club, Sheahan has interviewed all the predictable legends - Hudson, Matthews, Knights, Scott, Dunstall, Dermie, Ayres, Dipper
But I'd be just as interested in hearing from someone like Richard Loveridge. He wasn't a star. Just a good little rover back in the 80's, who played alongside all those guys and probably has a better insight and more to say than all of them. A smart guy who became a lawyer after playing in premierships and has also been a sitting member of the AFL tribunal for the past decade.

Ken Judge would be another - not so we can hear a litany of his career highlights or talking about himself - but just to get him talking about playing in the 80's and coaching in the 90's and working in the media since 2002 or whatever. I'm sure he'd have some really interesting stories and opinions.

I just think the most interesting episodes of Open Mike don't necessarily involve the biggest names.

That's all I'm saying.
Not so sure Sheehan needed to do too much prompting. Mick could talk under wet cement.:)

I am not questioning his physical presence at all - what I am saying is that he was an old man, well past his prime when he came to Geelong, I am saying he was nowhere near his physical peak. Michael Turner questioning his presence in the Hall of Fame is totally unwarranted he was a gun.

Ok roy, he was a physical midfielder. I enjoyed Mick Turner too, but thought Mike should have pulled him up in the way he was talking himself up but putting Peake down. Still suffering the hip pocket nerve was my conclusion. The VFL clubs of that era were seduced by the way Polly revolutionised VFL ruck play at the end of his career.

Last time Judgey said something about his career, he let slip that Don Scott wanted Hawthorn to tank. That didn't go down too well. Wonder if he'd open his mouth again?

Ok roy, he was a physical midfielder. I enjoyed Mick Turner too, but thought Mike should have pulled him up in the way he was talking himself up but putting Peake down. Still suffering the hip pocket nerve was my conclusion. The VFL clubs of that era were seduced by the way Polly revolutionised VFL ruck play at the end of his career.

Mick Turner's interview gave me a very clear picture of why Geelong never succeeded until Brian Cook became CEO. When Cook started he completely dismantled the politics at Geelong and put everyone - on and off field on the same evaluation system. The bitching about Peake's pay and being made Captain, the lobbying for a job via Board Members - is it any wonder he never got a job there? Brian Cook is a gun. I heard him speak to a Business Breakfast not too long after he took over. His process was so simple yet the politics he encountered when he started was anything but that. He used a simple matrix to evaluate everyone and depending on where you fell was whether you initially stayed or went and then whether you got a second chance or not. I asked him off the record where G Ablett Snr would have fell under his matrix. He didn't answer the question directly but offered this. Hawthorn were the dominant club of the era, yet they saw fit to let him go. Who won the most premierships during snr's career? You could argue that as a Sire G Ablett Snr has partially redeemed himself, but that interview gave you a pretty decent insight into how Geelong was as a club during those days. You can add in Sam Newman as well, as individuals they were great, but there was no team ethos unlike other clubs and ultimately that's what stopped them.

I asked him off the record where G Ablett Snr would have fell under his matrix. He didn't answer the question directly but offered this. Hawthorn were the dominant club of the era, yet they saw fit to let him go. Who won the most premierships during snr's career? You could argue that as a Sire G Ablett Snr has partially redeemed himself, but that interview gave you a pretty decent insight into how Geelong was as a club during those days. You can add in Sam Newman as well, as individuals they were great, but there was no team ethos unlike other clubs and ultimately that's what stopped them.

John Todd said that the Cats would never win a flag with Ablett Snr in that side.

good interview I thought. It was interesting to hear about Geelong in the 80's and you can understand why the whole culture needed a turn over, even Blight admitted that after he finished coaching them.

never saw him play but he obviously thinks he was pretty good and I reckon Mike nearly got him to admit he thinks he should be in the hall of fame.