The Cricket Thread

I hate to contradict your dear old mum, but she's wrong.

Ian Craig contracted hepatitis in 1958 which ruled him out of the 58-9 series & Richie Benaud took over. He got married & devoted his time to his pharmaceutical goods business. Had he not got sick, he would have lead the Australian team against the Poms as he was undefeated in 5 tests against South Africa.
She was not necessarily wrong. Craig's form was down before he got sick, as I understand it. I am also aware that the illness made it very difficult for him to get back. If you consider he was hailed as the next Bradman before he was given the captaincy and subsequently never reached the same heights, you might consider the weight of the captaincy compounded any illness and desire to get back.

But mate, we are talking 60 years ago. Would have/could have are very difficult to justify. I back my dear old mum.

So the leg-spinning all rounder, who averages 33 at Shield, is playing number 3 in our test side. When will the insanity ever cease?
Its got me considering sending my playing resume into CA to see if I can get a game ................I get the feeling we still have a bit to go to really hit rock bottom yet

Two things,
A) if we the public voted for the test team we'd do better.
B) if warner gave the marsh brothers the sand paper he'd have done us all a favour.

What is bothering me is the likes of Warne hanging s**t on Starc and co publicly. If Warne has something to offer Starc, he should do it privately to help him. Honestly, the commentators are making more news lately than the players - Warne, Slater, O'Keefe, Gilchrist, Waugh. Normally I don't mind these guys, but they should just STFU and get on with calling the game.

Mate, you need a batting average in the low 30s or lower. Otherwise it will be no go.

The selectors seem bent on recycling failures in the hope that one suddenly fires.
I am not a Maxwell fan, but he would be no worse than MMarsh or Labus or Stoinis. But GGs shield average list is just depressing, particularly when you see the ones getting a game. Would be interesting to see the same list only showing averages over the last two seasons.

I feel that the whole selector/coaching staff system and personnel need to be rigorously evaluated. All of the corporate side of acb has been put under the microscope and massive changes ushered in.... I reckon the same kind of scrutiny needs to be applied to selectors/coaching stuff.

After all, these people and systems were put in place by the old regime.... nothing might eventuate but something might.

I agree with you: reckon there is much worse to cone

The selectors seem bent on recycling failures in the hope that one suddenly fires.
I am not a Maxwell fan, but he would be no worse than MMarsh or Labus or Stoinis. But GGs shield average list is just depressing, particularly when you see the ones getting a game. Would be interesting to see the same list only showing averages over the last two seasons.
It is depressing and unfortunately fairly predictable also , averaging 35 in the shield has become the new 50

Maxwell can make 1000s and he won’t get near the side unless there is a major change . Decent black line through his name at CA

What is bothering me is the likes of Warne hanging s**t on Starc and co publicly. If Warne has something to offer Starc, he should do it privately to help him. Honestly, the commentators are making more news lately than the players - Warne, Slater, O'Keefe, Gilchrist, Waugh. Normally I don't mind these guys, but they should just STFU and get on with calling the game.
Warne is actually an excellent tactic and technique analyst but seems more intent on cracking jokes or trying to make attention seeking headlines

When Starc takes a bag he will take credit for it !

It is depressing and unfortunately fairly predictable also , averaging 35 in the shield has become the new 50

Maxwell can make 1000s and he won’t get near the side unless there is a major change . Decent black line through his name at CA

Met a former first class cricketer last night - both of our sons were doing some specialised training at one of the clubs.

This guy has been out of the game since around 2000.

Anyway, he was going on about the state of Australian cricket (of course he was).

He said the rot goes right back to around the early 2000s. Said he could see it coming.

Said the decree for participation was at the expense of skill teaching. Consequently, he claims, there are heaps of young cricketers (mostly) without the necessary batting or bowling skills that you need to learn at a young age, Says that sub district and district cricket is much weaker than it ever was. And lastly, he had nothing but utter scorn for the various pathway and rep programs - said they were largely nepotistic and staffed, especially at the lower levels, by "not very good people".

He was quite animated and upset by the whole situation. And he reckon that it will take years to right the ship again.

I remember my dear old mum telling me that Test Cricket (and the captaincy) destroyed Ian Craig who is? the youngest player to score a first class double century and the youngest Australian captain. Once hailed as the next Bradman, he was gone after only 11 tests with an average under 20. There is much to be said for maturity and working on your game.

As for our current side, I am leaning towards replacing Finch with Renshaw, and MMarsh with Stoinis. Not convinced either change would work out, but we could probably safely bet on the result not being any worse.

Another thing, our bowlers failed miserably in the first innings by not putting together 100-150 runs as they normally do. If they had have pulled their weight, we would currently be within 40-50 runs of victory. They need to lift their game.;)

Coincidently, I immediately thought of Ian Craig as I read the article on Cummings. Maybe the whole development program needs to be looked at.

Met a former first class cricketer last night - both of our sons were doing some specialised training at one of the clubs.

This guy has been out of the game since around 2000.

Anyway, he was going on about the state of Australian cricket (of course he was).

He said the rot goes right back to around the early 2000s. Said he could see it coming.

Said the decree for participation was at the expense of skill teaching. Consequently, he claims, there are heaps of young cricketers (mostly) without the necessary batting or bowling skills that you need to learn at a young age, Says that sub district and district cricket is much weaker than it ever was. And lastly, he had nothing but utter scorn for the various pathway and rep programs - said they were largely nepotistic and staffed, especially at the lower levels, by "not very good people".

He was quite animated and upset by the whole situation. And he reckon that it will take years to right the ship again.

That's basically my thoughts and observations on the situation through playing and coaching.

At Premier level the coaching ethos and focus changed dramatically during my time at that level ( around 10 seasons ) . I would say the standard has dropped 5% maybe a bit more at the top but gets magnified as you go to lower grades . I went down and watched my club from my junior days and was pretty shocked at how weak that standard was for a '1st' grade side.

Lots of issues from the top down , through admin , structure , coaching and development . As your mate said last night been a while in the making and a lot of people foresaw what we currently have now .

That's basically my thoughts and observations on the situation through playing and coaching.

At Premier level the coaching ethos and focus changed dramatically during my time at that level ( around 10 seasons ) . I would say the standard has dropped 5% maybe a bit more at the top but gets magnified as you go to lower grades . I went down and watched my club from my junior days and was pretty shocked at how weak that standard was for a '1st' grade side.

Lots of issues from the top down , through admin , structure , coaching and development . As your mate said last night been a while in the making and a lot of people foresaw what we currently have now .

He made the interesting point - and I've seen it myself - that feeding bowling machines and 'power positions' have seemingly become the batting coaching norm in many junior environments. He made the point that bowling machines have a place but they don't coach or impart skills.

Bowling machines are really only of value IMO if you have someone who is good at feeling the balls , making subtle changes of length and line . Otherwise it becomes batters planting on the front foot and slapping half volleys into the back net .

Yep power positions became in vogue along with opening the face early to get singles. Pretty much the opposite to what I was taught

Bowling machines are really only of value IMO if you have someone who is good at feeling the balls , making subtle changes of length and line . Otherwise it becomes batters planting on the front foot and slapping half volleys into the back net .

Yep power positions became in vogue along with opening the face early to get singles. Pretty much the opposite to what I was taught

This guy made the point that he thought bowling machines were good if you wanted to reinforce something - i.e. move the foot to the ball - and repeat it consistently.

This bloke was also incredibly frustrated and bemused by the recent selections. Thought that the Marnus selection was one of the strangest and stupidest pick of many years.

We just look terrible. The part timers bowling, the game drifting, we look utterly toothless.
They have absolutely given us a pasting over the last 7 days of test cricket

Let’s see who if any will show resistance with the bat .......

Oh and Jadeja bat/sword wave is as cringeworthy as Warner’s ‘leap’ when he tons up

Thought we would be1-2 down so great effort to get through ( thanks Pant )

Harris looks very assured but those few bouncers have really rattled him , very unsure against the short ball . Worth persisting with though