Media Thread 2026: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

• Thread starter Thread starter Doashuey

What a great analysis IMO.
Reality of where we are as a list.
What it also shows is WC with our list are actually being competetive for decent parts of the game.
That's a credit to the coaching group to get this against a rampageing GC.
It will be a long year but if we stay competitive for longer we are closer to more wins.
If we get out to a hot start against teams like the bombers, port and tigs, reckon we can keep the intensity and grind out a win. I don't expect to flog anyone, but do think we can get some close wins.
I would include the Saints but you have to think being the only team to lose to us last year they'll come out hot against us. Like the dogs after that 2023 embarrassment

If we get out to a hot start against teams like the bombers, port and tigs, reckon we can keep the intensity and grind out a win. I don't expect to flog anyone, but do think we can get some close wins.
I would include the Saints but you have to think being the only team to lose to us last year they'll come out hot against us. Like the dogs after that 2023 embarrassment
What I also noticed from the GC game is after half time obviously Hough went to Petracca and had a decent influence on the game.
I also noticed WC changed they way they were playing in the second half and was quite noticeable that when we had the ball we used a kick mark game a lot to deny GC of possession and stop the bleeding.
Thought it worked very well for such a young team.

What I also noticed from the GC game is after half time obviously Hough went to Petracca and had a decent influence on the game.
I also noticed WC changed they way they were playing in the second half and was quite noticeable that when we had the ball we used a kick mark game a lot to deny GC of possession and stop the bleeding.
I thought McCarthy looked better in defence - but early days

Simmo likes this

I thought it showed a maturity that there is more to our game plan than the helter skelter type where you rush the ball forward at all costs.
It showed that this team have come into this year with a plan to minimise scoreboard impact when things are going against them.
It's such a young team that we need something to go to if it does turn on them like the GC game.
I noticed it after half time and am sure others did, that's good news instead of being all out attack.

Showed the coaches have been working on other parts of our game plan and it showed a bit of Brisbane type where they control the ball better than anyone else and then going when its in your favour.

AFL headquaters will not like this, will find a way to punish us

This has really irritated me all week.

So apparently it's confirmed that Gawn has gone past Cox. Nevermind the guy can't kick, and can't run with the footy. I've maintained for the last four years that Cox could do what Gawn does. But Gawn cannot do what Cox did.
1. Gawn can't take two bounces and then launch a running goal from 50 (let alone in a GF) - he's never had one running bounce!
2. Gawn cannot play with an established ruck - that experiment with Grundy was a disaster, and it worked with Jackson because his incredible athleticism allowed Jackson to play a range of different positions. Don't forget it was Jackson in the ruck that turned the 2021 GF
3. Gawn is not a reliable set shot for goal. On at least 2 occasions he lost his side the game with very gettable shots either after the siren or on the siren. He's also never kicked more than 20 goals in a season - Cox has achieved that mark 3 times.
4. Gawn cannot kick. Remember his turnover in the dying seconds of the Kings Bday clash last year which saw Steven May lose his mind? Meanwhile no doubt a heap of footy watchers forget Cox used to take the kick-ins at times - and not under the current rules where you run 20 and kick 50
The only real justification for putting Gawn over Cox is the 8x AA v 6x AA, but I'd argue there was a level of 'Cox-fatigue' in 2010 and they couldn't put 2 All-Australians from a wooden spoon side in (his numbers still stacked up well and, I mean come on - Mark Jamar?). '09 was injury, while Cox's '13 numbers aren't a mile away from Gawn's All-Australian numbers in '22.

Guys, tell me I'm not just being a one-eyed flog?

So apparently it's confirmed that Gawn has gone past Cox. Nevermind the guy can't kick, and can't run with the footy. I've maintained for the last four years that Cox could do what Gawn does. But Gawn cannot do what Cox did.
1. Gawn can't take two bounces and then launch a running goal from 50 (let alone in a GF) - he's never had one running bounce!
2. Gawn cannot play with an established ruck - that experiment with Grundy was a disaster, and it worked with Jackson because his incredible athleticism allowed Jackson to play a range of different positions. Don't forget it was Jackson in the ruck that turned the 2021 GF
3. Gawn is not a reliable set shot for goal. On at least 2 occasions he lost his side the game with very gettable shots either after the siren or on the siren. He's also never kicked more than 20 goals in a season - Cox has achieved that mark 3 times.
4. Gawn cannot kick. Remember his turnover in the dying seconds of the Kings Bday clash last year which saw Steven May lose his mind? Meanwhile no doubt a heap of footy watchers forget Cox used to take the kick-ins at times - and not under the current rules where you run 20 and kick 50
The only real justification for putting Gawn over Cox is the 8x AA v 6x AA, but I'd argue there was a level of 'Cox-fatigue' in 2010 and they couldn't put 2 All-Australians from a wooden spoon side in (his numbers still stacked up well and, I mean come on - Mark Jamar?). '09 was injury, while Cox's '13 numbers aren't a mile away from Gawn's All-Australian numbers in '22.

Yeah saw this and opened the comments - very first one was "It's Dean Cox by such a great margin it's not funny".

It's just typical Victorian bullshit really. Standard even.

Yeah saw this and opened the comments - very first one was "It's Dean Cox by such a great margin it's not funny".

It's just typical Victorian bullshit really. Standard even.
I get it's Garry Lyon (Melbourne) vs Tim Watson (Essendon), but I'm seeing it everywhere. Jake Niall (who's a journo I respect) said it pretty flippantly this week, along the lines of "Gawn, who's clearly now ahead of Cox". And we don't have the support in the media for the debate. Would've thought Duff or Goss might weigh in and then you have Simmo in the media who has completely shed any WC allegiance now!

I was 3 when Madden retired so am not equipped to comment. But Cox revolutionised the role - and there doesn't appear to be anyone willing to support Coxy's claim?

At least Cox is in the conversation.
One of the SEN flogs yesterday was reading out SMS nominations (Dempsey, Goodes, Stynes), then when he read out Dean Cox it wasn't an instant "no chance". Only name he read out where he insta-dismissed it.

Gawns been gifted close to half oh his AA’s anyway. For years the league didn’t want an two rucks in the side and all of sudden they did ao they could have him in the side. There was one year when Nic Nat got it and Gawn was put on the bench even tho he was even the next best ruck that year.

I was 3 when Madden retired so am not equipped to comment. But Cox revolutionised the role - and there doesn't appear to be anyone willing to support Coxy's claim?
It's normal - Cox didn't play his career in the national media's Melbourne fishbowl, therefore as they didn't watch him as much he can't be considered that great. That he pretty much single-handedly recreated the role of ruckman goes over their heads.

I do wonder if Judd would be as highly rated in retrospect if he hadn't played the second (and lesser) half of his career at Carlton.

Any ruckman who repeatedly gets towelled up by Mason Cox should be instantly disqualified.

Also, I was there for Gawn's prelim in 2021 and it was awesome. But I was also there in 2018 when he was nutted by Vardy and Lycett. Gawn's '21 prelim performance is often held up as his iconic moment, but the '18 capitulation is always ignored.

Any ruckman who repeatedly gets towelled up by Mason Cox should be instantly disqualified.

Also, I was there for Gawn's prelim in 2021 and it was awesome. But I was also there in 2018 when he was nutted by Vardy and Lycett. Gawn's '21 prelim performance is often held up as his iconic moment, but the '18 capitulation is always ignored.

To be fair, the entire Melbourne team choked bad in the 2018 Prelim. There's been a lot of one sided finals over the years, but that one was right up there.

Funny how the Vic media were massively tipping the Demons pre-game.

To be fair, the entire Melbourne team choked bad in the 2018 Prelim. There's been a lot of one sided finals over the years, but that one was right up there.

Funny was Gary Lyon sitting catatonic on the quarter time cross.

Garry Lyon's half time sadness is enjoyable to this day.

Comparing players across different eras is futile. Gawn is a great ruckman as was Cox.

Does anyone really care who was better? Like really care. People are going to trend towards the player who played for their team or the one they saw most of - so forced to choose, I’d go Cox

But if you asked me which ruckman I’d want to play for us right now at the peak of his powers, I’d pick Naitanui. Not because, he was necessarily better, but he was without doubt in my mind the most exciting ruckman to watch - totally unique with an ability to do things I’ve never seen another ruckman do