Autopsy Rnd 7 | St Kilda vs West Coast

• Thread starter Thread starter Mat Mann

I'm one of those blokes that likes to watch a game I'm attending instead of posting on Big Footy and social media.

Bit hard to post in the game day thread then 🫡
C’mon Kizz, if you’re not throwing a tantrum in the game day thread then you’re just accepting mediocrity.

Lift son lift.

At the ground it looked like a mark in real time.
He was also drifting back with the ball which makes it even harder to judge.

The game stopped for a decent chunk of time too, like he walked the ball back to the 9 in his hand speaking to the field umpire before play re started.

It was all pretty comical.

C’mon Kizz, if you’re not throwing a tantrum in the game day thread then you’re just accepting mediocrity.

Lift son lift.
Mediocre comment W2L 👎🏻

The whole idea of trying to make a precise call based on a fuzzy camera that is in the wrong position is ridiculous. I would scrap the whole system but if that wasn't possible I'd start with not reviewing points.
IMG_0124.webp

Just saw the presser. The media have really pissed Ross off.
They alway like a quote from him. He gave them less than Wayne Bennett.
Learn the lesson arseh*le journo's, you want to critisise one of the few who make pressers interesting, you will get boring stale footy speak and nothing for your stories.
The chickens are going to starve.

The whole idea of trying to make a precise call based on a fuzzy camera that is in the wrong position is ridiculous. I would scrap the whole system but if that wasn't possible I'd start with not reviewing points.
View attachment 2594748
Im pretty sure the camera isnt angled like that. It looks straigh at the point post, centralised in the frame.

I agree with the overall premise that its not perfect but a super slow mo camera being watched 400 times is gonna wind up being more accurate than the human eye in real time with bodies in the way.

I really like how the kids wanted the triple figures. The only guys who wanted to slow the game down (probably thinking about a few short breaks coming up) were the captains, Wilkie and Sinclair.

Nas is fine.
Watching Wilks in the last, he was spent.
No wonder, has spent every second of every game on field to go with 160 plus games straight.
What an absolutely inspired recruitment coup.
Thank you and RIP Chris Toce.

We bemoan our misses (Bont, Petracca, lately Murphy Reid) but some of our rookies and MSD and later picks have been great, Wilks, Coops, Garcia, Hall to name a few.
Will go out on a limb and say Charlie Banfield will join them.

Which spud will rip us apart though?
I actually think Walsh has had a decent year
Last year Cripps almost took the game off us in the 3rd alone
Smith is ok and Hewitt (if back) can rack them up
Have seen a bit of Carlton this year and while I enjoy their implosion at times I’ve watched them and thought they haven’t been too bad for periods …whatever happens they will be more than West Coast
We won’t have it all our own way and I’m sick of being the team that plays struggle players (see Van Rogen thread) or clubs back into form
This game we have to be ruthless but first just win
Did we lose to them last year ??

Im pretty sure the camera isnt angled like that. It looks straigh at the point post, centralised in the frame.

I agree with the overall premise that its not perfect but a super slow mo camera being watched 400 times is gonna wind up being more accurate than the human eye in real time with bodies in the way.
Moot point, but looking at the ball, it wasn't over the line, with the angle shown. Well to me anyway.
55 seconds though. What happens if eagles scored a goal, it is taken off them and we get a goal from Marshall?
Absolutely ludicrious.
WC had a bit of momentum, wd kick a goal and then a minute later a second, then one way traffic.
Now we were goung to win that game, but would it have been a total blowout?
Anyway that happens in a tight contest and the roof will cave in on the AFL.

The chickens are going to starve.
and so they should
What the fck do these muppets want from Lyon??
This week it’s “Ross’s bizarre press conference “
All because Lyon said 101 point win isn’t top of his radar he has bigger things to focus on - he then went on to explain that it wasn’t a 4 quarter effort (agree) and he wants to obviously improve in other key areas ….??? It’s great feedback from a senior coach and these cockwit media muppets label it “bizarre”
These twits are seriously the lowest of the low no wonder Lyon can’t stand them …I’d hate them too
As an old mate used to say…”tell em nothing …take em nowhere and drop em off half way….”
Current AFL media quality is a discussion that anytime anyone brings it up Caro and the ole bandwagoners go into attack mode and label you a whinger - address your own backyard it’s a mess the questions asked by people (who often look like they sleep rough) are appalling

Who is going to play on Cripps next week?
Might have to bring in Macrae for Butler?
Could get Boxshall in to lay him on his ass again. I'm not sure you can really change the midfield mix after that response, Macrae might just be unlucky for now. Unless we want to drop Butler and play Hall, Wilson, Nas forward more, or maybe Wood but he looked back near his best today creating an option on the wing.

I actually think Walsh has had a decent year
Last year Cripps almost took the game off us in the 3rd alone
Smith is ok and Hewitt (if back) can rack them up
Have seen a bit of Carlton this year and while I enjoy their implosion at times I’ve watched them and thought they haven’t been too bad for periods …whatever happens they will be more than West Coast
We won’t have it all our own way and I’m sick of being the team that plays struggle players (see Van Rogen thread) or clubs back into form
This game we have to be ruthless but first just win
Did we lose to them last year ??
Carltons result against the Dockers is what we needed, that in it's self will hopefully elevate any complacency & them being competitive has made sure Voss didn't get the chop & follow on sugar hit win.

It’s funny. Carroll is still a bitofa invisible man to me, hardly noticed him go about his 24 touches, 10 marks, 400+ metres gained.

And yet, I seemed to be rapt in attention at every one of Hunter Clark’s 12 touches. Stuff just happens when he’s in the contest, I have a massive soft spot for him. Still had the lowest ToG out of both teams at 56%.

Must be weird for Blues supporters next week. They could be coming up against Silvagni, Carroll, Caminiti & TDK. Surely throw Dow in for the bit.

You can't even see the point post because the camera is in the opposite goal post. It is as I have drawn it, a line from the opposite goal post, at a tangent to the near goal post.

I remember when they beat us last year, at one point Hugo was throwing his weight around... as Hugo does... getting in people faces etc. Liam Ryan got right up in Hugo's grill and shut him down. We've got some hard nuts in our side now. Love it. Mr Ryan is definitely one of them.

Reckon she got it right tbh
Rowan Marshall has admitted he is glad the ARC intervened on a controversial score review that St Kilda benefited from.
During the second quarter of the Saints’ 101-point win against the West Coast Eagles, Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera scored a point with Marshall appearing to have marked the ball after it crossed the line to give them a 16-point lead.

Following the score, play resumed for another minute before the AFL’s score review system overturned the point call, declaring that the ruckman had marked and controlled the ball prior to it crossing the line, thus warranting a set shot.
The ball was then taken back to where Marshall marked it, where he proceeded to kick a goal.
During that moment, most players, fans and media alike were confused as to why the call had been reversed after so much time had passed.
But there was one man amongst 29,070 in attendance who had an idea as to why the umpire had blown their whistle.
“Yeah, I had a feeling it was a mark, but I wasn't 100% sure,” Marshall told AFL Nation.
“I was trying to get the goal umpire to review it…they normally do with those ones.
“But I think the play sort of played out for about a minute, and then as soon as they called the third umpire, I knew what it was, and I was pretty happy.
Although Marshall did note the weirdness of the call being so delayed, he was glad the right call was made.

“I was probably the only one with an inkling on the field because I thought I might have marked it,” he added.
“It was a bit of a weird moment, but I'm just glad they got it right."

You can't even see the point post because the camera is in the opposite goal post. It is as I have drawn it, a line from the opposite goal post, at a tangent to the near goal post.

I'm pretty sure the goal-line/behind line is a straight line?

So the reason why you can't see the other post is because it's directly behind the other post?

I'm confused with what you are trying to say?

Moot point, but looking at the ball, it wasn't over the line, with the angle shown. Well to me anyway.
55 seconds though. What happens if eagles scored a goal, it is taken off them and we get a goal from Marshall?
Absolutely ludicrious.
WC had a bit of momentum, wd kick a goal and then a minute later a second, then one way traffic.
Now we were goung to win that game, but would it have been a total blowout?
Anyway that happens in a tight contest and the roof will cave in on the AFL.
Agree with this.

Like it’s not 100% definitive. But it looked like a smidgen of the ball hadn’t crossed the line.