Autopsy Round 8 | St Kilda vs Carlscum

Ive been lurking in the Carlton board. I dont hate them, raised in WA, so far enough away to develop deeper more bitter hatreds elsewhere, sort of knew Jon Dorotich, we've raided their pantry, I have a number of tolerable Carlton supporting friends. I'd almost say I have a soft spot.

That being said, Ive sometimes pondered how supporting a team that’s historically rubbish is actually easier than supporting a powerhouse that’s spent the last 20 years falling apart.

We have a life time of building coping mechanisms. Dark humour. Low expectations. Over time, you build resilience. Calluses. Perspective. You know how to carry disappointment without theatrics because disappointment has never pretended to be anything else. It doesn’t arrive unexpectedly. It just turns up, like it always does, and you deal with it.

Now contrast that with supporters of a so‑called powerhouse that’s been garbage for only the last 20 years. Every loss is treated like a crisis, a shocking injustice. It triggers outrage, blame, panic, enquiries, sack everyone discourse. It’s never just a loss, it’s a betrayal, a symptom of something deeply broken in the universe. Every bad season is a once in a lifetime tragedy. Massive reactions. Meltdowns. Their self‑image still says “big club,” but reality keeps pissing in their face.

And honestly, on cold dark nights, I feel a bit sorry for them. We were trained for this. We were conditioned. We learned how not to expect joy from sport. They weren’t. They were raised on success, entitlement, and the comforting lie that they "deserve success".

But then in other moments I remember they are a bunch of cheating self entitled ****s so ¯\\\(ツ)\/¯, long may it continue.

It's the price you pay for the privilege of being a "big club." When we suck, we just get ignored. When Essendon and Carlton suck, it's the leading headline which can make things seem worse than they are because you are constantly under the microscope. There are obviously big advantages to being a big club, with favourable fixturing, national media attention and just being more attractive for free agents, but the highs and lows are so much crazier.

I am 30, so I quite literally have no memory of a truly great Carlton team, which means they have just existed as a pathetic shadow of their former selves the entire time I can remember watching footy.

We are making far better decisions with our I50 kicks and our forwards are working unselfishly to help eachother out. It's a stark contrast from the blind bombing of the ball we fall back on. It's been good the last 2 weeks to see us take our chances and stamp our authority on a game. True progress is exciting!

next few games:

v 9th placed Gold Coast
v 18th placed Richmond
v 1st placed Fremantle
v 2nd placed Hawthorn
v 3rd placed Sydney

obviously have to beat Richmond, but need to give Gold Coast a good shake too because the three weeks after that are going to be pretty hard
Real tests coming up. It’s a great win, but hard to read too much into it with Carlton losing that exact same way each and every week under their master coach Voss.

Tried the tough guy stuff after when it didn't count as well, standing over Hall, then chicken winged Garcia. Garcia staunched him tonight, work rate and pressure over being a big bodied mid. Seems to be a bit of a trend these days.
Like Joffa Archer 'you only bowl fast when there's nothing on champion' lol.

Real tests coming up. It’s a great win, but hard to read too much into it with Carlton losing that exact same way each and every week under their master coach Voss.
Spot on. Tougher tests ahead, I reckon we’re a sneaky chance v Suns next week though they own Darwin so it’s hope not expectation!

Outcoached and lost it at selection :(

Unless… ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)‎

View attachment 2600280

That first half was gross. Skills, system everything was off. Probably lucky to stay as close as we did. But then the good part of our bipolar side kicked in.

I do give the coaching a tick though. We held Garcia back in the first half then released the Hugo. We must have planned to hold them close and then surge. St Kilda and Sydney who have a dour history all of a sudden look like the sides that are high scoring while sides like Collingwood are locking games down.

not sure how much we can take from the last two weeks, both those sides are terrible

but last year our games against poor sides were going down to the wire

very happy to have some comfortable last quarters

Carlton aren't terrible but they are psychologically fragile.

There's nobody I trust in general play with ball in hand more than Sharman. Consistently makes really good decisions.

I suspected Doogs wasn't done. Played some good footy for us last time he strung some games together.

Chicken wing Cripps can gagf

Nas is a fiery man.

Best on with Hillydard I’d say!

The weird thing about that match is that statistically a bunch of guys looked elite on paper but I reckon Flanders, Sinclair, Howard, Hill and Garcia types probably had the most impact in that third quarter turn around. Wilkie, Nas and Hall on paper looked good but were below what they are capable of. Forwards finishing off their work helps too.

Sincs had a weird night to me. Quite a few clangers by his standards.

There's nobody I trust in general play with ball in hand more than Sharman. Consistently makes really good decisions.

I suspected Doogs wasn't done. Played some good footy for us last time he strung some games together.

Chicken wing Cripps can gagf

Nas is a fiery man.

Sharman is a team player too. Just looks for better options ahead of the play and feeds it off if needed.

Since he's started covering so much ground his accuracy has dropped off but he keeps presenting and crashing in when he can't get a clean run at it. Owens is like Paul Chapman. Just a hard bodied bull that would give defenders the shakes.

I reckon Coops is a little bit of confidence off dominating regularly. Hadn't played 50 games at the start of the season. His best is still coming.

Sincs had a weird night to me. Quite a few clangers by his standards.

Nas too, worst I've ever seen him kick. Wilkie lost contests he'd usually win with his eyes closed. All were really good still but made errors none of them usually would.

He copped a knock at some stage, was limping after the game and had lower calf iced up. Hopefully nothing too bad but might have influenced his game.

Suns in the top end next week shaping as a real 50/50 game and looks important for both teams in the context of both the next five or six games and the teams around us. This next stretch of games will go a long way to determining how high we can finish. Really hoping Flyin' will be able to get up for the game, even more so with Butler doing a hammy and Snags unavailable, very excited to see Henry and Ryan playing in the same forward line. Hopefully Wilson should be ok to come back in , possibly for LOC or MacLangoustine. All things considered, pretty happy with 4-4.

C U in the NT.

IMG_1143.gif

Just listening to the post-game interviews, media snippets, and random player interactions

There is quite a bit of love for Dougal especially from the defenders. Wilkie mentioned 'personnel coming in the last couple of weeks' to help with defence and JSOS gave him BOG tonight, and I recall last week there were words of appreciation for him too

Held McKay goalless tonight and did a lot more right than wrong. Happy to see this trio of him + Wilkie + JSOS working an absolute treat and looking forward to seeing if we get back to 2023 levels of defence whilst balancing that with our improved offence
Extra happy for Dougal and his performance on McKay given last year, he couldn't run while against him and it cost us the game.

A bit of redemption for him.

Like HOOK THIS IN MY VEINS HAHAHA

Can we get a recording of this? I’d love to watch the game again with an alternative commentary. Maybe just the second half so I can identify all five stages of grief.

Choose between the highlights or the full call.

The normal commentator call is usually posted by them in full as well.

How great was it to see the ruckman spend time deep forward! Been wanting to see it since rd0 and we finally did it. And it worked.

After seeing the late outs, I wasn't sure where we were going to get the extra 4-5 goals we needed to replace the usually output from Higgins+Ryan. But the ruckman stepped up and delivered what we needed.

This could be the breakout game for their partnership, similar to when it clicked for Marshall+Ryder against Port in 2020.