Final NAB Cup Match: vs Brisbane @ Visy Park - Essendon win by 50; Hurley kicks 5

Jaymin

Nov 8, 2002
Leeds United FC
Final hit out next Sunday at Visy Park. (Should be the 18th March if someone wants to fix the title)

Be interesting to see what side we put out for this one.

Other matches:-

Friday March 16 -

Coll v StK, Visy Park, 4pm
Port v Melb at AAMI, 7.10pm

Saturday March 17 -

GWS v Richmond, Manuka, 12.30
Swans v Suns, Blacktown, 1pm
Cats v Dogs at Geel, 3pm
Carl v North at Visy, 3.30pm

Fremantle v Hawthorn at Patersons on EITHER Friday 16/3 or Saturday 17/3. Fixture date, time tbc tomorrow.

Re: Final NAB Cup Match: vs Brisbane @ Visy Park, Sunday 16th March. 1:10pm

Will it be televised?
Looks like a last chance for the rookies and new draftees to impress.
Hope Steinberg is good to play.

Usually teams play 25 and i want it as our best 25-26 that is most likely to play against the roos.

Fletcher - Pears - Hardingham

Dempsey- Hooker- Hibberd

Heppell - Watson - Stanton

Jetta - Carlisle - Crameri

Winderlich - Hurley - Ryder

TBELL - Hocking - Zaharakis

Monfries, Howlett, Lonergan, Myers, Davey, Colyer, Melskham, Hille

Probably need to try and get Zaka into touch so play as much of game and through middle simply to get hands on pill. Same with buddha.

Lonergan on the bench but probably needs an extended run. Same with Winderlich which is why i have him starting.

If anyone is sore more than happy for them not to play.

Have Essendon been doing streams of their matches thus far?

Might rest Ryder for this one and give the other two a chance to ruck it out? Or will no one be rested?

Probably better off playing Paddy to hopefully keep his intensity up.
Even play him at FF the whole game, and play Crameri in the middle, see how he goes

Does anyone know cost to get in??? And does Carlscum get any $$$ out of these Visy games

I don't think Carlscum gets much in dollar terms, although not sure about food and drink etc, but basically the AFL made a contract to play a certain number of games there when they built the Champions grandstand (I think that was the name of it) and then the ground wasn't up to scratch so they abandoned it for season proper but as compo Carl got a heap of money and a pre-commitment to a certain number of preseason/speciality games to be played there for something ridiculous like 10 years...

Hope that clears up the situation.

arent carlscum in a stack of debt due to that ugly stand?

Thanks Rines, have they improved the surface to an adequate level now?
The scum shouldn't get compo for anything, salary cap rorts, then tanking for spoons, then getting 3 no 1's for the effort is enough to make you sick

Yeah the surface is ok (I wouldn't want to play on it every week - but I would want to play on Etihad's every week either).

They are nearly finished paying down all the debt on the stand but not completely I think (although they may have written it down as a debt on the books - haven't checked Carlscum's financials lately!)

I think the facilities are ok because it is still used actively by Carlton as training ground/base.

Most grounds should be in good nick with the amount of rain we have had.. easy to get grass to grow (anyone with mowing duty at home would attest to this)..

As to Carlscum's blantant, and continuing disregard, for the laws of the game: Cheating leads to a quick gain followed by an even quicker loss. I still shake my head about the Judd deal. I'm surprised Pendlebury hasn't been announced as "Culture Ambassador" for Channel 9 or similar. Ahhh don't get me thinking about Carlscum, it isn't good for my nerves. They are perhaps the biggest cheats on the last 80 years of organised footy.

Fixture has been changed.

We are now playing 3:30 on SATURDAY.

Due to Brisbane's flight arrangeemnt.

Source: Patrick Keane

Thats lucky, i was wondering how we could play a Sunday match on the 16th when its a Friday and it looks as though Carlton are playing at Visy on the 18th at 1pm. :confused:

Fixture has been changed.

We are now playing 3:30 on SATURDAY.

Due to Brisbane's flight arrangeemnt.

Source: Patrick Keane

Thanks for the heads up mate, that actually suits a lot better, happy days

Only NAB Cup on GF next weekend in HK - Have got 4 or 5 games last 3 weekends.

Probably suggesting that game VS Brisbane will not be televised.

ironic that flights cause a reschedule!

who's heading in on Saturday?

I live round the corner from judd-park, i'll go check it out....i'll bring a footy if someones up for a kick!

i remember when we played Melbourne there last year it was free to walk in.....but that was only a praccy match i guess, this is more of a glorified praccy match.

I live round the corner from judd-park, i'll go check it out....i'll bring a footy if someones up for a kick!

I'm up for a kick mate

Has the carparking in the area improved?????

I swear to god, if brisbanes plane doesn't land, I'll go nuts.

Going to be a wet weekend, if it stays that way, put some boys in cotton wool!

Got tradies around on Saturday, building my deck, Brisbane Ruined my weekend too.

Re: Final NAB Cup Match: vs Brisbane @ Visy Park, Saturday 15th March. 1:10pm

The worst part is that this meant so much to the people of Parkville; Brisbane's belligerence and refusal to catch a bus like normal people has torn the still beating heart out of the chest of the township.

Srslty tho, it will be good to have a look at Prince's Park - I haven't been there for a game since Rd 22 1997 (we beat Ade by 4 pts).

An aside: I don't know if anyone else remembers this but Princess Diana's death was announced at half-time to which a fair few people in the crowd cheered!

Also, I started a "Modra's a w***er" chant that day too - so proud *tear*. There was a lot more mongrel in the crowds in those times. I miss that a bit.

Final NAB Cup Match: vs Brisbane @ Visy Park - Essendon win by 50; Hurley kicks 5