2 jam donuts

Ringwood
I don't know how it is in other states, but down here in Melbourne the most hated group of drivers at the moment are 4wdrivers. Suggestions of a higher tax or banning them in the city areas have come up. Apparently all people who drive 4WD's are arrogant and dangerous, cause more wear and tear on the roads, bash willy nilly into sedan drivers and deliberately block the view of everyone at intersections.
I drive a 4WD, it was bought because we have four kids, we tow a caravan, we do a lot of country driving. I also do a lot of city driving, particularly to the footy. I dont block the view of people at intersections, I can sit back and look over them. I have seen more aggression from corporate looking women in little sporty cars.
I am sick of narrow minded people generalising, not all P platers a hoons, not all volvo drivers drive under 50k's in the right hand lane and not all corporate young women are agressive, and some 4WD owners actually have reasons to drive what they do and do so in a reasonable manner.

Originally posted by 2 jam donuts
... and some 4WD owners actually have reasons to drive what they do and do so in a reasonable manner.

true, but i would replace the "some" with "very few"

Most innercity 4wd have never seen a bush track in their life, and they never will.

Why do you need a 4wd to cruise around paved roads? And more importantly, why do you need the whacking great big bullbars on a city car?

To protect you from the wild pedestrians roaming the streets?

I drive a Ford Escape. Marketed as a 4 wheel drve but I wouldn't take it off road in a fit. No clearance on the back wheel struts. Ideal for driving along a beach thou and the V6 can match any Aussie built sedan at a set of lights.

I agree 100%, mostly I find it is jealousy that causes much of the hatred towards 4 wheel drives.

I have pulled the front diff out of a few tojo's and the upper half of the crownwheel has been just rusted away. Never been in 4wd for years. A few years ago we had a spate of tourists with hj60's complaining that they couldn't engage 4wd. after a couple of hours work un-seizing the 4wd shifter away they went.

!n 1989 we traveled to Mackay across the middle in a HZ Kingswood. We chased a few thunderstorms and by the time we got to Ularu the only spot on the "old green" was where the windscreen wipers went. When we pulled up in the Carpark next to a line up of Spotless Cruisers with Vic & NSW plates some PPl asked us where did we come from to get so much mud on the car. When we said "Meekatharra" They asked "where is that" and we replied "about 2500km's west of here."

They then asked if we came via Port Agusta or Katherine and were disheartened when they found out that were came straight across the desert.

Originally posted by Tormented Tiger
I drive a Ford Escape. Ideal for driving along a beach thou and the V6 can match any Aussie built sedan at a set of lights.

any?

I remember seeing a report on either A Current Affair or Today Tonight (one of those) that 4wd are not any safer than a standard vehicle. In fact having a higher 'seat' they have a higher likelihood of tipping over than say a sedan or passenger vehicle. When a random poll (No - I don't know who or how many) of 4wd drivers was done most of them said that additional safety was one of the main factors to making the purchase.

Advertising concept more than reality it appears.

While I agree that not all 4wd'ers are inconsiderate of other road uses, I do wonder why so many chose to bring those vehicles into shopping centre carparks? These vehicle are just not made for that purpose.

Ripper - an ole Kingswood eh? They just don't make 'em like they used to.

Originally posted by harlean

Ripper - an ole Kingswood eh? They just don't make 'em like they used to.

Thats for sure. Although it wasn't that old in 1989. It was a station wagon and we had 140lts of fuel and 60lts of water on the roofrack. It went over and back on 7000km of dirt no worries. If it was a Ford or a Commodore we would have ripped the sump off half a dozen times but the kingers have a really good front end and the sump bowl is tucked away behind that big crossmember.

Argh. I hate 4WDs with a passion. Big pieces of metal hogging roads. Ridiculous. If you're in country area, or REQUIRE a 4WD then that's okay. People who drive 4WDs in the city should be shot. I wouldn't hesitate. It's so frustrating. What is it? I've got a 4WD therefore my penis/clitoris is bigger?

Coming form the country, i was surprised at seeing how many people in Melbourne actually drive 4WD's. I recon the ratio per capita would have to be higher in the city.

I dont like them htough, Its incredibly difficult to see past them. I hate it when i seem to be surrounded by them, it certainly doesnt make the trip safer.
I owuldnt like ot have one smash into me. Id support an inner-city ban, but not a tax. A tax would affect those in the country who actually need them.

The worst problem with 4WD's, is the majority can't even handle them, watch them trying to pull into, or out of a parking spot, it takes them forever, if I see any of them going backwards & forwards more than 3 times to pull into or out of a parking spot, I yell out to them, "if you can't drive the f***ing thing, then stop driving it & get a smaller car". :mad:

Also, if one is parked next to you, you have to start pulling out blindly, because you can't see around the bloody things.

I hate 4WD's not only are they dangerous in the hands of mothers dropping their kids off to school but they're terrible for the environment. If you've got a lot of kids what's wrong with a station wagon? Station wagons can also tow caravans. However stations wagons don't say 'look at me I have a 10 inch penis'. There should be a seperate test for those who wish to drive a 4WD, they should also have to prove a need for one, eg. driving in the outback.

They're mostly a status symbol and the majority won't see a dirt track in their life time. But thats not what ticks me off about 4WD, its driving behind them and not being able to see what the hell is coming up in front of you!!!

They're mostly a status symbol and the majority won't see a dirt track in their life time. But thats not what ticks me off about 4WD, its driving behind them and not being able to see what the hell is coming uo in front of you!!!

Id much rather see a flashy $70,000 sedan infront of me.

That arument "Your just jealous' is straw clutching. No one complained about the flashy cars on the road before this strange 4WD phenomina swept the state.

Originally posted by Fire
Id much rather see a flashy $70,000 sedan infront of me.

That arument "Your just jealous' is straw clutching. No one complained about the flashy cars on the road before this strange 4WD phenomina swept the state.

What he said...

In Sydney they're generally pretty hated too. I drive about 500km a week and HATE being around them - they put out disgusting emissions, they are too big to see around and the people who drive them really can't. I am sick of seeing business men drive them and look so damn proud of themselves - "look at me I have a big menacing vehicle" and I am sick of both men and women in them trying to intimidate "lesser" drivers on the road. I can't tell you the number of times I have nearly been hit by 4wd's where people think that the rules don't apply to them because they're tangling with a P-Plater in a little car. I'm all for sharing the road with them, if the morons in them could only drive them! :mad:

Arghhh I hate them. I have been almost hit by these trucks on many occasions crossing the road.

How many times have you seen them run a red and almost hit a pedestrain?

And most owners use them to travel short distances around the inner city.

About time they are banned.

Originally posted by swansrock4eva
In Sydney they're generally pretty hated too. I drive about 500km a week and HATE being around them - they put out disgusting emissions, they are too big to see around and the people who drive them really can't. I am sick of seeing business men drive them and look so damn proud of themselves - "look at me I have a big menacing vehicle" and I am sick of both men and women in them trying to intimidate "lesser" drivers on the road. I can't tell you the number of times I have nearly been hit by 4wd's where people think that the rules don't apply to them because they're tangling with a P-Plater in a little car. I'm all for sharing the road with them, if the morons in them could only drive them! :mad:

Just swerve at them and run them off the road..i usually give them the big bird and then drive in front of them at slow speed...and if they change lane so do i, all at 50 k an hour.

;)

As somebody said earlier in this thread, it's all a status symbol.

I also get sick of seeing them on inner-city roads, although down here in Hobart, because of the close proximity to the country from town, you maybe will get those from the bush, who look after the 4WD's immaculately who give off the impression of Liverpool Street farmers - because of the lack of mud build-up.

Fat mum's in 4WD's from the 'burbs with 3 kids being dropped off outside the local primary school are the ones that sh*t me.
Shocking drivers a majority of them.

Kind of like the lads who used to go out and buy sailing clothes, deck shoes etc from the maritime shops down here, and only wear them on New Years Eve, because all the yachties were in from the Sydney to Hobart - and because the yachties could pull chicks, they figured it would help them pull chicks too, a mate of mine did 3 Sydney-Hobart's and told me about them - apparently these tryhard's were well known amongst the yachties as Collins Street sailors.

It's called attention seeking.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
In 1989 we traveled to Mackay across the middle in a HZ Kingswood. We chased a few thunderstorms and by the time we got to Ularu the only spot on the "old green" was where the windscreen wipers went. When we pulled up in the Carpark next to a line up of Spotless Cruisers with Vic & NSW plates some PPl asked us where did we come from to get so much mud on the car. When we said "Meekatharra" They asked "where is that" and we replied "about 2500km's west of here."

They then asked if we came via Port Agusta or Katherine and were disheartened when they found out that were came straight across the desert.

Hehehe:D Great car the old Kingswood, one of my best mates had one, some of the crazy places me and my friends used to take the Kinger would have killed an ordinary car - but nah not the Kingswood - he sold it years ago (because his missus kept pestering him about getting a more hotted up car :rolleyes: ) and he bought the biggest P.O.S VC Commodore ever - *the tail shaft had a habit of popping out while you'd be driving down the road* - it happened many times, still remember lying under the BOMBadore on a gravel road at 2am in -3C trying to put tail-shaft bolts in - Neeeeeeeeeeever again:mad:

*NB - It was later found that a large number of 1980 VC Commodore's that came from a plant in Victoria had experienced the very same problem. :o

Originally posted by Frosties_Flank
Just swerve at them and run them off the road..i usually give them the big bird and then drive in front of them at slow speed...and if they change lane so do i, all at 50 k an hour.

;)
That's a dangerous thing to do in your circus clown car. I hope you honk your red nose at them and fall over a few times as well Bozo.

I would say I'm pretty prejudiced against 4wd's. For the life of me I can't see how gealousy is any sort of factor... I might be gealous of someone who actually bought a good car instead perhaps. They're every bit as ludicrous as a 50's status mobile with giant fins on it. And probably take up more steel. They're "safe" to the extent that if you run into another car, you're gonna pound the sh%^ out of it, leaving you relatively unscathed... and that's half the appeal to selfish people. But statistically, they're dangerous to those inside it too, with the roll factor. I generally don't honestly give too much of a toss about society, but these things are just plain anti-social. They will live through history as an icon of the stupidity of our age.

Have you ever noticed how all the blokes who drive them have moustaches? Maybe it's just me.

Maybe if everyone spontaneously started giving the bird to every 4wd/sports futility vehicle they see, then maybe they'd all get the message. Wan kers.

Just for the record, the last reason we bought a 4WD is for a sexual organ reassurance. Do I need to have a second car parked outside the city limits/shop carparks/school grounds, so I dont offend other people. Our car runs on unleaded petrol and gas, so is no more toxic than other cars. If we had gone for a station wagon, then two of the kids would be sitting in a dickie seat facing on coming headlights, (and its hard to fit a 12, 14, 16 or 17 yr old in a dickie seat, and if we had gone for a Tarrago or another type of people mover, the old blocking the view of the person next to or behind argument would be the same, the same as it is with trucks, bus's, vans. Why didn't someone tell me I needed a note from my mum explaining why I need to drive what I do. BTW, we were cut off by a moron in a sedan, we had no hope of avoiding the collision, I know which vehicle I was glad my kids were in.
Having said all that, now that one of the kids has his own car and the next is ready to go, we will be reverting back to a sedan. Maybe I can get a bumper sticker saying "ex 4WDer, please dont pick on me" :p

Originally posted by gregg
I agree 100%, mostly I find it is jealousy that causes much of the hatred towards 4 wheel drives.

Did anybody else notice this guy is a Melbourne supporter??? ;)