lacrow

Feb 7, 2003
Los Angeles
Dodgers, Lakers
I was speaking with a guy from SA recently and he was saying how Andrew Jarman in his early days was actually better that Darren. Any truth to this?

As a matter of fact, why don't you knowledgeable dudes give me your thoughts on the abilities of A. Jarman. We all know Darren was a god, but I'm curious about the other brother.

I only saw him play a couple of times (96, I think) and he seemed like a good player.

Thoughts?

Andrew had the best pair of hands I've ever seen and his kicking wasn't half bad either - got unfairly maligned because of his well documented attitude and demeanour, but yeah... both Jarmans at their peak would be very very very hard to split.

Andrew had an uncanny knack of finding a hole in a pack of 15 players, and handballing through it a good 15 metres to find it's target ... I've never seen anyone else play like him...

Both brothers had an equal sense of where everything was on the field, and both could work out how the play was going to unfold before anyone else on the field. The difference between them was that Darren seemed to utilise his skills when finishing of a forward thrust, whereas Andrew was always the man that created the forward thrust of play from a stoppage...

Originally posted by dyertribe
Andrew had the best pair of hands I've ever seen and his kicking wasn't half bad either - got unfairly maligned because of his well documented attitude and demeanour, but yeah... both Jarmans at their peak would be very very very hard to split.
I have to agree with dyertribe on this one. I have oonly seen him a few times and have since watched a lot of videos of hi playing. He had by far the best handball I have ever seen.

Who could forget that game when the Jarman brothers MURDERED Fitzroy. Both played in the forward line and both kicked BIG bag of goals:D

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
He had by far the best handball I have ever seen.

The old Crow throw. I've got a few state of origin games on tape where he absolutely tore the Vics apart. Seeing him in the EJ Whittens Legends Match and Slowdown, he's still got all the great skills as well, even if he has put on the pounds.

He's being interviewed on 5AA at the moment and is sounding very impressive.

Says he loves to teach players the art of football and that too many players now days can't play both sides of the bodies, he wants to go back to basics and teach them how to kick and handball both sides etc Wants a disciplined running style of play and the team to be more physical etc

Only my opinion, but A. Jarman was as good as his brother.
Hard to line them up because one went on to win a number of premierships, but that sometimes is just lick of the draw, no matter how good or bad you are.
IMO he could make a very very good coach.
Just depends on his attitude for it, because he wouldn't lack anything wrt the football side of things.
I'd love to have him at Port if his attitude was right.

Originally posted by PAfolwr
Only my opinion, but A. Jarman was as good as his brother.
Hard to line them up because one went on to win a number of premierships, but that sometimes is just lick of the draw, no matter how good or bad you are.
IMO he could make a very very good coach.
Just depends on his attitude for it, because he wouldn't lack anything wrt the football side of things.
I'd love to have him at Port if his attitude was right.
I listened to his interview on 5AA today and I tell you he sounded VERY impressive. It appears that he is no longer the showman, the larrican that he was as a player. Spoke very well and has some great ideas by the sounds of it. I reckon he would make a very good coach.

Quite correct about Andrew's use of handball - he was a freak, and I've never seen better. I saw all of his career, and he was even better than Diesel Williams, who the Vics would like to tell you had the best pair of hands of all time.

Andrew was a very good short passer of the ball as well. Kicking was the area in which Darren excelled, regarded by most judges as the best kick in the AFL. Darren also had more length on the kick than Andrew.

Both had exquisite ball handling skills.

Wouldn't you love to have both of these starting their careers as late teenagers with the Crows next year.

Originally posted by macca23
Wouldn't you love to have both of these starting their careers as late teenagers with the Crows next year.
Would I ever.

Darren was the best kick I have seen. Whether its in a field play or a set shot he was a freak. Andrew's hands were gold. We say how good macca's handball is but its amateurish compared to AJ's

How many goals did they kick against Fitzroy that game. Was it Darren 7 and Andrew 6??????

That was THE best display by 2 brothers in one game I have ever seen. They were competing against each other who could kick more goals.:D

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
How many goals did they kick against Fitzroy that game. Was it Darren 7 and Andrew 6??????

Darren 8, Andrew 6 and they gave about 5 off between them. They deadset ****ed with Fitzroy that day :D

Thanks mate:)

That was round 2 in 96??????

That was as good a display by 2 brothers in one game as you are ever likely to come across.

You are right they made Fitzroy looks silly. If Memory serves me correct 2 of them kicked a higher score than whole Fitzroy team together.:)

Off the topic of Andrew for a moment; Anyone remember Darren Jarman's goal metres from the centre circle at footy park for North Adelaide in about 1989 or thereabouts? It was a mammoth kick, and would have gone nearly 90-100m!!! :eek:

Originally posted by CrowBoi
Off the topic of Andrew for a moment; Anyone remember Darren Jarman's goal metres from the centre circle at footy park for North Adelaide in about 1989 or thereabouts? It was a mammoth kick, and would have gone nearly 90-100m!!! :eek:

Which one???:D There was a few of his that travelled 50+ metres. You came to expect it after a while.

I actually ended up seeing every game Andrew and Darren played for North and both were incredibly talented. Andrew had the best hands and Darren the best feet (as mentioned). Although I think the best season that either played was Darren in 1990. Words can't describe how good he was that year. Also IMO Darren was a better "all round footballer" and could play in more positions - on the ball, half back, centre, full forward.

Andrew Jarman (as a player) lacked discipline, hated towing the line, wasn't a great trainer, often spoke his mind and was often at odds with the club.

I reckon he'll be a great coach. Why? The last bloke to display the above qualities and then coach was Malcolm Blight.

Andrew Jarman

Write your reply...