rickyp

Just getting back into basketball after a few years off, not taking anything too seriously but in our first game back it felt like I was playing with socks on. My runners are about 6 months old, but I wear them a fair bit and they're worn down accordingly.

What I'm interested in, is what basketball shoes should I be looking for, and where should I buy them? I'm not worried about support or style, just grip.

Any help would be much appreciated
Thank-you

I get mine from the Adidas store on Bourke Street, but I'm an adidas loyalist after having my feet torn up by LeBrons Nikes.

Kickz 101 in the city is a ball store but they overcharge.

Fast Break in Preston specialised in And1 kicks and they can be good on price. If you're just looking for casual kicks, goto Fast Break. But If proce isn't an issure goto Adidas, Nike, Reebok, foot locker or Kickz101

I had LeBron soldiers which weren't great grip wise, but now I have KD1's which I find to be much better in that regard. Got them off eBay, but apparently you can get them in LebLocker.. err, sorry FootLocker.

Thanks for the help, gonna go to Rebel/Sportsmart now and see what I can find, then I'll head off to one of to most likely foot locker to buy, ill post here when I find something

just pick ones that are confortable. dont go for one just cause some bballer wears them, or cause your mate wear them. i cant stand ppl who buy shoes just to be "cool".

i dont have any bball shoes anymore as i dont play.

my runners are new balance. why? cause they're comfy and suit my foot

i got a pair of Nike KD1's and they have been very good. Only $140 compared to some of the others well over 200. Heaps better grip than the hyper dunks I have and they look pretty good I reckon.

Adidas TS Lightning Creator are what I have right now. They have comfort, support, grip and style. Might be a bit pricey for some - I paid $219.95 for them at Foot Locker in Adelaide about a month ago - but they're definitely worth it. Adidas consistently make the best basketball shoes IMO. I switched to them about 5 years ago (after being a long-time Nike loyalist), and haven't looked back since :thumbsu:

I'm with Damon, though I'm wearing the TS Commanders, because they give more ankle support.

It really is a personal preference.

Try not to buy for looks, I've done that and after 12 games of bleeding feet you regret it.

I'm with Damon, though I'm wearing the TS Commanders, because they give more ankle support.

It really is a personal preference.

Try not to buy for looks, I've done that and after 12 games of bleeding feet you regret it.
They are the ones KG wears I think. What colourway do you have?

Yeah they are a nice pair for sure. I was very close to picking up a pair of those I saw as they were on sale, but it was just after I'd ordered the KD1's.

What put me off in the end is that plasticy see-thru stuff on the heel was coming off on the demo shoe... has that happened to yours?

Where do I get J.J. Redick shoes?
bzmlx.jpg

Yeah they are a nice pair for sure. I was very close to picking up a pair of those I saw as they were on sale, but it was just after I'd ordered the KD1's.

What put me off in the end is that plasticy see-thru stuff on the heel was coming off on the demo shoe... has that happened to yours?
Nah their in tact and haven't showed any signs of coming off.

I give them a fair working too.

I'd be all for some Redick shoes.

My neighbour knows the dean of Duke (god knows how, he's a kiwi) so I'll see if he can hook me up.

I'd love to go to a game at Cameron, imagine a Duke NC game. Woooo, crazy time.

One thing I'd recommend for anyone who plays ball and is about 17 or younger.

Go play for a US college, you can get a spot in a divy 3 team easy and if you ok a divy 2.

Would be such an experience.

Eventually bought some And1's, can't remember the model name, but they're pretty comfortable and have good grip, all I was after really.

Thanks for the help everyone

Nah their in tact and haven't showed any signs of coming off.

I give them a fair working too.

I'd be all for some Redick shoes.

My neighbour knows the dean of Duke (god knows how, he's a kiwi) so I'll see if he can hook me up.

I'd love to go to a game at Cameron, imagine a Duke NC game. Woooo, crazy time.

One thing I'd recommend for anyone who plays ball and is about 17 or younger.

Go play for a US college, you can get a spot in a divy 3 team easy and if you ok a divy 2.

Would be such an experience.
Haha, if you ever got some Redick shoes I'd pay lots of money for them.

Signed Redicks would add to my swagger on court. Not that i'd wear them, just frame them.

Nothing like hitting consecutive 3's from 1/4 court then skipping back with the arm still up haha.