Votes: 5 5.0%
  • New South Wales.

Votes: 16 16.0%

Re: Re: Re: Beer Poll

Originally posted by Port01
Haven't you picked up the point that many crap beers sell very well?

I hazard a guess that the highest selling beer brand in each state is probably a terrible beer. Appealing to the lowest common denominator with a standard and cheaply produced drop does not a good beer make (and also explains why most yank beers are terrible).

West End sells more than Coopers, but I know which I'd back in as the better beer.

Price, availability and drinkable blandness is what sells CUB products.

Of course people looking to buy/share a slab would rather pay $32 for slabs of VB than pay $55-75 for slabs of boutique or imported beer. Especially if the aim is to drink 15-20 cans each and get pretty poo-faced.

Also, the general consensus that CUB products are passable but not special is what makes them almost universally drinkable.

Many more expensive beers have a love/hate popularity due to preference... if you get ten different people's opinions as to "what beer should we buy for this piss up?", you could well get ten different opinions... stout, wheat beer, British-style ale, pilsener, Belgian abbey beer, bitter, lager, ice beer, and then all the different brands and tastes within.

"Ah f*ck it, let's just get a couple of slabs of VB"

Ok, hands up: Who voted for Tassie?

The BEST beer = Boags Strongarm!!

Worst beer = I admit I havn't tried ALL the aussie beers BUT VB and XXXX are joint winners IMO!!

OH, and Bud also gets an honourable "sh*t" award!! ;)

There was one beer that Cascade made and it was made with FRESHLY picked Hops. it was used basically as soon as it was picked! They only made about 2500 cartons and they sold for about 100 bucks each. It was said to be one of the nicest beer. Unfortunatelly, they sold them all within hours of announcing they had made them! I never had a change to buy one! :(

Originally posted by CJ

There was one beer that Cascade made and it was made with FRESHLY picked Hops. it was used basically as soon as it was picked! They only made about 2500 cartons and they sold for about 100 bucks each. It was said to be one of the nicest beer. Unfortunatelly, they sold them all within hours of announcing they had made them! I never had a change to buy one! :(

Cheer up CJ. It's called First Harvest and I believe it's back on the market. Yes, it's expensive, but it's worth it!

Originally posted by Bee
Cheer up CJ. It's called First Harvest and I believe it's back on the market. Yes, it's expensive, but it's worth it!

Bee, did you try it? IF so, what was it like?

I have to keep an eye out for it next time i'm at the 9/11

Originally posted by Majjie
XXXX from Queensland is the worst beer of all time

Majjie - agreed XXX is a poor brew and I still haven't figured out how they got the cat to sit on the bottle for so long??!!!

For all time worst beer I can only assume you haven't tasted Pacific Lager (from New Guinea). Speaking from experience I can gurantee 1 sip of that rancid liquid - will see you crapping thru the eye of a needle for an entire week.

Doubt very much that Barney or Homer could keep that one down.

Originally posted by Lidge
For all time worst beer I can only assume you haven't tasted Pacific Lager (from New Guinea). Speaking from experience I can gurantee 1 sip of that rancid liquid - will see you crapping thru the eye of a needle for an entire week.

Doubt very much that Barney or Homer could keep that one down.

I'm game. Is it available anywhere locally?

Originally posted by CJ
Bee, did you try it? IF so, what was it like?

I have to keep an eye out for it next time i'm at the 9/11

It's superb. IMO better than Premium, or any other I've tasted. And believe me, I've tasted a lot of beer!:D But I reckon you'd have to have it for special occasions at that price.

BTW CJ, one of the little things I've learnt about beer drinking in Tassie is, when up the north of the state and they offer me a 'Jimmy', I now know what the hell they are talking about!

VB is swill but is superior to Tooheys. Tooheys is godawful crap but is better than XXXX. Based on the respnses here I should not go near Swan.

Not sure about the fuss on Coopers, I've had one in my life and I got food poisoning, although that may've been from the oysters. Either way I'm not going near it again.

Beer.. ugh. Tastes like cats ****. If I have to drink something it's definately a spirit, or the like.

But I don't drink (much) anymore so it's all over red roooooover.

Can someone tell me if it is Coopers that has the sludge or whatever it's called at the bottom? I remember being put off by this and almost throwing up at this stuff.

Is this something new I have to know about beer that is not commercially made or just something different?

I know you have to shake it etc but I guess I am just asking if there is different ways beer is presented.

I haven't been bothered to read the whole thread. Sorry. I would like to know more to be less squirmish about it all. Actually my favourite at the mo is Cascade. Love that Tassie lifestyle. Ok onya go. I ramble too much. :)

In all honesty, why in heck is "p.iss" seen as a word which has to be censored?

I laugh at that - really.

Originally posted by Katthawk
Can someone tell me if it is Coopers that has the sludge or whatever it's called at the bottom? I remember being put off by this and almost throwing up at this stuff.

Is this something new I have to know about beer that is not commercially made or just something different?

I know you have to shake it etc but I guess I am just asking if there is different ways beer is presented.

I haven't been bothered to read the whole thread. Sorry. I would like to know more to be less squirmish about it all. Actually my favourite at the mo is Cascade. Love that Tassie lifestyle. Ok onya go. I ramble too much. :)

Katthawk, Cooper's Ales are bottle conditioned beers which means that when bottled, live yeast is added to bring the beer into condition. These beers actually improve with age. Try a one year old Sparkling ale compared to a fresh one to gauge the difference.
For those in Adelaide, get yer arses to GRUMPYS BREWHAUS just outside of Hahndorf and try an excellent microbrewed beer (IMO).

DT

and my opinion is that Queensland has the worst commercial beers going bar none!

Queensland have the worst - XXXX must be the worst brand of beer ever to grace these lands.

James Squires is the best beer I've tasted (I'm pretty sure it Tassie). James Boags is also a fantastic drop.

Originally posted by Black Thunder
James Squires is the best beer I've tasted (I'm pretty sure it Tassie). James Boags is also a fantastic drop.

James Squires is from Sydney - made by Chuck Hahn.

The Most Popular Australian Beer and has been for a Long Time is The one that is consumed the most obviously. And that Beer is VB.
Not because it's the cheapest either. Usually dearer than anything else.

Worst beer in aust is close, either XXXX or geelong bitter, both complete ****. Best aussie beer too hard to call but coop's, mountain goat, dogbolter, heaps of others esp the microbrew joints few and far between but when you find one they are great beers.

I could discuss beers all day.

Wrote this on another thread.

My TOP 10.

1. VB in the Can or Stubbie. Doesn't quite taste as nice out of the Keg with out the preservitives in it like the cans and studdies have got in them.
2. Carlton Black- New Beer on tap. Hardly been advertised but is Farkin great. Pretty much in between a draught and a stout. Goes down so nice.
3. Carton Draught on Tap is the best tap beer in Australia. See sales figures.
4. Guiness. mmmmmm
5.Tasman Bitter. Cheap but not nasty. Refreshing taste brewed in Tassy and only sold at Licker land.
6. Melbourne Bitter. When you want throw'em down
7. When drinking light you can not go past Cascade premium Light.
8. Carlton Draught in the can Or Stubbie.
9. Toburg- Dannish Beer. Hard to find. Havent' had it for years.
10. Any Homebrew with Two cans of syrup and 2 kilo's of sugar.
Just to knock you of a feet. Taste sometimes comes in third against 1st Strength and second Strength.

Would love to hear what others think of the new Carlton Black.
I reckon it's the best new beer I've ever tasted.mmmmmmmmmmmm