bowden stay out

somewhere in the jungle something is lurking ready
tigers
any return by this bloke this week will say to everyone at the club "look darling it is ok to go and have a run around we really think yo should come back", this bloke should stay down to earn his stripes with 2 or three weeks of domination in the twos and nothing else, personally i want to trade this bloke and believe we are mediocre because of his likes.

i say keep in roach and d o not play bowden

I'd be shocked if he got a call-back this week especially with Staff and Cho pending returns.

She should stay at Coburg for a few more weeks.

Why change a winning combination. Bowden breeds medicrity with his limp efforts. Weakest player in the AFL constantly ducking and covering his head with his hands in pack situations.

STAY OUT!!!

Well coburg have a bye next week so that will make selection very very intersting. I can see a big training week happening for players to push.

Rodan and fletcher are definate outs

And pettifer has to have a go he has been dominant for 4 weeks in the VFL give him a go and leave him FP all game

Coach Required:

"Look, if you came to me after the match on friday the bloke has had 1 week in the magoos and has served his penance, with Rory's poor form on the weekend, it is clear to me and everyone invloved with the RFC that bowden will return replacing rory, we dont need hard hitting show ponies at our club"

END OF STATEMENT

Originally posted by Coach Required
Coach Required:

"Look, if you came to me after the match on friday the bloke has had 1 week in the magoos and has served his penance, with Rory's poor form on the weekend, it is clear to me and everyone invloved with the RFC that bowden will return replacing rory, we dont need hard hitting show ponies at our club"

END OF STATEMENT

Coach, looks like my new fitness regime worked a treat. The swim back from tassie was just what the boys needed. We added some extra weight on the back of Bowden but he still made it.

Can I take the credit for the win this week???

Keep Rory in ,Leave JB out , my reason is simple stats show one thing ,looking at the game he didn't do too much..
Needs to show that he wants to play in the 1s ....Pettifer & Zantuck showed me that they want it ,Joel did not...:) :p

Just want to add that there was a bit of deja vu watching Bowden on the weekend. He reminded me of Daffy when he was in his last year or two with us.

Daffy'd play a game in the magoos expecting to be put straight back into the seniors the week after. I had the feeling watching Joel that he went about doing enough to show he was a better player than the rest of the VFL, but in a way that suggested he was only there for a week so no-one should get used to him being there.

Not to suggest that Bowden is as bad as Daffy was, but similar attitudes maybe.

Originally posted by Otto's ladder
Daffy was a gun well worth his $400k odd a game for his last 4 or so seasons. We should consider doing the same with Joel and give him $500k a year until 2015 before someone else poaches him.

Or we could just let him go.

LOL dont mock the club because someone down at Punt Road may just read this and actually think its a good idea!

:D

yeah this is utter crap - what the hell is he doing in the team - seriously do they have any idea how to treat a player who is underperforming! shouldnt even be an emergency IMO until he shows that he wants it

I'm wondering who'll they'll drop for the princess to come back in. Hyde? Fleming?

This club has #%#%@ for brains!

Stupid ****ing Imbeciles.

F-R-A-W-L-E-Y trying to keep his job - lol.

WAKE UP RICHMOND.

oh yeah - the coaching staff only pay attention to possesions so he had a blinder! seriously 20 lazy possessions in the 2's and he is back in, he should be picking up 35+ and kicking at least 3 goals at that level. what a joke if he is back in. Send a message to the players that underperforming wont be tollerated and if someone underperformes for weeks on end you dont just send them to purgatory for a week!

I think we should settle down and wait and see if Joel ends up being included in the final 22 before we go off our Roccas.

Joel definetly has some defficiences but I think some of the abuse he is receiving is going over the top.

the very fact he is named send wrong messages!

we are saying it is ok for pretty boy footballlers to go out have a tap on the hand and come back in without earning their stripes!!!!

weak tigers!!!! i have to admit i hate bowden....but i also hate our thinking

To each and all of the "Bowden Haters" on this thread (and to think there is actually folks who hate one of our players and still call themselves Tiger supporters simply beggars belief!)...

... If you do indeed believe Bowden is as bad a player as you constantly claim, and if indeed you believe, as has been multi-posted by these same people over the last few weeks, that the best thing that could happen at Tigerland is finishing in the cellar, and consequently getting a couple of very early draft picks, then by logical progression youshould be totally ecstatic about his inclusion ?!?

Do you even know what you actually want anymore ??

Did any of you guys watch Coburg play on the weekend ? I know for one I did.

You already mention stats aren't reflective of a players performance yet how many of you saw the game live ?

Little things matter, he chased hard and he used the ball well, when in the forward line he took front spot. He didn't sulk nor stick his head in the air. I get sick of the bowden baggers when the guy averages over 20+ posessions a game. Regardless of his two or three clangers per game which come from trying to do to much with the ball rather than lack of skill, did his replacement in the side step up and get any quality possesions ? Rodan had how many touches ? Everyone loved Hydes game , how many clangers did he make playing the same role Joel Does? How many shirt fronts ?

Bowden used to be a hard at it player, hes since had two shoulder reconstructions and that tends to change a players style. Not everyone is an in an under player or savage at the footy. Tony Jewell still believes that Joel could be in the top echelon of afl footballers, Ill trust TJ anyday.

Any of you fellows who have played or coached at a reasonably high senior level tell me , does any player go out on that field to deliberately play badly ? Do players make mistakes deliberately ? Get off his back , you want him to throw his body on the line and bleed for the supporters, give him something to do it for instead of bronx cheers and boos cheer his good efforts and perhaps hell push it that little bit harder next time.

Originally posted by HighFlyer

You already mention stats aren't reflective of a players performance yet how many of you saw the game live ?

Little things matter, he chased hard and he used the ball well, when in the forward line he took front spot. He didn't sulk nor stick his head in the air. I get sick of the bowden baggers when the guy averages over 20+ posessions a game. Regardless of his two or three clangers per game which come from trying to do to much with the ball rather than lack of skill, did his replacement in the side step up and get any quality possesions ? Rodan had how many touches ? Everyone loved Hydes game , how many clangers did he make playing the same role Joel Does? How many shirt fronts ?

Bowden used to be a hard at it player, hes since had two shoulder reconstructions and that tends to change a players style. Not everyone is an in an under player or savage at the footy. Tony Jewell still believes that Joel could be in the top echelon of afl footballers, Ill trust TJ anyday.

Any of you fellows who have played or coached at a reasonably high senior level tell me , does any player go out on that field to deliberately play badly ? Do players make mistakes deliberately ? Get off his back , you want him to throw his body on the line and bleed for the supporters, give him something to do it for instead of bronx cheers and boos cheer his good efforts and perhaps hell push it that little bit harder next time.

A very brave post on this board, highflyer. I wish you luck mate ...

And for what it's worth, I agree with just about all of it.

Well good for Joel if he did all that Highflyer - be nice if he did it two weeks in a row in the 2s to prove he can play like that consistently.

He doesn't deserve a senior promotion.

you want him to throw his body on the line and bleed for the supporters, give him something to do it for instead of bronx cheers and boos cheer his good efforts and perhaps hell push it that little bit harder next time.

I'll come down and mother him and tuck him into bed at night time if that will get him going!

Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
To each and all of the "Bowden Haters" on this thread (and to think there is actually folks who hate one of our players and still call themselves Tiger supporters simply beggars belief!)...

What a freekin lamer statement....
To assume that someone is not a true supporter because they have a better football eye than you, just shows 'Ghost' that you have more in common with Frawley than you think. You both couldn't see talent if it came up and bit you on your roger.

Bowden's talent lies in....
1/ Not giving the ball off to the best options
2/ Not giving the ball off to the 1st option
3/ Half-hearted efforts
4/ Switching the ball at the wrong time, to the wrong direction
5/ Hitting opposition players on the chest with pin-point accuracy
6/ Chasing when he feels like it
7/ Tackling when he feels like it
8/ Tackling with one arm outstretched
9/ Holding on to the ball too long
10/ Not honouring calls for the ball
11/ Not manning up
12/ Blasting away
ETC, ETC.....

It's not a matter of hating Bowden, take out the sentiment......look at it clinically.......Bowden is a shocker

And if you 'Ghost' think supporting cr#p like that is conpulsory if you barrack for Richmond, then don't call me a supporter...
No one said cause a dude pulls on a Tiger jumper that he is infallible....
Bowden's a plodding piece of rubbish who even confuses his own team...
Just like your Ra-Ra-Ra blind stupid support for Bowden.....
You'll soon be the last one on the sinking S.S.Bowden.....

Get out of your ivory tower 'Ghost' and get down to the fence and watch your beloved Bowden in action some time....
Then maybe you'll see the light...

Originally posted by HighFlyer

Hey HighFlyer, you list your location as Brisbane. Did you fly down specially to watch Coburg?;)

You made some good points but Joel's form hasn't been that great lately. He doesn't seem to try as hard as the other players and he hasn't been consistent.

There's no doubt that he is talented, it's just that he doesn't seem to be playing to his full potential. Compare him with someone like Fleming who has far less talent but puts in far more effort.

Maybe he needs another week in the 2's to regain the hunger he seems to have lost.