BrisVegas

• Thread starter Thread starter -PC28-

When I first was up there I asked the same question!

Apparently, when they got their Casino, they got the name. They thought they were it with their little Treasury Casino.

If you actually go to it you will laugh your head off - especially if you are from Melbourne. It is totally lame - probably worse than Adelaide's - and thats saying something!

The name makes you chringe - especially when you speak to most locals and Gold Coasters who will tell you that city is one of the most boring places around! It is such a nothing city - nothing to do, crap nightlife - just has good weather!

Las Vegas it aint!

Originally posted by Smokin
The name makes you chringe - especially when you speak to most locals and Gold Coasters who will tell you that city is one of the most boring places around! It is such a nothing city - nothing to do, crap nightlife - just has good weather!

Wow you've got some serious issues.

Lived in a share house in the Gabba in 96 and 97... it was all very much like the John Birmingham book with many folk who dropped by saying they knew this person or that place or that era in Brisbane when goths would wear heavy black outfits and makeup during tropical summers...

it was the first time i had to been to parties where most of the action took place underneath the house...where there were DJ's instead of esky's and the stereo on 5 CD shuffle. Where the chicks would hang out for those winter nights where the mecury would dip below 20 degrees so they had the excuse to wear that fluffy, pre-loved retro "hookers" jackets...

IT was all just very...well...Bris Vegas.

Not that it will surprise anyone, but I reckon Brisbane is on par with the black hole of Calcutta. And I'm leaving in six weeks!

Yeeeeeeehah!

Originally posted by -PC28-
I've heard it a lot lately, and it's in someone's location (Free Speach maybe??)

What the hell is BrisVegas?
hahahaha LOL
BrisVegas is our wonderfull city of Brisbane! We call It BrisVegas becuase it's a bit like Las Vegas!

Cheers!;)
Adam

Originally posted by S.J Rollin
Lived in a share house in the Gabba in 96 and 97... it was all very much like the John Birmingham book with many folk who dropped by saying they knew this person or that place or that era in Brisbane

IT was all just very...well...Bris Vegas.
That book, 'he died with a falaffel in his hand' is an awesome novel. I recommend it too anyone whom has experianced share accomadation.

It is just a matter of fact that John Birmingham's father is a fitter and turner at Rischlands and resides in Ipswich(south-west brisbane). I did my apprenticeship with a firm called 'Crown Engineering' which is the firm that John Birmingham's father works still this very day!!!

Cheers!;)
Adam

Re: Re: BrisVegas

Originally posted by FreeSpeech
hahahaha LOL
BrisVegas is our wonderfull city of Brisbane! We call It BrisVegas becuase it's a bit like Las Vegas!

FreeSpeech,

I've only been to Brisbane once on a holiday a few years ago, so things probably have changed heaps since then, but what makes Brisbane like Las Vegas??

Cheers!! :cool:
SeinDude

Re: Re: Re: BrisVegas

Originally posted by SeinDude

FreeSpeech,

I've only been to Brisbane once on a holiday a few years ago, so things probably have changed heaps since then, but what makes Brisbane like Las Vegas??

Cheers!! :cool:
SeinDude
LOL, I'm just stirring up the Brisbane knockers! they have no idea!

Besides... the city you live in has nothing to do with how much fun you can have and how bored you get.
Life is what you make of it!
Of all people, you should know that!:confused:

Cheers!;)
Adam