Carlton's Bought Premierships

• Thread starter Thread starter kolchak

Carlton supporters think they were the 2nd best team of the 80s...

:rolleyes:

Carlton Players bought...(excuse the spelling)

Kernahan, Motley, Hunter, Pasasto, Fitspatrick, Doretich, Bradley, English and they tried to buy Platten. Hang on Dean was another. If I keeping thinking about this I reckon I could come up with 18. That's pretty much Carlton's best players.

Fact is Carlton buy and cheat there way to premierships, and they are doing it again with Judd.

Essendon and Hawthorn were clearly the best two teams in the 80s by a mile, okay Essendon didn't win enough games they needed to to make the GFs in the early 80s but Carlton didn't beat them, and Hawthorn and Essendon didn't buy and cheat there way to grand finals.

Carlton you are now feeling the karma of so much wrong doing in your tainted history, BTW your list now still sux.

PASASTO? Who the hell is pasasto, sounds like an italian biscuit !!!

You CLOWN,

Kernahan, Motley, Hunter, Pasasto, Fitspatrick, Doretich, Bradley, English and they tried to buy Platten. Hang on Dean was another. If I keeping thinking about this I reckon I could come up with 18. That's pretty much Carlton's best players.

Fact is Carlton buy and cheat there way to premierships, and they are doing it again with Judd.

Essendon and Hawthorn were clearly the best two teams in the 80s by a mile, okay Essendon didn't win enough games they needed to to make the GFs in the early 80s but Carlton didn't beat them, and Hawthorn and Essendon didn't buy and cheat there way to grand finals.

Carlton you are now feeling the karma of so much wrong doing in your tainted history, BTW your list now still sux.

Agree - you should really start some form of action to get those premierships back......good luck!!!!

GO THE BLUES

Ok, they bought players in the 80s.... And??? They weren't allowed to? Fill me in here.

No different to the squarks buying the likes of Platten from the SANFL either.
You have selective memory Kolchak.

BTW I couldn't care less if Tassie were the team of the 80's, Carlton still have won 7 more premierships that that inbred lot ..

You guys seem to have stupid/selective memory. As far as I recall, there was no salary cap back in the 60's anyway, so I hardly see how we chated getting Barassi from Melbourne either.

Also last time I checked, Carlton won 3 flags in the 80's 81/82 and 87, and the Bombers only 2 (84/85) so how does that make them a better team then Carlton in the 80's Kolchak ?
Hmm I always knew people from Tassie couldn't do proper maths, but this is ridiculous :)

No different to the squarks buying the likes of Platten from the SANFL either.
You have selective memory Kolchak.

BTW I couldn't care less if Tassie were the team of the 80's, Carlton still have won 7 more premierships that that inbred lot ..

You guys seem to have stupid/selective memory. As far as I recall, there was no salary cap back in the 60's anyway, so I hardly see how we chated getting Barassi from Melbourne either.

Also last time I checked, Carlton won 3 flags in the 80's 81/82 and 87, and the Bombers only 2 (84/85) so how does that make them a better team then Carlton in the 80's Kolchak ?
Hmm I always knew people from Tassie couldn't do proper maths, but this is ridiculous :)
Look! the flog is back..

Welcome back.

Told you to mind the spelling, if you can't work it out you obviously haven't been around too long.

Pasasto is not even close !!!! the Buzz, would've been easy enough for you ....If u watched footy pre 2000

Given you are probably all o 15 years old and have no knowledge of VFL/AFL history i'll go easy on you to an extent.

For starters i'm pretty sure Des English and Peter Dean came from Carlton's country Victorian recruiting zone....clearly a case of cheating!

The interstate players you mention (Kernahan, Bradley, etc) were legally and fairly recruited to Carlton under the transfer rules of the day. Every other club in the VFL had a chance to get them, Carlton were just better organised and financially stronger, hence we got their signature.

It's funny you mention John Platten, yes Carlton tried to recruit him (heck he was the best rover in Australia at the time) but he said no and went Hawthorn instead in the same manner Carlton recruited their SA/WA players.

Prior to 1986 there was no salary cap and no national draft. Therefore to be able to recruit players from interstate you needed to arrange a transfer with their home club. If you identified talent early, as Carlton did with Kernahan at age 16, then you stood a good chance of getting your player.

Going by your logic the recruitment of the likes of Platten result in Hawthorn's 1980's and 1991 flag being tainted and Essendon's 1984/85 flag being tainted because they also got the likes of Van dar Haar and Leon Baker from interstate!

As for Judd, you do realise this was a trade? No different to you blokes trading for Croad, Hodge etc.

Please come back and post again when you actually have some idea of what you are talking about.

John Platten, Ben Allan, Darren Jarman, & who could forget that superstar STEVE MALAXOS!! They were all lured to Hawthorn the same way, as that was the system back then with no salary cap or draft. & im pretty sure Peter Dean & des English were from country Vic, so waht drugs are you on assclown!!??:)

You can throw Tony Hall in there too.

And we may have only been the 2nd most successful club of the 80s but we're still the equal most successful club of all time.

Now off ya shoot Kolchak.

It's the sheer amount of players they bought, I named probably your best starting 8 players in that lot.

Well then, my question still stands:

And???

There were no rules against that sort of thing in the 80s so what you're whinging about is beyond me.

Are you into any sports other than Aussie Rules? Cause the good clubs still buy players, lots of them. I just hope you dont follow any of those clubs cause it may prove to be a conflict of interest.

Pasasto? Not even bloody close. If you are going to troll at least know what the hell you are talking about!

Pasasto! LMFAO! :rolleyes:

Hmmm.... Jason Dunstall, John Platten, Darren Jarman, Tony Hall, Gary Buckenara, Chris Mew, Darren Pritchard, Ken Judge, Anthony Condon, Rod Lester-Smith, Steve Malaxos ring a bell:rolleyes:
Just to name a few off the top of my head:p

Hmmm.... Jason Dunstall, John Platten, Darren Jarman, Tony Hall, Gary Buckenara, Chris Mew, Darren Pritchard, Ken Judge, Anthony Condon, Rod Lester-Smith, Steve Malaxos ring a bell:rolleyes:
Just to name a few off the top of my head:p

Seems like game, set and match to me. Well played blueheart.