Carlton's forwardline

BedlamHawk

Would you consider this the strength of the Carlton Footy Club. If so would you say that is has underachieved. Surely a forwardline of Fevola, Fisher,Waite, Kennedy, Betts and Whitnall can cause more trouble to any backline compared to somethin like Brisbane's forward line of Bradshaw, Brennan, McGrath and Sherman (*Brown was injured all year).
Yet Brisbane still managed to win more games.
Look at the strengths and weaknesses,
Fevola: Can get distracted and frustrated if things dont go his way
Fisher: Great mark but can get outbustled by bigger opponents and could improve kicking
Waite: Needs some consistency in his kicking and his ability to have influence on game
Kennedy: Limited game time, time will tell how good he can become
Betts: goes missing too often in games but has ability to quick some flashy goals
Whitnall: although plays in backline mostly can become focal point, although lacks pace

What are the thoughts on this? This forward line is class and I can't see why Carlton shouldn't be able to kick a winning score, perhaps a better forward line coach?

Let me sum some things up for you...

Whitnall been playing 95% CHB.
Waite & Fisher, injury interupted season.
Kennedy first year player.. surgery on his shoulders, limited pre-season.
Fevola, coleman medallist in the wooden spoon side... distracted????
Betts, goal of the year, improving nicely...

As a Hawthorn poster, is this an attempt to try to annoy us more after the Thornton affair?

BudddddyLove said:
Would you consider this the strength of the Carlton Footy Club. If so would you say that is has underachieved. Surely a forwardline of Fevola, Fisher,Waite, Kennedy, Betts and Whitnall can cause more trouble to any backline compared to somethin like Brisbane's forward line of Bradshaw, Brennan, McGrath and Sherman (*Brown was injured all year).
Fisher: Great mark but can get outbustled by bigger opponents and could improve kicking
Waite: Needs some consistency in his kicking and his ability to have influence on game
Betts: goes missing too often in games but has ability to quick some flashy goals
Whitnall: although plays in backline mostly can become focal point, although lacks pace

What are the thoughts on this? This forward line is class and I can't see why Carlton shouldn't be able to kick a winning score, perhaps a better forward line coach?

Was a thread bagging our backline to obvious..........those sour grapes really bite don't they..........(sighs)
Interesting that you mention Brown missing most of the season (played 10 games), yet fail to give the same lee-way to Fisher and Waite (13 games each, both missing with injury).
Kennedy was a first year KPP who had a limited pre-season with shoulder surgery, and I honestly can't remeber the last time I saw a first year KPP do anything. Barring injury he will be a star.

Fev dominated more than he had any right to.

Lance played about 3 halves of footy in the forward line, and Betts played almost the enitre season on-ball.

Now get back into the Range Rover, head back to the leafy eastern burbs and forget about CFC - we are sick to death of ill informed, moronic posts from Hawks supporters.

P.S. Suck **** on the Thornton trade, Pelchin is a toss rag. Who do you think will do business with you next year? Apart from the Tassie govt that is.

jj1978 said:
Let me sum some things up for you...

Whitnall been playing 95% CHB.
Waite & Fisher, injury interupted season.
Kennedy first year player.. surgery on his shoulders, limited pre-season.
Fevola, coleman medallist in the wooden spoon side... distracted????
Betts, goal of the year, improving nicely...

As a Hawthorn poster, is this an attempt to try to annoy us more after the Thornton affair?

Na if this was a troll I'd be talking about carlton's backline?
Carlton looks to have a very talented forwardline in the mould and despite ur comments they should be kicking a lot more winning scores. Waite and Fisher played the majority of the season and Betts did indeed go missing to often (he was in my dream-team and only showed flashes). Yes Fevola can get distracted and frustrated as seen against Hawthorn when got dragged and gave away 50m penalty). So, yes I think my points are valid and maybe a quality forwardline coach (someone like Wayne Carey maybe?) might be a good move.

Gday BL good question(s)...
Very fair ones in my view. The quality on paper of the Carlton forward line dictates that they should be scoring more...

This is diminishing in his game and there is no way he is underachieving at the moment, as you guys seen in a half of footy this year. His weakness is still his one on one marking. He is a leading forward not a bustling one.

Fisher: Great mark but can get outbustled by bigger opponents and could improve kicking.
Brad is a great mark, this will sound stupid, but could be the best pound for pound contested mark in the competition. He is however prone to injury and this is because of his small frame. Taking contested marks with that body, something is going to break. Is a little inconsistant and his kicking seems to be getting worse. I think he could go on to be anything if like Loewe and Spalding he can learn to kick with penetration and accuracy, though he does need another 7-10 kilos on his frame.

Waite: Needs some consistency in his kicking and his ability to have influence on game.
Yeah you got this one spot on. Waite lacks consistancy, well he did this year. Has been lambasted for being a terrible kick, but was never fully fit this year and so that may have been a confidence thing. Had a very good 2006 & should have a good futture. I fear it is between him or Fisher however.

This is not fair to do to the kid, but I think this kid will be a star of the competition in 3-4 year. His game on Grant this year showed he really is not afraid to impose himself on the contest and he looked a class above in the reserves. I think Kennedy will play 18+ games if fit this year and should be holding down CHF by the end of the year.
Yeah is likely to stay a backman with only cameo performances up front. He can play CHF in bursts. He has not enough pace but is a very good positioner with his body and reads the flight of the ball very well. I just cannot see him fitting in with all the other talls though.

Inconsistant. Can be brilliant, can be awful. I think he is our Leon Davis. I will be interested to see how he goes, he is a crowd favorite, but I am yet to warm to him...

This forward line at West Coast would be unstoppable in my opinion. The truth is that our midfields really have no idea how to deliver a football. Simmo holds it too long, trying to gain distance through carrying the ball, but misses the 1st lead and often ends up rushing the kick a little as the opposition closes in on him. Stevens gets mile to close to the on-coming player and lifts the ball, giving it too much carry which insures it goes to a contest rather than to a lead. Scotland blazes and so does Walker. Murphy and Blackwell are our best users in my opinion. Carazzo and Bentick are not really worth mentioning.

I think if the middle is fixed then these players are getting the ball directed to their leads. I think Carlton is still to Fevola centric and I hope that Kennedy changes that. Currently I would think Carlton would turn the ball over in their forward 50 at a higher ration to other clubs and this would be uncontested. If Carlton has these players they need to ensure that they can at least get to the contest.

I think Carlton will be 2 ruckman and a couple of Key Backs away form serious contention after the PSD this year.

BudddddyLove said:
Would you consider this the strength of the Carlton Footy Club. If so would you say that is has underachieved.
For argument's sake, I'll pretend that this isn't a post-Thornton troll.

BudddddyLove said:
Surely a forwardline of Fevola, Fisher,Waite, Kennedy, Betts and Whitnall can cause more trouble to any backline compared to somethin like Brisbane's forward line of Bradshaw, Brennan, McGrath and Sherman (*Brown was injured all year).
It doesn't matter how good your forwards are if your midfield can't get the ball in there with accuracy. Opposition clubs make a point of playing spare defenders around Fevola to pick off errant delivery and punish us on the rebound.

As to the individuals:

Fevola: Is great, but often dreadfully out numbered (4:1 on occasions). The side needs to learn not to blindly go to him, but think about their options.
Fisher: Needs more games, body strength and kicking practice for sure. Definitely needs to learn how to pull down someone like Andrew Raines who ran circles around him this year.
Waite: Needs a solid pre-season for once. Everything else will follow.
Kennedy: Also needs a solid pre-season. That punctured lung late in the season stopped what was becoming a very promising debut.
Betts: Yes, he does get lost for long periods, but when he gets amongst it is the most dynamic player in the team. Needs to work on that consistency. Body size may limit his durability.
Whitnall: Is still a great CHF when allowed to play there. As the defence matures he may spend more time as a tall winger.

We have the targets, what we are missing is a onball division that:

a) wins centre-square hit-outs more often than not
b) extracts the ball from the clinches
c) wins clean disposal from the centre square
d) pinpoints targets regularly
e) kicks their own long goals.

That will start to improve with the arrival of the new #4 later this year, but [NEWSFLASH] the ruck is a worry.

BudddddyLove said:

Yes I would. Lots of players that can be rotated through there at any one time. We just need the mids to deliver it in there with more precision so that our forwards have a better chance of taking marks.

Carlton's forward line is way over-rated at this stage. Fevola is a genuine star and a great target, but thats about where it ends at this point. None of the other current forwards have yet proven themselves to be consistent goal-kickers at AFL level.

Of course, Waite and Fisher are both relatively young and have had a tough year with injury. Both may still end up being serviceable forwards. Fisher probably needs to toughen up a bit to provide something other than a clean pair of hands - as a 4th or 5th forward he needs good defensive skills to trap the ball in the area, and to give us the option of rotating him into defence. Waite is still developing, just needs to find a bit of consistency.

Betts is far too inconsistent, is undersized, and doesn't get to the fall of the ball often enough. Countering that is his freakish ability when he does get to the ball, his tackling and intensity, and the fact that he gives us a spark we lack elsewhere; at the very least he's entertaining to watch, which makes him worthwhile in a crappy team. If Pagan can teach him to get in and under packs a bit better, and get some consistency drilled into him he could be very good.

Whitnall was a good forward, and still could be, but he needs a crash and bash type foil nearby to keep opponents honest. There's no doubt that the departure of Hamill (and later the retirement of Hickmott who played a similar role) and Whitnall's decline as a forward are linked. Its just too easy for opposition defenders to jump over the top of him without the protection that those guys offered. If Fisher toughens up a bit he could play that role - I've also suggested Prendergast; otherwise, Whitnall is destined to be a floating defender for the rest of his career, which doesn't help our forward structure.

Kennedy is still just a young prospect, so doesn't really help us now. Overall, that gives us one very good forward, 2 solid contributors who haven't performed, 1 flashy but inconsistent crumbing player, and a CHF who is still 2-3 years from being a player. combine that with a midfield devoid of players who get forward to kick goals, and you can see why we didn't kick too many winning scores.

get the ball inside 50 more than 30 times a game would help!!!!!

If we had the ball inside 50 as much as dogs or west coast with our forward line we would be a chance of kicking some scores which in turn puts the other team under pressure to take risks....really is simple

First of all, Fev gets a bick tick for this year, he was awesome. In the bottom side, with more support and we still need a better midfield delivering the ball, he can easily get better. Not much more to say about him, we know what he can do.

Fisher: Great mark, i can't even count how many times there's a pack and he will leap from the side or be in the middle of the pack and take it. Never going to be a KPP despite his height(192cm). Will always have that kind of build, even if he adds a few kg. His kicking for goal, if it doesn't improve, means we should just push him up the ground more. Have him as a leading flanker, that in turn can then hand ball onto the likes of a running Simpson or Gibbs who can bomb it long into the 50. He will more than likely mark the ball everytime we kick it to him on a lead. Yes he will still kick a few goals, but we can't afford to be kicking the ball to him in the 50 and have him miss, when someone else could mark and kick the goals. If he can get 10 marks a game, leading up the ground, and either kicking long into the 50 or just giving off to running midfielders, i will say he has done his job. Still very athletic, so good on the lead and with good hands.

Waite: Absolute huge potential, but we have been saying that because we say a good season from him (2003,2005) and then he gets injured and the next year he has blasted from fans for not producing (2004,2006). good height, 194cm, and very quick and athletic for his height. Actually does have quite good hands, often marks even with a defender all over him on the lead. And can take some marks over the pack, but i would like to see him do this more often. With his height, and he has a huge leap, he should be doing more of what Fisher does and jumping over the packs. He can be more of a true KPP than Fisher, as he was listed as around 93kg. So for his height, still a lightish athletic frame, but like Fisher he will always have that build. But i wouldn't mind him putting a few kilos on to say 95ish mark or a bit more. Don't want him to lose too much of that athletic ability. Is a way better kick than Fisher. So we can afford to kick to him in the 50 as the other target more than Fisher. Still inconsistent, and amazes me when he misses from 35 directly in front, yet next minute kicks a snap over his head while holding off 3 defenders from the boundary. Has great talent, many people rate him, and he just needs to string more than 1 season together in my opinion. If he gets through 2007 and 2008 without major injury, i think we will really see him start to get to the stage we want him at. He usually bags about 2 a game, i want to see him getting a bit more of the footy, near the 20 touches mark, 10 marks a game, 3 goals etc. BUt i want all of those to be hurting the opposition. Some of the plays he does are really good, even his field kicking. I just really want him to start being that IMPACT player and hurt the opposition. Can be the stand in CHF until Kennedy is ready. Should be moving all over the ground, i want him to really work that fitness up. I want to see him close to goal where he can rip a good mark out, but again like Fisher moving up the ground, because he is a good link player through the middle and up on the wings. When Kennedy is ready, make Waite the third tall, or the utility that can even play on the wings or in the midfield, with his height, pace, athleticism and talent, he will tear teams apart if he can do this. Work on goal kicking and fitness over the summer. Good signs ahead.

Kennedy: Some people have been saying he is 198cm. I don't want him getting to tall, i would prefer him around the 195 mark. But does anyone have proof of this or are people just saying hes growing for the sake of it. Not the most mobile of blokes but we have forwards in Waite and fish like that anyways. Him and Fev should be the main talls INSIDE the 50. But the must keep out of each other's way, but these two should be the main guys up there, with Waite just dropping in occasionally and Fisher too. I remember seeing Kennedy take like some absolute ripping marks in the VFL this year. I want to see him doing this in the AFL. Unlike Waite, i dont need to have him getting 18-20 possies, if he can get 2 or 3 goals a game, a few really good strong contested marks, i will be happy. Next year is another developing year from him. Expect him to not be the main CHF still, waite will i think, but he will get roles there as the season goes on. Only young, so lets not put to much on him yet, come back in say two years and let's see how hes going. From what i saw, wasn't the best kick for goal, but that could have been nerves, im sure he will get better.

Whitnall: We know what he can do up forward. Not athletic, but makes up for that with his brains, knows where to move. A real leader up forward as well. But let's be realistic, he aint probably really going to be up forward that much next year, so when he goes up there, let's just hope he gets a few.

Betts: Excitement machine, the position he is in is tough, and guys in this position often go missing for some periods of the game. So i can understand that. But its about making the most of the opportunities given. I still want him at the fall of the pack as much as possible. If he kicks one goal a game, good. If he doesn't kick any, but does something really good and magical and it accounts in a goal assist, good. If he kicks more than 1 goal, great. He is still very young guys, and for two years in the game, im very pleased with his efforts. If he can keep improving, we could have a real gun mosquito at our hands.

Now, when Murphy is back in the side, and surely we will take Gibbs in the draft or il run naked through Flinders Street station, we will have two guys with gun skills that are both number 1 picks. Simmo is a great talent, and i can see these three really improving and hitting our forwards on the chest. I want to see Stevens really improve this year, and be delivering the ball better because i know he has great skills. Scotland too. Our midfield is very young, but if we can snare a really good midfielder with pick 17 or 19 with awesome skills, we have some hope. I really see it getting better, and in turn that will improve our forward line. It will also take some pressure off the backline, but i still want to see us sort out our problems down there.

Our forwards should be working a lot on structure over the summer, and where to move as to not get in each others way. Im sure with no injuries to Waite and fisher, and steady development from Kennedy, and our young midfield, Fev will have great support, and we won't be as predictable, bring on 2007 lads.

Looks good on paper but too injury prone/too reliant on Fev/lacking in kicking ability. Waite and Fisher lead up to the wing and can't really do much damage from there. Kennedy gets ignored a lot and his kicking is a bit of a problem.

We need a smaller half forward who can damage teams with good kicking and the ability to turn around quickly after taking a mark. Fisher and Waite seem to take forever to turn around, decide where they're going to kick it and then actually hitting the target.

westbrom said:
Gday BL good question(s)...
Very fair ones in my view. The quality on paper of the Carlton forward line dictates that they should be scoring more...

This is diminishing in his game and there is no way he is underachieving at the moment, as you guys seen in a half of footy this year. His weakness is still his one on one marking. He is a leading forward not a bustling one.

Fisher: Great mark but can get outbustled by bigger opponents and could improve kicking.
Brad is a great mark, this will sound stupid, but could be the best pound for pound contested mark in the competition. He is however prone to injury and this is because of his small frame. Taking contested marks with that body, something is going to break. Is a little inconsistant and his kicking seems to be getting worse. I think he could go on to be anything if like Loewe and Spalding he can learn to kick with penetration and accuracy, though he does need another 7-10 kilos on his frame.

Waite: Needs some consistency in his kicking and his ability to have influence on game.
Yeah you got this one spot on. Waite lacks consistancy, well he did this year. Has been lambasted for being a terrible kick, but was never fully fit this year and so that may have been a confidence thing. Had a very good 2006 & should have a good futture. I fear it is between him or Fisher however.

This is not fair to do to the kid, but I think this kid will be a star of the competition in 3-4 year. His game on Grant this year showed he really is not afraid to impose himself on the contest and he looked a class above in the reserves. I think Kennedy will play 18+ games if fit this year and should be holding down CHF by the end of the year.
Yeah is likely to stay a backman with only cameo performances up front. He can play CHF in bursts. He has not enough pace but is a very good positioner with his body and reads the flight of the ball very well. I just cannot see him fitting in with all the other talls though.

Inconsistant. Can be brilliant, can be awful. I think he is our Leon Davis. I will be interested to see how he goes, he is a crowd favorite, but I am yet to warm to him...

This forward line at West Coast would be unstoppable in my opinion. The truth is that our midfields really have no idea how to deliver a football. Simmo holds it too long, trying to gain distance through carrying the ball, but misses the 1st lead and often ends up rushing the kick a little as the opposition closes in on him. Stevens gets mile to close to the on-coming player and lifts the ball, giving it too much carry which insures it goes to a contest rather than to a lead. Scotland blazes and so does Walker. Murphy and Blackwell are our best users in my opinion. Carazzo and Bentick are not really worth mentioning.

I think if the middle is fixed then these players are getting the ball directed to their leads. I think Carlton is still to Fevola centric and I hope that Kennedy changes that. Currently I would think Carlton would turn the ball over in their forward 50 at a higher ration to other clubs and this would be uncontested. If Carlton has these players they need to ensure that they can at least get to the contest.

I think Carlton will be 2 ruckman and a couple of Key Backs away form serious contention after the PSD this year.
Our forward line is defiently underrated but shows week in and week out why it is rated so lowly. Fev seems to be the only source of goals while others simply don't contribute to their full potential. We defiently have one of the top 8 forward lines (on paper) but lack the consistency to jump off the paper and into the game. The key is waite, if waite can pull his socks up and play him and fev will lift the rest of the forwardline, introducing the new breed of blues.

In terms of raw talent, the Blues forward line is probably the best in the comp. However they are far from the best performance wise for several reasons. This year forward 50 delivery has been the major problem. Murph's injury cost us, and apart from Simpson, our other midfielders had ordinary years for various reasons. Our KP forwards still don't work together well IMO i.e getting in the way of each others leads etc. This will develop will time. Fisher, Kennedy and Waite have also missed a considerable part of the season, and were often carrying injuries as well. So the bottom-line is that the potential is there. What's needed is improved midfield output, and improved fitness and avoidance of injury to our KP forwards. By the end of the year most teams were putting 2-3 players on Fev, this opens up a huge opportunity for our other KP forwards. Lots to look forward to. :)

BudddddyLove said:
Na if this was a troll I'd be talking about carlton's backline?
Carlton looks to have a very talented forwardline in the mould and despite ur comments they should be kicking a lot more winning scores. Waite and Fisher played the majority of the season and Betts did indeed go missing to often (he was in my dream-team and only showed flashes). Yes Fevola can get distracted and frustrated as seen against Hawthorn when got dragged and gave away 50m penalty). So, yes I think my points are valid and maybe a quality forwardline coach (someone like Wayne Carey maybe?) might be a good move.

13/22.........yes a majority, but both played an interrupted 13 games with unluckey injuries.............but your an idiot.
Betts played midfield, and after Fev got dragged he nailed 8 on Croad, if bryan didn't knock him out with 5 mins to go he may have won that game for us............thanks for your concern

Wayne Carey????
Tried him......he was crap........Pies tried him.......still crap........and their forward line is more dysfunctional than ours.........your an idiot.

There is no point in going into a long spiel on each player the answer is simple, keep the forwards injury free and get a midfield that can hit them lace out end of story. Murphy hit Fevola lace out on the lead more times this year than the rest of the midfield in the last 3 years. Midfield, midfield , midfield. Carlton the best or one of the best at kicking goals from quick clearances. We need class in the centre square and we will out score most teams, hence we need Gibbs and a prolific clearance winner in this draft and Kreuser next year and then you will see the number 1 forward line in the comp come to fruition.:thumbsu:

Thanks for your comments Bluebear
I can now pick out who from the Blues fans wants to have a serious friendly conversation and who is a tool and wants to talk utter dribble.
Hawthorn has its trolls eg Hyperdrivel and you are one of your team's trolls or should i say idiots have a nice day loser.

murphster said:
There is no point in going into a long spiel on each player the answer is simple, keep the forwards injury free and get a midfield that can hit them lace out end of story. Murphy hit Fevola lace out on the lead more times this year than the rest of the midfield in the last 3 years. Midfield, midfield , midfield. ...

Totally agree. If our forwards don't get midfield delivery, it really means little how talented our KP forwards are. The midfield is key. Bryce, Murph and Simmo delivering bullets into the forward 50 next year will be a massive plus. If this happens I think Kennedy will play an important role in our forward structure. He will be the biggest KP forward, and will exert a real physical presence at CHF. His specialty is big high pressure pack marks. His drawing of defenders will take pressure off Fev, and there will be more crumbing opportunities for Eddie and co. If our midfield does well, I can see a very rapid climb up the ladder. For this reason I am not ruling out a top-8 finish in 2007. :)

BudddddyLove said:
Thanks for your comments Bluebear
I can now pick out who from the Blues fans wants to have a serious friendly conversation and who is a tool and wants to talk utter dribble.
Hawthorn has its trolls eg Hyperdrivel and you are one of your team's trolls or should i say idiots have a nice day loser.

Actually loser.....I was one of the first to respond (see post 3).......giving you the benefit of the doubt after week of endless Hawks trolls........after my opening line, the response was quite reasonable and I thought answered your query appropriately.

Your next post showed that you choose to ingore several posts educating you on the performance of our forward line.......

Waite and Fisher played the majority of the season and Betts did indeed go missing to often (he was in my dream-team and only showed flashes). Yes Fevola can get distracted and frustrated as seen against Hawthorn when got dragged and gave away 50m penalty).
such as the injury plagued Fisher and Waite, and that Betts didn't really play the crumbing forward role this year....more of a struggling midfielder.
This ingorance of reasonable responses led me to conclude that you were an idiot.

So, yes I think my points are valid and maybe a quality forwardline coach (someone like Wayne Carey maybe?) might be a good move
I was maybe a bit harsh calling you an idiot, as you may not have been aware of his history with the blues, or last year with the pies........but you really should know these things if you want to put him up as a coach.

If you really are here for an enlightening conversation then welcome, and don't ignore responses, plowing on with your first arguement, or you will be mistaken for a troll again. :thumbsu:

Bluebear said:
Actually loser.....I was one of the first to respond (see post 3).......giving you the benefit of the doubt after week of endless Hawks trolls........after my opening line, the response was quite reasonable and I thought answered your query appropriately.

Your next post showed that you choose to ingore several posts educating you on the performance of our forward line.......

such as the injury plagued Fisher and Waite, and that Betts didn't really play the crumbing forward role this year....more of a struggling midfielder.
This ingorance of reasonable responses led me to conclude that you were an idiot.

I was maybe a bit harsh calling you an idiot, as you may not have been aware of his history with the blues, or last year with the pies........but you really should know these things if you want to put him up as a coach.

If you really are here for an enlightening conversation then welcome, and don't ignore responses, plowing on with your first arguement, or you will be mistaken for a troll again. :thumbsu:

Fair enuf, however as you can see my 2nd post was only 2 mins after yours and I was writing mine when u posted yours so I didn't see your post thus I wasn't ignoring it.
Yeah ok so Wayne Carey must be a **** coach, there could be plenty of alternatives that could give you a better forwardline set-up.

AlecDuncan said:
It doesn't matter how good your forwards are if your midfield can't get the ball in there with accuracy

Hit the nail right on the head there Alec. The inclusion of Gibbs and Murphy coming back from injury will boost our stocks in the centre and if our forwards can work out a structured game plan and not get in eachother's way then we have the potential to have a very dangerous foward line (Waite and Fish will need to improve their kicking as well).

In regards to the midfield, if we can win the ball out of the centre more times than not then it will alleviate the pressure on our backmen as they develop.

Overall, 2007 is looking like a better year if our players live up to their potential they showed sporadically throughout 2006!

Go Blues! :thumbsu:

BudddddyLove said:
Fair enuf, however as you can see my 2nd post was only 2 mins after yours and I was writing mine when u posted yours so I didn't see your post thus I wasn't ignoring it.
Yeah ok so Wayne Carey must be a **** coach, there could be plenty of alternatives that could give you a better forwardline set-up.

Sorry, didn't look at the times........:)

Terry Daniher hasn't had the guys there to work with. I think the structure changed so much week by week with guys in and out, that the only consistent player was Fev (as in he was always there).
I have made the point before (in other threads) that when Kennedy is big enough to hold hi position in packs he and Fev will work well together, as they didn't seem to crowd each other that often.
When Lance plays forward he often hangs around 25-30m and makes very short leads, often cutting off Fevs space.
Fisher was at his best on the wing, and it would be great to see him be a wing drifting forwards, but needs to work a hell of a lot on his kicking.
Waite also needs to spend hours in fron of goals, and he could be anything or nothing........shades of Richardson......:thumbsu:

IMO our midfield in the next two years will become our best asset.......and be one of the best in the league. All of a sudden the defence and forwards will look better.