• Thread starter Thread starter Sammy D

New look Big Footy, new CM thread.

I lost my previous games when my computer crashed so i started another game of CM4 the other day. Ive gone as Villa. Ive won my way into the UEFA cup after a successful Inter-Toto campaign, one match Darius Vassell scored 6 goals in a leg against Kaiserslauten. Started the league with a win against Man Utd at home, but have since lost to Leeds & Tottenham away.
I have taken a risk and sold alot of players without bringing many in, so we'll see how we go, but this year is mainly a building year. The following changes have been made:

Ins:
Kallstrom 3.4m
Pugh 800k
Christenvaal (Barca) - Loan

Out:
J. McGrath Free
Kachoul 2.2m - Chelsea
Kinsella 2.6m - Chelsea
Dublin 300k - Man Utd
Taylor 220k - Fulham
Wright 750k - Fulham
Stauton 100k - Fulham
Alpay 1.6m - Galatasaray
Balaban 750k - Leeds

I had a contract for Rochemback agreed to but his work permit took longer than the transfer period to come through so that went down in flames :mad:.
I also possibly have Gennadiy Zubov & Rodrigo Mendes coming in on Free's in the new year.

Good old CM.

I'm with Ajax in the 03/04 version. Not a huge challenge, but geez the Dutch Premier League is good fun. No work permits to worry about.

I assigned one of my scouts to South America and he found some gems.

Robinho - Costs a packet but he's worth every cent. Scored 9 goals in one game for me. Has been averaging just under 9.00 in his time with Ajax.

Diego - Also is hard to buy, but goes very well in the midfield. Averaging 8.80 and scored 50 goals in a season for me.

Roncatto - Bargain (500k). Not world class but will score plenty of goals up front, and can also play left wing.

Roger - Pretty cheap. Have him as a sub.

Supermercado said:
I've had every version of CM from 93/94 onwards but I just haven't been able to get into 4 and 03/04. I think the whole thing peaked at CM3 01/02.

I had the first version on the Amiga 500 and can remember shelling out 24 quid for Championship Manager: Italia edition!

Unfortuntaley no time to play it these days with work, study, girlfriend... :(

kriles76 said:
I had the first version on the Amiga 500 and can remember shelling out 24 quid for Championship Manager: Italia edition!

Unfortuntaley no time to play it these days with work, study, girlfriend... :(

My girlfriend got so sick of me playing it she quit when I'd gone 11 matches and 2 ripper signings without saving. :mad:

Code:
******YOU MUST HAVE LARGE DATABASE SET IN OPTIONS TO BUY SOME OF THESE PLAYERS IF THEY DONT TURN UP IN THE SEARCH******

1st team squad size format
Size : 20 Outfield Player, 3 Goalkeepers

Position						Players Name - Club

GK							Petr Cech - Rennes
GK 2 [Quality Backup]					Andreas Isaksson - Djurgarden
GK 3 [Youth]						Kasper Schmeichel - Manchester City *

Defence Right 						Daniele Bonera - Parma *
Defence Right 2 [Quality Backup] / [Youth]		Freddy Guarín - Envigado (Awesome Signing because he can play DMC also) *
Defence Left 						Mike Zonneveld - NEC *
Defence Left 2 [Quality Backup] / [Youth]		Jose de la Cuesta - Atletico Nacional *
Defence Centre 						Michael Dawson - Nottingham Forest *
Defence Centre 2					Simon Francis - Bradford City *
Defence Centre 3 [Quality Backup + Youth]		Trond Erik Bertelsen - Haugesund *
Defence Centre 4 [Youth]				Tom Huddlestone - Derby County

Defensive Midfielder 1					Fredy William Thompson - Comunicaciones *

Midfield Left						Daniel Braathen - Skeid *
Midfield Left 2 [Quality Backup] / [Youth]		Jussi Pekka Savolainen - P. Iirot
Midfield Right						Toledo - Catanzaro *
Midfield Right 2 [Quality Backup] / [Youth]		Aaron Lennon - Leeds United
Midfield Centre						Jan Kristiansen - Esbjerg FB
Midfield Centre 2					Kim Kallstrom - Djurgarden *
Midfield Centre 3 [Quality Backup] / [Youth]		Oskitz Estefania - Real Sociedad

Forward 1						Maxim Tsigalko - Dinamo Minsk *
Forward 2						Georgi Kakalov - Belite Orili *
Forward 3 [Quality Backup]				Evandro Roncatto - Guarani
Forward 4 [Youth]					Alessio Cerci - AS Roma

Few notes or information on my "dream squad" of unknowns.

- Most of the defenders or midfielders can play left, right or centre and be trained to play in ethier position
- If you want some of these players sell people in there positions so you can bankroll it
- Check the contract information of the players because some can be purchased free ASAP or in 6months.
- Alot of these players would be denied Work permits to play in England.
- Alot of the Midfield Centres can be played as an attacking mid. Toledo is awesome on the right, or in the centre.
- If your DMC gets injured, just move a defender into the holding role.
- Guarín, Lennon, Cerci and Roncatto, Schmeichel have unprotected contracts in the begining. Some of the others are also.

******YOU MUST HAVE LARGE DATABASE SET IN OPTIONS TO BUY SOME OF THESE PLAYERS IF THEY DONT TURN UP IN THE SEARCH******

Key - * A must signing. Priority signing just get him over the others.

Got bored a few weeks ago and wrote that up for some mates. Any suggestions?

In my 5th season with Spurs. Still havent won the league but am a good chance to win both the league and euro champions league this season.

Cech
i forget cos he wants to leave -- Terry -- Gardner -- C. Andersson

Ricketts -- Diego -- Mabzuelia -- Garnst Pederson

Santa Cruz -- Postiga

My girlfriend got so sick of me playing it she quit when I'd gone 11 matches and 2 ripper signings without saving.

Dumpable offence in these parts.

I used to play CM 97/98 religiously. Everyone else was out getting ********faced and chasing chicks and I was meticulously plotting my assault on the English First division. What an idiot.

Such an annoying game is cm, when you have to study and all but cm is so hard to resist. So now i havent played it for a wee while i will have to get back into it again with my Notts Forest game or i might start a new game with some other random team, but who?

Someone pick me a team to manage, decent capacity stadium, dont have to have a shizen load of money in the transfer kitty and it doesnt matter what league but i havent cut it in Spain or Italy yet so they are my prefered. I might take on Fiorentina actually? Any thoughts?

Oh yeah and Cerci and Braathan = god!!!

wellsy said:
Someone pick me a team to manage, decent capacity stadium, dont have to have a shizen load of money in the transfer kitty and it doesnt matter what league but i havent cut it in Spain or Italy yet so they are my prefered. I might take on Fiorentina actually? Any thoughts?

Oh yeah and Cerci and Braathan = god!!!
Serie B is usually good fun. I was Atalanta for a while... decent side but the board never seemed to be satisfied with me. :mad:

Cerci is a gun. And I've heard all about Braathan, but I can't seem get him on my database without a patch.

wellsy said:
Such an annoying game is cm, when you have to study and all but cm is so hard to resist.
I hear ya!

If you are managing a conference team - Scott Huckerby is doing the trick for me. Team is still poor as I am though.

still on cm4 here, being a Newcastle fan I may have committed a mortal sin but I have taken over Sunderland.

Into my 4th season, my finishes so far have been 13th, 5th and 4th. I'm now in the CL. Yeah!

M.Proctor started out as a squad player but he's turned into a genuine world class player worth >25 million with a fair few international caps. Also signed a young swedish player from Ajax called Z.Ibrohimavich for 8 million (after following Rooney for 2 seasons and not getting him), now he's worth 25 million and is flying. Also signed Parker off Charlton (after they were relegated) and have gathered together some great young defenders. it's all my experience of previous cm games helping me:D

i'm starting to become a victim of my own success, the fans expect a title challenge and with the size of my squad it's hard to manage the CL and the league effectively. I'm 5-0-5 after 10 games and the fans are unsatisfied.

it's relatively easy to break into the top half and get into the uefa cup, but to crack the top 3 of ManUtd, Chelsea and Arsenal is nigh on impossible.

i am looking forward to the new FM a fair bit.

i've played cm4 quite a bit so i've got a few preferred players naturally. i discovered them on my own though.

-matt piper from sunderland is an awesome young right winger.
-calum davenport (or something) from conventry is a great young defender.
-lower league players: there are a couple of great forwards in the conference side margate at the start (talbot and hunter i think).
-if you can nab michael chopra from newcastle early, he ALWAYS turns into a great player in my games. takes a good 3 or 4 seasons though.
-shaun wright-phillips nearly always becomes available on a free transfer after the first season. if you play man city then ditch fowler (wait..make that everyone but anelka) because he sucks and is too injury prone (i stupidly knocked back a 7M offer from liverpool when i was with city).
-there's a young left wingback who plays for wolves, i can't remember his name but i always chase him in my games.
-take a bit of time to customize your tactics during your away games (man marking certain players etc) and you'll do WAY better.

mattyc2422 said:
Just started up a new game with Hereford.
It's gonna be a bloody hard task.

Matty, start with Hull - They are the "Real Madrid of Division 3" :D

Seriously, great team with plenty of talent - Sure thing to get promoted from Div. 3 to EPL in succession season.

Finally got it working and of course im going with Liverpool, Im into my second season and I have started well, unbeaten through 4 games. Last season in my first year I finished 5th and didnt win any cups or anything. It was a strange year because the top 6 broke away early and stayed so close throughout the year. Chelsea, Man U, Liverpool, Tottenham and Arsenal. There was hardly ever more than 6 points between us all season. Unluckily I finished 5th and just outside the champions league places. Chelsea won the league...

Here is my squad off the top of my head.

GK - Dudek, Kirkland, K.Schmiecel (sp?) Harrison

Defenders - Hyypia, Riise, Carragher, Salgado, Egiogou (sp?) Otsemobor, Finnan, Raven (under 19's, good kid)

Midfielders - Gerrard, Murphy, Kewell, Guti, Garcia, Lennon, Estefania, Smicer, LeTallec, Biscan

Forwards - Owen, Baros, Cisse, Tevez, Pongolle

I have sold:
Henchoz
Diouf
Hamman
Diao
Welsh
Heskey
Cheyrou

Bought:
Tevez (wonderkid)
Garcia
Cisse
Guti on a free
Salgado on a free
Egiogou (sp?) lol on a free

Cant remember everything, I think there its lots im missing. But im back on it soon. Carn the Reds.

As a girlfriend jilted for Championship Manager I can relate....it's impossible to move my boyfriend from it when he starts playing it...that said one day I insisted he show me how to play it and I was addicted within 2 minutes...now we fight over the computer!

A mate a problem with his girlfriend a while ago where she wouldn't stop playing the sims. It was all she did. So it works both ways.

I hardly touch CM for months at a time that start playign it when I'm really bored and end up having a massive binge... then lose interest again for a while.

Is it just me, or is this game sometimes incredibly unrealistic?

Example 1:

I offer Santos 8 million pounds for Rubinho. They instantly reject it. 3 days
later he's off to Paris SG for 4 million? WTF? :confused:

Example 2:

While managing Ajax, I apply to be manager at a First Division club (just to be a cunny funt). Despite my impressive resume of 14 trophies in 4 years, they decide to go for an unknown manager instead?

25 games through my second season and me (Liverpool) and Aresenal have broken away from the pack to be equal on points and clear by 11. Looks from here to be a fight in two. Hopefully I can win it. Sold Biscan and Carragher in the January transfer window and set my sights on Diego the wonderkid from Santos but I couldnt get him, they wanted 15.75 and I only had 14 million.

Just downloaded the update that does all the transfers/loans, divisions, names etc....and played with Tottenham. Finished 2nd in the first season. Not much of a challenge really. Got knocked out in the semis of both cups. Team was...

Robinson
Mabizela, King, Gardner, Edman
Davies, Carrick, Davis, Atouba
Kanoute, Keane

dascman03 said:
Just downloaded the update that does all the transfers/loans, divisions, names etc....and played with Tottenham. Finished 2nd in the first season. Not much of a challenge really. Got knocked out in the semis of both cups. Team was...

Robinson
Mabizela, King, Gardner, Edman
Davies, Carrick, Davis, Atouba
Kanoute, Keane

Where did you download the update from?

This is C4, right?