The MaTRiX

Rookie
I reckon this guy can play some great footy.

What do the Tigers faithful think & will he be hold a regular spot this year? If so, how many games do you expect him to play & mainly in what position?

:thumbsu:

hughes has a long way to go i think he will have okay days and shocking days. if and when he has a shocker i hope they dont axe him after one bad performance.if he struggles for 3 or 4 weeks in a row send him back to coburg for confidence and bring him back in when its returned.

Proven class performer at lower grade... Will be a top performer at this garde in a few years with out a doubt. Has talent and will nourish i feel.

Sounds some what like a prized race horse getting a write up in the form guide

care to elaborate?

In the Garry Lyon article (yes, that one..) he said Tiger fans are questioning whether Cleve Hughes will be a 10 year player.

Meanwhile, all of Hawthorn's kids are blue chip talent!

10 days later Cleve Hughes kicks 5 goals at VFL and 3 goals at AFL while Dowler, Dawson and co. and struggling at VFL.

f.arrk gary Lyon...

I reckon Cleve surprised most, if not all richmond fans with his game against west coast. When drafted we knew we had a potential quality CHF on our hands. Got good hands, strong on the lead and a beautiful kick. But there were question marks on his worth ethic especially over the summer and early part of the year. He played a good VFL game last week and was thrown straight into the seniors. I have to admit i didnt think he was ready, but he proved me wrong :thumbsu: .. reckon hes seen the light and has learnt a fair bit playing down back all pre season. Hope he continues on

Who do you think will be our more dangerous forward line player in years to come, Hughes or Riewoldt? haha it really just guessing but maybe some of you have a few little factors that would tend you to think that one of them might eventually be more dominant than the other.

very impressed with his game. Presented well, took several marks, kicked 3 goals(1 from 55m)

Yep, that goal was a pearler and smacked of sheer confidence. His other goal from forty out with an opposition player putting tough pressure on would have been shanked by 90% of the team. They're only glimpses but Cleve looks mighty good - just ask him. :cool:

Who do you think will be our more dangerous forward line player in years to come, Hughes or Riewoldt? haha it really just guessing but maybe some of you have a few little factors that would tend you to think that one of them might eventually be more dominant than the other.

I might say Riewoldt because Hughes hasn't done anything at any of the VFL games I've been to where Jack has been sensational.

Attitude wise (and other 'small factors' you talk about) would be in Jack's favour I'd guess, but I don't know them personally.. All I know is Jack's full of confidence, leadership and a bit of arrogance, Hughes has a big of arrogance too I feel and confidence, but some people report him as having a poor work ethic. Time will tell but both look like being great!

Garry Lyon seems to think he's a dud with no future ;)

I remember watching Hughes on a cold & wet Tassie night last year when Coburg played the devils under lights. He played on Mitch Thorp that night, a certain highly rated junior now Hawk player.

He absolutely towelled Thorp up, consitently beating him to the ball and marking it in wet & slippery conditions. As i left that night, i thought, yep gonna make it that kid and he was much better than Thorp.

Cheers

I remember watching Hughes on a cold & wet Tassie night last year when Coburg played the devils under lights. He played on Mitch Thorp that night, a certain highly rated junior now Hawk player.

He absolutely towelled Thorp up, consitently beating him to the ball and marking it in wet & slippery conditions. As i left that night, i thought, yep gonna make it that kid and he was much better than Thorp.

Cheers
Thorp is average IMO, big mistake by the Hawks

Disagree, loved the look of Thorpe as a junior and would have loved to get him.
Maybe, not saying he's crap, but reckon the Hawks could have done better