Colin Sylvia's progress

Pipefitter

Just looking for some thoughts on how everyone thinks hes going? Hes always been miles behind brocky and he doesnt seem to be getting any closer. I havent seen him play a really good game yet. Sure hes had injuries but so has mclean and he seems to make an impact all the time.

He has shown glimpses, but on the whole has been a disappointment.

That's not to say it's all doom and gloom just yet. It took TJ years to fulfil his potential. But I wish Colin would hurry up and play some good footy sooner rather than later!

Sylvia Saint said:
He has shown glimpses, but on the whole has been a disappointment.

That's not to say it's all doom and gloom just yet. It took TJ years to fulfil his potential. But I wish Colin would hurry up and play some good footy sooner rather than later!

Agree. I know it's a cliché, but I honestly think that, once Colin has that one "break out" game, he's going to go forwards in leaps and bounds.

On a positive note (and in support of my point), just after Colin kicked his goal on the weekend, an Essendon supporter sitting just down from me asked who that "young number 12" was, and said a couple of times, "Jeez, he's a good mover, isn't he!"

Yeah he has struggled since round 1 he played well against Carlton, after that he's been injured and off a lot, if he can stay fit i reckon he'll finish the year strong, his NAB cup was great, probably our best player during that, he's a good athlete and can play onball and kick goals, wish he'd start delivering soon. He will eventualy hit his straps though, and be a gun

didn't play in the middle at all on Sunday as he wasn't fully fit. Start him in the middle against Port and see how he goes.

hard to mark him at the moment i think. every time he looks like taking a step forward he gets injured and has to work for his position again. has shown glimpses of what he can do eg. against collingwood last year, but overall hasnt really put more than one or two good games together. hopefully he can stay fit for the year and find come consistency and a permanent spot in the side.

Good points made by all. However this young fella has got the x factor. Totally agree with the claim that once he has a couple good games he'll be on the way to being Mclean like. His coach at Bendigo U18's (Rod Mcpherson I think) described him as the most ferocious competitve player for the ball he had coached). Hes still really young, he's going to be a ripper without a doubt.

Still has a big question mark over his decision making and at times his disposal but no need to panic as yet.

Agree totally with the common sentiment that he will be very good for us. Just hope it doesn't take as long as TJ to arrive.

i **** myself when he limped off against essendon and was thinking here we go again. Hopefully a fully fit sylvia shows us what hes made of against port.

I want our centre-bounce team to be White, McLean, McDonald and Sylvia at the start of the Port game. It would give Sylvia some much needed confidence and he is a supurb midfield player aswell. With Johnstone, Bruce, Green, Moloney and some others (even Whelan who i was very impressed with in the middle on sunday after a poor preformance down back) rotating through the middle we should do very well.

Pipefitter said:
i **** myself when he limped off against essendon and was thinking here we go again. Hopefully a fully fit sylvia shows us what hes made of against port.

His ankle is still sore, and he won't play for Sandy this Saturday, which is a shame because he sure needs the match fitness.

It's fair to say he hasn't had a good year. First the gf kicking allegations, then nearly killing Ferguson, breaking his own ribs and missing 4 weeks and now his ankle. Luck is not his friend. :o

Notice how Moloney, Sylvia and for a good part of the season McLean, have all been absent from our side. On the one hand, its annoying, on the other hand you can say that the best is yet to come.

Col's progress has been nothing short of disappointing. Injuries have definately curtailed is short career and i fear we won't see the best of him until next year. In comparison to chooker, who despite constant injuries can come straight into the team and dominate, Col just hasn't been able to do this.

Col is sorta in-between positions, a bit like Miller. Col was known for his ability to push forward and take a mark and consequently kick goals at U18 level but can't replicate this at AFL level. Needs to be put on a wing for the whole game to get some cheap touches to regain his confidence then ease him into the middle.

Meh. The kid will shake off the injuries and be a star. Remember the preseason when everyone thought he was going to better than Brock, that was only three months ago.

From the glimpses he has shown, I am confident he will be a superstar for us.