Cult heroes

On Saturday at Colonial we saw the debut of Big Bad Bustling Billy Nicholas....a man who already at cult hero status down at Box Hill and is sure to quickly gain it at Hawthorn.

Before him of course we had Johnny Barker, but now everyone knows him, so cult hero doesn't quite have the same ring.

Even before him we had the Freak, Jimmy Morrissey, who couldn't see, turned red after running 10 metres, but had the ability to do some incredible things on the football field.

There is also another play at Box Hill by the name of Adrian "Nutter" Cox, and if he ever gets back in the side he'll achieve a following as well.

Anyway, my question is, does your club have any cult heroes, or players that the supporters love but they never seem to get any recognition??? Or did you have any cult heroes in the past?

Where do you start? The Weed, obviously. Adam Saliba. Kane Johnson, till he lost the gaffer tape and cut his hair. Rocket Maynard. John Klug.

But my personal cult hero was the Crows unsung star from Fish Creek - Barry Standfield. And that was before he showed them the footy against Hawthorn at Arctic Park. Then he transcended cult heroship.

Originally posted by marvin

But my personal cult hero was the Crows unsung star from Fish Creek - Barry Standfield. And that was before he showed them the footy against Hawthorn at Arctic Park. Then he transcended cult heroship.

He transcended alright, and instead made himself look like a complete d!ckhead. What a great idea it must have seemed at the time, holding the ball up to the crowd when you are 6 goals up and 50 metres in the clear.

What a pity the Crows managed to completely choke in the 2nd half and lost by 9 points! :p :p That move didn't look so clever then!

The Weed! What's he doing these days?

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

He transcended alright, and instead made himself look like a complete d!ckhead. What a great idea it must have seemed at the time, holding the ball up to the crowd when you are 6 goals up and 50 metres in the clear.

What a pity the Crows managed to completely choke in the 2nd half and lost by 9 points! :p :p That move didn't look so clever then!

The Weed! What's he doing these days?

Your recollection is a fair way off. Round 9, 1997 - Hawthorn 13.10 (88), Adelaide 14.18 (102). The incident happened in the first quarter, and Adelaide weren't 6 goals up at the time. I still remember Dermie giving Standfield the "play of the game" award and the postmatch interview, and the fact that Blighty had obviously given him an
absolute roasting.

As for The Weed - last I heard, he was captain/coach of a side in Tassie.

All the bloody Adelaide no-hopers burn against us. If it's not Barry Stansfield, it's Stuart Wigney, in a final no less.

And remember that nobody who kicked the winning goal at Foobball (sic) Park that night. McLodd? McCloud? Never did another thing!

Maybe it's a new category altogether. A bloke thought to be generally useless as an AFL player, becomes a cult hero for exactly 1/2 a game of footy, and then returns to his normal state.

Trent Ormond-Allen, starring in "The day I was a ruckman"

DASH beat me to the punch by naming Doc Wheildon. Actually, we had a few CFs pass through the Roys side: John Ironmonger, James Manson, Sidey, Mark Zanotti, Glenn Coleman, Spider Shaw, Smirky Dwyer and Bobby Beecroft amongst others.

Just going back to Billy Nicholls - in appearance, he is a dead set cross between Brisbane's Tim Notting and Des Headland!

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
All the bloody Adelaide no-hopers burn against us. If it's not Barry Stansfield, it's Stuart Wigney, in a final no less.

And remember that nobody who kicked the winning goal at Foobball (sic) Park that night. McLodd? McCloud? Never did another thing!

I guess Daryl Hart would fall into that category for you as well!!

That McLeod goal was fantabulous and really did herald the rise of his stardom.

Mark Zanotti....the wild man from Borneo!!!

Was that McLeod's first game that night he kicked the winner against us??

I'm sure Standfield held the ball up the day we came back and beat the Crows, but maybe it was 1998?

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Mark Zanotti....the wild man from Borneo!!!

Was that McLeod's first game that night he kicked the winner against us??

I'm sure Standfield held the ball up the day we came back and beat the Crows, but maybe it was 1998?

No - he had played a fair few before that whilst not being very consistent.

He only held the balll up the day we won.

we beat you in 98 as well I think.

The game you are thinking of was in 99 and Standfield had been de-listed by then.

That Hawthorn vs Adelaide game was in 1996. The Crows led by 6 goals at half time, JD and Darren Kappler playing at CHF (CHF LOL!) led the fightback. Jason ended up with 9 goals and we won by 9 points.

The game where Stanfield held the ball up was in 98. The Crows led by about 6 that day too, Brendan Krummel kicked 5 in the second half and we got to within a kick when a DODGY free kick was paid to Darren Jarman at the ensuing centre bounce. Jarman hit a forward on the chest, you guys goaled and won.

2 Crows players come to mind.

1. Wayne Weidemann: "The Weed" His skull looked like a cross between a psycho vikings and a neanderthal. Always remember the chant on "WEEEED" going up around the ground when he went near the ball (not that common an occurance). Probably more dangerous looking than he really was.

2. Eddie Hocking: The original "Scud Missile", his kicks were all over the place like the aforementioned ballistic weapon. Probably earned his cult status more from one incident than his ability, he punched a bloke who was nearly a foot taller than him (Collingwood ruckman, I think.. if anyone remembers his name) after a racist remark.

Footnote: Andrew Jarman wishes he was a cult hero. More the King of Buffoons (or baboons).

Past - Martin Pike, Donald McDonald, Krakouer brothers, Mick Nolan, probably a few more that don't come to mind right now
Present - Matthew Burton, Mick Martyn, Byron Pickett, Leaping Lindsay Smith, Daniel Pratt, Ricky Olarenshaw (if you can call one girl a "cult following") :D

Originally posted by Carey_is_King
Hey Darky,
What about Arnold Briedis, Slammin' Sam Kekovich, Tiger Croswell & Snake Baker ?

Well before my time, CIK! Even though he was also before my time, I only mentioned Nolan because anyone that weighed 20 stone qualifies automatically.
********, does that mean Calthorpe is endeared to us? :(