• Thread starter Thread starter mhill

Jon was always a project player
keeping in mind they take 4-5 years i doubt we would get rid of him
just at the time were expecting him to become a player
kerr is a star but dont think we can part with our 1st rounder

If we think that next year is the 1st of say 4 or 5 years being in the top 8 then trading for Kerr makes sense.

He is 25, with the potential best years in his career between now and age 29 (thats from 2009-2012).
Perfect.
If we trade for a 1st round pick - which will be around the 7-9 mark, it is likely that the draftee won't have much impact for 3-5 years - our supposed window.

Kerr would take the best tag of Foley, Lids and Cotchin - we saw what Foley can do on the weekend when the shackles are off.

That midfield sounds elite to me - it also means players like White, Tuck, Johnston and Polo form a very good B squad instead of being relied upon to be the star mids - which they clearly are not.

Daniel Kerr has placed top 3 in the Brownlow twice, has been AA and won a flag. He would be in the top 3 for hard nut midfielders in the AFL.

If he wants to leave and come to the Tigers, we should do the deal.

If we think that next year is the 1st of say 4 or 5 years being in the top 8 then trading for Kerr makes sense.

He is 25, with the potential best years in his career between now and age 29 (thats from 2009-2012).
Perfect.
If we trade for a 1st round pick - which will be around the 7-9 mark, it is likely that the draftee won't have much impact for 3-5 years - our supposed window.

Kerr would take the best tag of Foley, Lids and Cotchin - we saw what Foley can do on the weekend when the shackles are off.

That midfield sounds elite to me - it also means players like White, Tuck, Johnston and Polo form a very good B squad instead of being relied upon to be the star mids - which they clearly are not.

Daniel Kerr has placed top 3 in the Brownlow twice, has been AA and won a flag. He would be in the top 3 for hard nut midfielders in the AFL.

If he wants to leave and come to the Tigers, we should do the deal.
yea spot on mate. kerr has been there and done it all and could really teach the young guys what it takes to get to that elie level not only as an individual but as a club . i know, i know people dont want to give up the 1st round pick but seriously it would be mighty worth it. we would be getting 1 of the best 4 or 5 mids in the game. the only real area we need to draft a player in is the ruck am i sure we couls snap up a decent ruckmen with our 2nd selection.so as for getting kerr its a:thumbsu: for me

You two fools are overrating our list. It is no-where near being good enough to win a premiership, and adding Kerr will only hurt our list long-term.

So what do you suggest Einstein?

If, after 7 years at or near the bottom of the ladder, we still cannot draft and develop young players to make a surge up the ladder like the Bulldogs, Hawthorn, Geelong and now Carlton, we may as well all give up.

Look at the list, there are 20 players aged 19-23, 13 of those players were in the team on the weekend (they were also there last week in Perth).

The next 4-5 years are when this core of our team should be peaking as AFL players.

And yet you are already giving up on them already.

Sad.

Criticism is easy. Make a suggestion to help the Tigers climb the ladder. You think a first round pick is better than Kerr?

Change your username to Kenny Rogers 'cause you are the Gambler.

Going to have to give alot more than only the first round pick , at least be realistic.
What did they get for Judd - up and coming player and two picks. They are going to want similiar he is still contracted.
We dont have a player suitable to trade in my opinion. ie(not good enough to secure the deal or too good and would be giving up to much.)
To say Oakley-Nicholls is tradeable is wrong he will be extremely lucky to even hold his spot on richmonds list , he will most likely be delisted at seasons end in my opinion. Got dropped after beating Port in Adelaide which was a good win if he cant hold his spot after that well his card has already been marked.

Tambling & Couglan and wrap them up in a nice parcel, put a big ribbon on it and drop it on the doorstep of the WCE FC for Kerr.

Somebody hard who can get a kick compared to 2 who can't with any consistently.

:thumbsu:

So what do you suggest Einstein?

If, after 7 years at or near the bottom of the ladder, we still cannot draft and develop young players to make a surge up the ladder like the Bulldogs, Hawthorn, Geelong and now Carlton, we may as well all give up.

Look at the list, there are 20 players aged 19-23, 13 of those players were in the team on the weekend (they were also there last week in Perth).

The next 4-5 years are when this core of our team should be peaking as AFL players.

And yet you are already giving up on them already.

Sad.
Trading away our early picks will only bring us back to where we started. We need to forget quick fixes to our list problems, and start to focus on developing young players through the national draft. It is the only way to restore the balance that our list in terms of age, positions and depth.

Kerr would cost us far too much, and anyone that thinks we can get him for anything less than our first 2 picks is dreaming.

The only players we have that I am confident will be future players are Cotchin, Riewoldt, Deledio and Foley. Everyone else is still yet to show they will make it or more likely that they have glariring deficiencies in their game.

Criticism is easy. Make a suggestion to help the Tigers climb the ladder. You think a first round pick is better than Kerr?

Change your username to Kenny Rogers 'cause you are the Gambler.
I've already said what I think the club should do regarding long term success on various threads, and it starts to feel like I'm flogging a dead horse.

Going to have to give alot more than only the first round pick , at least be realistic.
What did they get for Judd - up and coming player and two picks. They are going to want similiar he is still contracted.
We dont have a player suitable to trade in my opinion. ie(not good enough to secure the deal or too good and would be giving up to much.)
To say Oakley-Nicholls is tradeable is wrong he will be extremely lucky to even hold his spot on richmonds list , he will most likely be delisted at seasons end in my opinion. Got dropped after beating Port in Adelaide which was a good win if he cant hold his spot after that well his card has already been marked.

Nupp

Tambling & Couglan and wrap them up in a nice parcel, put a big ribbon on it and drop it on the doorstep of the WCE FC for Kerr.

Somebody hard who can get a kick compared to 2 who can't with any consistently.

:thumbsu:

pfft

Benny was very, very average in the Finals he played for us.
Dropped many important marks.
Players are remembered by how they play in Finals.

Benny went at the right time.

Absolutely agree, was overated and for a bloke his size he should of taken games apart :o

I've already said what I think the club should do regarding long term success on various threads, and it starts to feel like I'm flogging a dead horse.

... either a dead horse or your trouser snake. Clearly TW doesn't read your threads perhaps you should start writing letters like Tigerriffic. Maybe you'd respect Daniel more if he grew a swarthy mustache, wore cricket ads and batted no. 6 for Pakistan?

As much as i dont condone this type of strategy, the bummer is Kerr is contracted and the Weagles hold the cards.

Carlton had the Eagles by the balls re: Judd, it was something or nothing, and robbed them blindly. Eagles this time, have the cards and we have to play to them. :thumbsu:

As much as i dont condone this type of strategy, the bummer is Kerr is contracted and the Weagles hold the cards.

Carlton had the Eagles by the balls re: Judd, it was something or nothing, and robbed them blindly. Eagles this time, have the cards and we have to play to them. :thumbsu:

i dont reckon we should have any interest in kerr unless we make the 8 - and all he gots us is a first rounder.

he is not the missing piece to our puzzle - if we give the house away for him..... nup - its just not gonna happen

i dont reckon we should have any interest in kerr unless we make the 8 - and all he gots us is a first rounder.

he is not the missing piece to our puzzle - if we give the house away for him..... nup - its just not gonna happen

I agree we shouldnt give the heart and soul. Despite West Coast holding the cards, we should definatley try to call the shots, and if they dont accept, we dont do it.

Agree he isnt the missing piece, however, if he IS interested in coming, and we can grab him. He would be a very great asset. Forget the missing piece of the puzzle for a second, lets start thinking about the icing on the cake. :thumbsu:

has any1 thought about his attitude wasnt he in trouble a bit over the last few yrs would u want that around the kids I wouldnt!!

Plus the mans a sook something doesnt go right he starts throwing fists!:thumbsd::thumbsd:

has any1 thought about his attitude wasnt he in trouble a bit over the last few yrs would u want that around the kids I wouldnt!!

Plus the mans a sook something doesnt go right he starts throwing fists!:thumbsd::thumbsd:

Look at it in complete opposite to what you are saying...

Off field - Eagles joke, Tigers I would say pretty good
On Field - Eagles awesome, Tigers joke

Daniel Kerr offers his strengths to Tigers, Tigers offer their strengths to Kerr.

Daniel Kerr is to exspensive for what he is worth in the first place
We should focus on persuing with youngsters and keeping our draft picks.

anyway Daniel Kerr said i dont want to leave because of his family and girlfriend, he is also contracted, and for more evidance he is getting surgery now and he will not be playing for the remainder of the season so all up the Eagles wouldnt trade a player whom they are paying surgery for and getting fit for next season!