Toast Dayne Beams

• Thread starter Thread starter MegaBob

Absolutely agree. There was something about him from day one. Reminds me a little of scotty burns but has more strings to the bow. I hope he has a long career at Collingwood
Definitely. I remember going to his first senior match and him having a great game and getting cheered off the ground by all the Collingwood supporters as he went to the bench in the last quarter. Been a big fan ever since!

How did we get both Dayne Beams AND Steele Sidebottom in the same draft? Beams went at pick 29; crazy that no one else picked him up before we did!:eek:

Only seen a few games with him playing but have to agree, a star with tonnes of class. I thought easily your best on the weekend and I hope we tag him if we meet in Sept.
Not trying to be funny but if you tag Beams, Pendles will run riot, if you tag them both then Swanny will do the job - it didn't happen this week but it usually does. Its a golden time to be a Pies fan with the depth of quality we have in mids, such a shame we have had a sh1t run with injuries this year.

Top 3 Copeland. Tied for lead in one media award. Top 4 AFLCA votes. Should be top 10 Brownlow. Pre-season my mate in QLD who saw him play as a junior told me he thought MM played Beams out of position. Told me he had a big engine and was a midfielder, not a HFF. Malthouse played him in the midfield but not full time. Bucks seems to play him in the guts almost solely and didn't he shine during the Swan/Pendles injury period. Good on him if he has signed for the reported money.

That was part of the education. The fact we played Steele and Beams in those roles for 2-3 years and didn't rush them into the midfield is the reason why we are getting benefit now.

Big tick for MM and Bucks back then...

Just a little while ago quite a few here were after his hide for his off field misadventures. He has not only straightened himself out but has shown the club he has reformed and is grateful in the only way that has any currency. He has lifted his performance when put in the breach and he has signed for unders without fuss to the club that stood by him. . . . well done young man.

The definition of a team player. Takes a pay hit, drops himself out of contention for a GF spot and he looks like he's enjoying his time in the black and white. Let's not make this thread about Cloke, but he could learn a thing or two from him. Collingwood looked terrible today, but let's take a positive that we'll have him for at least another three years.
He didn't take a pay hit he got a substantial increase.

What you mean to say is, he could have got more elsewhere, but so could most of our players, including Cloke

at this stage he deserves the copeland. its between him and swanny i reckon, sidey the outsider. Unfortunately pendles has missed to much.

He is an absolute star, can't wait for him to dominate in finals and shake that monkey of his back. I wear his number on my back for my footy team, and proud of it.

Beamer has more than surpassed expectations this year!

By the numbers:
disposals up from 22 to 30.5.
tackles up from 3.6 to 4.1.
clearances up from 3.2 to 5.5.
contested up from 8.2 to 10.9.
goals down 1.3 to 1.1. I am particularly impressed by his ability to continue hurting sides on the scoreboard.

He had an injury ruined 2011 only playing 16 games - yet he showed more than enough of what was to come. I reckon had he played 21/22 games he would have been easily top 5 in the Copeland last year!

Well done Dayne Beams - giving us heaps of thrills this season.

After watching Beamsy closely in his first season I really felt that I was looking at a future captain of the club.

I've mentioned this before and people laughed. And they'll probably laugh again.

But I really think he has the makings of a leader of men. Not today or tomorrow - he's on a journey to get there - but I think he'll make it.

Certainly not a captain in the Nathan Buckley mould - more one in the Burns / Maxwell mould.

After watching Beamsy closely in his first season I really felt that I was looking at a future captain of the club.

I've mentioned this before and people laughed. And they'll probably laugh again.

But I really think he has the makings of a leader of men. Not today or tomorrow - he's on a journey to get there - but I think he'll make it.

Certainly not a captain in the Nathan Buckley mould - more one in the Burns / Maxwell mould.
I hadn't ever thought about it (with Pendles around n all that) but you're right he has all the traits of a great captain!