Analysis Dwindling Crowds

• Thread starter Thread starter Willo_

Interesting article today

http://mobile.news.com.au/sport/afl...-list-transition/story-fndv8haf-1227323754554

With Brian Cook calling for fans to stay on board with a tougher time ahead.

Crowds are clearly down this year in Geelong and I was having a discussion about this with cats fans on the weekend.

Is it a price issue? A timing of the games issue? Bandwagoners dropping off? All of the above.

Is an interesting point to discuss none the less, particularly with the whole focus on fans this year

I can't comment on the crowds down in Geelong because I'm a snob and don't bother going down there for games (even though I have a membership that allows me in).

However, in the year of the fan, an interesting thing happened at the Geelong V Hawthorn game on Easter Monday.

My brother is a Hawks supporter so we always go to those matches. He is also a Hawthorn member.

Since we actually want to sit with each other we have to go up to the top level (which we're both fine with).

Every recent year (even last year during the variable pricing saga) we have managed to get, more or less, on the wing or flanks by getting there a little earlier than usual (last year we had to buy a seat but that discussion was done last year).

This year we were told we couldn't get access to those areas and were told we'd have to sit behind the goals.

As members we both thought that was a little odd and we couldn't understand why we were allocated that area.

This led to the inevitable jokes about "year of the fan" over-riding the benefit of being a member.

I still don't know what the reason was for members being told to sit behind the goals (it may be valid but I didn't really care enough to look into it since I don't bother getting a reserve seat) but others may view it is another way that the AFL (or clubs) are alienating those who are dipping into their pockets to buy a membership.

As for Geelong games in Geelong, the 3 home game stand might have something to do with it, especially on Sundays. I know a couple of Melbourne based supporters who said the trip down 3 weeks running was a bit of a pain so that might be a contributing factor.

I'm more than likely going to the Richmond game this week but since that is an away game the club probably doesn't care so much about that.

It's going to be a perfect storm of a lot of factors. Ask ten different people you'll probably get ten different answers.

I'm pretty confident in saying that the drop off in team performance would be the biggest factor.

As a Melbourne based supporter I would say that 3.20 is a pain in the arse time for a match. Not home until after 7pm when needing to get kids sorted for the week etc.

We've had two weeks in a row of crappy weather when usually you would get a little bit milder now before the worst of it hits in June/July.

Then there's the TV deal which seems to be the elephant in the room. Crowds across the board are lower because people can watch everything live on TV for $50 a month. Taking a family to a single game is going to be at least $100, probably more like $150. It's a huge saving to sit at home and watch on TV.

I'll go to every game I can and when I don't someone else will be sitting in my seat, but there are a million reasons why crowds will be down this year. Hope Cooky has budgeted low.

It's apathy too I reckon. When a group of people get something In large quantities ( success) that they have not for 44 years they kinda get drunk on it and it does not matter as much anymore.

And now the success is waining so does the groups interest and with that goes the revenue.

I'm not saying it's the only thing but it's going to be a contributing factor.

Go Catters

Hope Cooky has budgeted low.
sounds like he has... said the crowds were down 1000 on what was budgeted...

And thats is with crowds 5000 down on last year

And now the success is waining so does the groups interest and with that goes the revenue.
It is a fair point. Everyone loves a winner.

It takes a certain kind of masochist to front up week in, week out when your side is continually being beaten.

Obviously supporters should stick fat but everyone has a breaking point.

And in the age of instant gratification, you'll see a certain percentage drop off when the side performs poorly over an extended period.

I do just find the crowds an interesting topic.... particularly given that Membership is apparently ahead of where it has been at this time previously... so that indicates the fans aren't dropping off?

Or just that more are happy to commit to the club in some way, but not wanting to watch us struggle at games.

I do agree with your point catempire that ask 10 people and get 10 different answers

Bit strange that higher membership numbers hasn't translated to higher, or at least steady, crowd numbers.

As has been said, reckon there's a myriad of reasons why.

My Dad and I have reserved seats at KP (which are used by others if we can't get there), but here's why we haven't gone to a couple of our home games so far;
-Dad couldn't go to GC game due to crappy weather (legit excuse for him-poor health)
-I was terribly hungover and couldn't get to the NM game :oops:

Our biggest issue so far has been the timing though. 3:30pm on a Sunday (when it's shown live on FTA tv) makes it really tempting to stay home. We want Saturday afternoon footy!!!

Our poor start to the year wouldn't turn me off going though. The club has given me a lot of joy in recent years, so I'll keep going to support them.

I do just find the crowds an interesting topic.... particularly given that Membership is apparently ahead of where it has been at this time previously... so that indicates the fans aren't dropping off?
Be interesting to know how much membership growth has been driven by people who aren't a realistic shot because of geography at attending week-to-week. That has been the club's focus the last few years - getting people to see a membership as a contribution rather than a fair exchange (so to speak).

Ever since I've been a member that is pretty much how I've view it.

I don't bother travelling down to Geelong so they get my money for those games even though don't attend. I just accept that is part of the deal.

Sort of like having ACCTV & EXPO included with the basic Foxtel package.

Or the people who used to invest in a 11/17 game membership and now have watered that down and spend the rest on a Foxtel subscription.

I'm sure for many, saving three hours on the road/train and staying warm on the couch would be damn tempting.

It's a strange one, and I reckon the atmosphere has shifted even since last year.
2014 Rd 16 v Western Bulldogs and 24,700 odd braved cold and rain for a twilight Sunday match.
As a GA member, I had to purchase additional standing room passes for my daughter and I.

Upgraded to a reserved seat for 2015, and sat there on a leisurely Sunday afternoon vs Fremantle, our 2nd greatest rival over the past 3-4 years surrounded by empty seats and an overriding feeling of apathy. Polite claps when we got closer (GHS mark in square elicited a small cheer) and almost an expectation that they would overwhelm us.

Sunday arvo games aren't ideal, and by rd12 when we play at KP again, our record could be ugly enough to suggest smaller/struggling crowds continuing.

Or the people who used to invest in a 11/17 game membership and now have watered that down and spend the rest on a Foxtel subscription.

I'm sure for many, saving three hours on the road/train and staying warm on the couch would be damn tempting.
I'm not sure about others but it is a draining event going to the footy... I'm knackered when I get home normally so I can understand people taking advantage of the digital option

It happens to all clubs that when they're not winning as much, the crowds drop off. If there was a solution to this then someone would've found it by now. People (rightly or wrongly) are just less inclined to go to a live game if they think the side is going to be beaten. Not everyone is a hardcore fan like the people on this forum.

It is a fair point. Everyone loves a winner.

It takes a certain kind of masochist to front up week in, week out when your side is continually being beaten.

Obviously supporters should stick fat but everyone has a breaking point.

And in the age of instant gratification, you'll see a certain percentage drop off when the side performs poorly over an extended period.

Not just that. But for at least the last 20 years, the opinions of fans have been treated with more and more contempt by the sport's governing body. Not everyone is going to keep coming.

Very good point. I had been told by someone I know who would go rain hail or shine to 3 or 4 games a week that they just don't have faith in the league and integrity of things anymore so their interest has dropped

All of this will result in less members & a drop off per game so everyone get prepared for a financial loss again.

Also reduced crowds next year whilst new stands get built will impact greatly.

I don't think the club has handled the transition well losing players,Balme + discipline issues with Simpson etc & Hartman.
I really like Steve Hocking as a person But will he be ruthless enough to to cut the veterans, secure Dangerfield & retain Motlop etc I have my doubts ?

Interesting article today

http://mobile.news.com.au/sport/afl...-list-transition/story-fndv8haf-1227323754554

With Brian Cook calling for fans to stay on board with a tougher time ahead.
Crowds are clearly down this year in Geelong and I was having a discussion about this with cats fans on the weekend.
Is it a price issue? A timing of the games issue? Bandwagoners dropping off? All of the above.
Is an interesting point to discuss none the less, particularly with the whole focus on fans this year
For the first time in years (due mostly to the absence of previous study commitments, relationship commitments and newfound car ownership) I have managed to make four games in a row. To make a few observations -
  • 3.30pm on a Sunday in the middle of a cold snap is not a fun time to go and watch football. To those who live in Geelong - for the Gold Coast and North games, although the weather in Geelong was lovely (if cold), it was bucketing down in Melbourne all morning.
  • The poster who said they were getting home at 7pm echos my experience - if I had small kids, I probably wouldn't be going.
  • It's a different mentality to go down not expecting to see a victory.

It happens to all clubs that when they're not winning as much, the crowds drop off. If there was a solution to this then someone would've found it by now. People (rightly or wrongly) are just less inclined to go to a live game if they think the side is going to be beaten. Not everyone is a hardcore fan like the people on this forum.
On the flipside though, I reckon atmosphere improves as we get worse and moments in games become more critical.

Maybe this form is all just a show to get the crowd to get loud as they have been begging for!!!

:D

On the drive down I heard BT predicting less than 20k, and questioning whether Cats fans were a fairweather bunch of supporters.
Hate to admit it, but I think BT was right. Got to the standing area, and there was free space everyhere.
Worst part was at the end of the game it looked like there were more North supporters still in the area than Cats.
Dark dark day when any team gets outnumbered by North supporters.