Leg End

Amazing to reflect on this year.
I felt all year the Swans were developing into something special. i thought perhaps a prelim this year then flag in 2014, maybe 2014 - mainly because we didnt have much of a forward line. But, last few weeks, confidence skyrocketed. We won the damn Flag - still can't believe it.

Next year, add Gary Rohan to Lewis Jetta plus Armstrong - man, we'll be even quicker.

To all those sledging individual players, well today is why that is not the approach to take. I have complete faith in this club and know that teh payers give 100% - what more can you ask for?

Finally, umpires were disgraceful - but we ere good enough despite this fraud.

2013. Dynasty time - back to back flags!

People gave us no chance...even when we beat the best teams at their home grounds. Some didn't have us in their top 8 at the start of the year and you'll see them slowly disappear into the background now!

M8 settle down. Dynasty's are reflected on not something you look forward to. Get excited, very excited, bout the next few years but don't talk dynasty yet. One huge superhuman effort will not count for the next 5 years. So m8 enjoy it, soak it up n live for the moment cause if you get ahead of yourself reality will hit you in the face.

Lol trust me, you don't wanna be thinking about dynasties. You will only set yourself up for disappointment when it doesn't happen. Just enjoy it now as much as you can because it will become a distant memory all to quickly.

Bit late for a dynasty i reckon. lol. If Goodes, Bolton, RO'K, Shaw, Mattner and the likes were still in their late 20's and we had a powerful CHF in a Barry Hall type we'd be a powerhouse for sure over the next few years. But reality is the blokes i listed are all the wrong side of 30. We'll have to continue to rely on nabbing some recycled players from other clubs and try to graft out another successful year much like 2012.

Let's just hope the club can continue to compete at the level it has been. We will need players to replace ROK, Superted, Mattner and Shaw in the upcoming years. Parker looks to be the ready made replacement for Bolton and let's hope Mitchell can slot in next year as the young mid. Armstrong is good enough to be a rebounding half back - but we'll see how he develops.

No one will ever replace Goodes - he is a once in a generation player. Kouta started the trend of athletic big men who can play in any position on the ground but Goodes is the best in the business at it! Aside from Pavlich, there isn't a player who stands toe to toe with Goodes in this regard.

Buddy has all the athleticism in the world but he's still a forward (a bloody good one though) but Goodesy has him for genuine versatility and game impact at any place on the ground.

That all said, they'll find other players who can be the x factors. Although I suspect that our slingshot footy game plan will be nullified next year. It was great to get success before the rest of the comp caught up!

Amazing to reflect on this year.
I felt all year the Swans were developing into something special. i thought perhaps a prelim this year then flag in 2014, maybe 2014 - mainly because we didnt have much of a forward line. But, last few weeks, confidence skyrocketed. We won the damn Flag - still can't believe it.

Next year, add Gary Rohan to Lewis Jetta plus Armstrong - man, we'll be even quicker.

To all those sledging individual players, well today is why that is not the approach to take. I have complete faith in this club and know that teh payers give 100% - what more can you ask for?

Finally, umpires were disgraceful - but we ere good enough despite this fraud.

2013. Dynasty time - back to back flags!
Be careful of hubris. I distinctly remember Essendon talk about Dynasty after 1993, with their quick young team. It took 7 years to win another flag. Hawthorn supporters were saying the same thing after 2008, still waiting for a second flag with the best squad in the AFL. How many times did we hear Collingwood back to back 2010-2011? I even saw it on a bumper sticker. It will be much tougher for the Swans next season because every other team will be gunning for you and there will be no flying under the radar, like the first half of this season. Watch out West Coast next season.

Even Geelong never went back to back... I'd be astonished if we won it next year. Still, I was astonished at what we managed to achieve this year, so you never know!

There seems to be replacements developing for most older guys, not sayng they are instantly as good of course.

The one who we will struggle to replace is goodsey though

I think we could have a rivalry with the hawks even bigger than what we did with the eagles over the next couple of years, contrasting playing styles/game plan, Longmire and Clarkson connection, Kennedy, Rioli and Smith connection/history.

There seems to be replacements developing for most older guys, not sayng they are instantly as good of course.

The one who we will struggle to replace is goodsey though

Rohan would be my hope.

Thought of him as i posted. All good then :)

My thought process is if goodes retires it frees up a chunk of cap space, thought he is a vetran.

Check the main board though, we have all this extra cap to buy heaps of stars

I would think we need to get another decent mid, and a defender.

I would look at Moloney and Bret Thornton formerly of Carlton.

But that's for another thread.