edwards out/cogs in?

Edwards has showed promising signs at times, but has not shown enough to suggest he is going to make it. Yet. Doesn't find a lot of the ball because he doesn't know where to run. He has a big tank however, so if he can figure out where to run he should get quite a lot of the football. His kicking and decision making, even under little pressure are below average and his body and core strength are weak. His tackling is not great, regardless of nut's observations, he is easily knocked off the contest.

If Edwards is going to make the grade I think it will be as a midfielder, not a flanker, because his kicking is not good enough. I'd try and bulk him up as much as possible and try and develop his football mind to be able to read the play better (which will be a very difficult thing to do). I think Edwards could be looked as trade bait at the end of the year in the attempt to get a stop gap ruckman we will need when Simmonds retires.
The player he could most aspire to is Brent Harvey. They're similar in lots of ways, just needs to work on his skills.

edwards tackling is poor and half hearted. davey isnt much bigger but can grab players much bigger without being brushed aside.
Thats because they are different players.
I swear you get dumber with every post you make:rolleyes:

Midfield, just because you are small doesn't make you a forward pocket. Anybody with even half a clue knows that he is not a forward, but that criteria automatically counts you out of it

the bloke obviously cant play as a midfielder at this stage, he can barely win a few kicks. its no use putting him in the middle and expect a miracle. he dont have the ball skills or stamina. its best to start him off elsewhere then bring him in when he improves his skills.

let him develop his skills up forward rather than just putting him in the middle to be slaughtered.

Edwards has showed promising signs at times, but has not shown enough to suggest he is going to make it. Yet. Doesn't find a lot of the ball because he doesn't know where to run. He has a big tank however, so if he can figure out where to run he should get quite a lot of the football. His kicking and decision making, even under little pressure are below average and his body and core strength are weak. His tackling is not great, regardless of nut's observations, he is easily knocked off the contest.

If Edwards is going to make the grade I think it will be as a midfielder, not a flanker, because his kicking is not good enough. I'd try and bulk him up as much as possible and try and develop his football mind to be able to read the play better (which will be a very difficult thing to do). I think Edwards could be looked as trade bait at the end of the year in the attempt to get a stop gap ruckman we will need when Simmonds retires.

hes a good reader of play, he runs to the "wrong spots" bc he tries to get to all contests which is physically impossible, needs to learn when to go and when to not. Classy one grab player inside with good evasive skills, has good peripheral vision. Decision making and football nous is first rate, his execution is what lets him down. Very weak frame, really needs to strengthen and bulk up for the role hes naturally inclined towards.

If i was to compare him to a "type" of player it would be robert harvey, same sort of tank, clean hands, good vision and evasiveness, just needs to learn his limits and hit easier targets and run opponents ragged

the bloke obviously cant play as a midfielder at this stage, he can barely win a few kicks. its no use putting him in the middle and expect a miracle. he dont have the ball skills or stamina. its best to start him off elsewhere then bring him in when he improves his skills.

let him develop his skills up forward rather than just putting him in the middle to be slaughtered.
Read what Tony Montana said.
No point playing him up forward when he clearly isn't a forward, His best football has been from the middle, you wither hardly watch enough games or simpley don't pay enough attention

All this Edwards talk is a prime example of over scrutinising our young players, and developing opinions of them well before they are any where near

Read what Tony Montana said.
No point playing him up forward when he clearly isn't a forward, His best football has been from the middle, you wither hardly watch enough games or simpley don't pay enough attention
i watch heaps of games and see the poor bloke struggle. his skills are poor most of the time and isnt good in the packs. he is best when in the open with space recieving the ball and is better when he has time. he got a few goals up forward, but just need to put more pressure when he dont have the ball. at this stage that is where he need to play, and maybe occasionally rotate when he improves, then move permanently later him in when he starts to show that he can take the pressure. not every player can progress to there u/18 position straight up.

so they are making him a jack of all trades but master of nothing.

they need to play him in one position and only one position until he become good at it before swapping around. forward pocket is where he should play for 4-5 years depending on how fast he develops.

i watch heaps of games and see the poor bloke struggle. his skills are poor most of the time and isnt good in the packs. he is best when in the open with space recieving the ball and is better when he has time. he got a few goals up forward, but just need to put more pressure when he dont have the ball. at this stage that is where he need to play, and maybe occasionally rotate when he improves, then move permanently later him in when he starts to show that he can take the pressure. not every player can progress to there u/18 position straight up.
Will you make your mind up please, first you say he should play one position and stay their, now he should have stints in forward and the middle.
The facts are he has played his best footy when he has had time and space through the middle, and when he has been moved he has struggled, but so far this year has struggled so should have a stint with Coburg for a while. But at no stage should he be used as a predominant forward, doesn't have the game to be a real dangerous forward.

Will you make your mind up please, first you say he should play one position and stay their, now he should have stints in forward and the middle.
The facts are he has played his best footy when he has had time and space through the middle, and when he has been moved he has struggled, but so far this year has struggled so should have a stint with Coburg for a while. But at no stage should he be used as a predominant forward, doesn't have the game to be a real dangerous forward.
when he improves he can start to rotate and move into the middle after 4-5 years in the forward line. maybe he will come good before that.:rolleyes:

I reckon he'll win the brownlow this year, perhaps even a Pulitzer, but then I've had a fairly big day so why don't all you flogs just lay off the poor kid and let him get on with what ever it it is hes got to do.
he's not the reason we're not winning. Go Tigers.