Fev Interview in Tassie

Blue_Virus

Aug 30, 2007
Melb
Judd for leader in 2008: Fevola Key Blues forward votes on former Eagle being captain
space.gif

*(1/2)
(2/2)

BROWNLOW medallist and premiership player Chris Judd is likely to be the new Blues captain, Carlton's Brendan Fevola said in Burnie yesterday.
Fevola also believed Judd had made the right move in leaving the troubled West Coast Eagles and joining Carlton ahead of arch-rival Collingwood.
The 2006 Coleman Medallist was in Burnie with the Make-A-Wish Foundation yesterday.
He spoke on a number of topics, including fallen Eagle Ben Cousins, in a wide-ranging interview with ANGUS LIVINGSTON yesterday.
On the next Carlton captain

"I'd say it'd be Juddy.
"It'd have to be."
On Carlton's new midfield

"Juddy's going to be a pretty good addition.
"Nick Stevens will come back in after he missed all of last year.
"Young Murph (Mark Murphy), who got tagged all year, he's the happiest I reckon.
"Bryce Gibbs has played off half-back but the last couple of games Rats (Brett Ratten) put him in the midfield.
"It'd be nice to get on the end of a couple (passes from Judd)."
On moving to West Coast

"I was never going. I knew that. The club knew that. (It was just) the media build up."
On Chris Judd leaving
the troubled Eagles

"He's made the right move I think. I think it was a pretty easy decision (to choose Carlton over Collingwood)."
On Ben Cousins

"I heard they sacked Cousins.
"Hopefully they will all sort themselves out."
On Josh Kennedy

"He's going over there. They've got a very good forward.
"He's going to be a superstar.
"He was a bit reluctant to go, but that's business."
On the Blues' chances

"So many people have come up and said `we think you're going to play in the finals this year' and I think we're a chance.
"We've only won eight out of our last 44, so if we can get eight to 10 wins it would shake things up a bit."
On his own form this year

"I kicked 60 goals, which was good.
"I got a few injuries.
"Hopefully I can kick a few goals next year, but I want to win some footy games. That's my goal and everyone else's goal for next year."
On Lance Whitnall

"With Lance gone I've been there the longest out of every player. I've seen some good years and some tough years.
"It was a bit of a shock (to see him go).
"He was our skipper this year.
"I hope another club picks him up. He could hold down full forward quite easily and probably kick 50-60 goals."
On the off-field changes
at Carlton

"I was just speaking to Heath Scotland and he got back and said it felt like he'd been gone 10 years.
"Everything's changed.
On new coach Brett Ratten

"We had Rats all year last year and he stepped up for the last six games.
"He was super for the boys.
"He's a smart coach.
"I can see our midfield prospering under him.
"He was a club champion three times and a captain."
On his injuries

"I just had the operations on my finger, thumb and shoulder on the left, and on my finger and thumb on the right.
"We start pre-season training on Tuesday the 23rd. "I've put on a bit of weight because I've not been able to do anything, so I'm looking forward to getting back in action."

from what I have heard the players say (in interviews) ..... there definitely is a different buzz around Carlton at the moment......

I only hope the boys can carry that buzz to "on the field" & really make a show of things this year!

Go Blue Boys '08 :thumbsu:

I would love to see how an interview with Steven's would go on this topic. Would he be talking up Judd to the same extent as the others?...maybe, but perhaps only for appearances.

I reckon there would have to be a slight twitch of irritation in the back of his mind through all of this. His return to the club has been overshadowed by Judd, and his leadership qualities seemingly forgotten as player after player has endorsed Judd as the next captain.

I feel for the guy, but i hope that it doesn't bother him.

I would love to see how an interview with Steven's would go on this topic. Would he be talking up Judd to the same extent as the others?...maybe, but perhaps only for appearances.

I reckon there would have to be a slight twitch of irritation in the back of his mind through all of this. His return to the club has been overshadowed by Judd, and his leadership qualities seemingly forgotten as player after player has endorsed Judd as the next captain.

I feel for the guy, but i hope that it doesn't bother him.

Surely Nick can see the issue at hand…. Missing best part of the year (no fault of his own) and now having Judd on the team means he may have missed the boat regarding the captaincy.

Maybe Nick as captain for a year or two then maybe Judd; but you have to remember Nick didn’t want Carlton initially… Collingwood f#$%ked the trade for him so we ended up with him… not that I’m complaining mind you……

"I'd say it'd be Juddy.
"It'd have to be."

I don't like those quotes. They're an example of why its sometimes better for Fev to keep his mouth shut. He's pretty much said, it has to be judd, he's the best man for the job. Now if somebody else gets it, it'll probably upset them knowing Fev didn't think they were best for it

"I'd say it'd be Juddy.
"It'd have to be."

I don't like those quotes. They're an example of why its sometimes better for Fev to keep his mouth shut. He's pretty much said, it has to be judd, he's the best man for the job. Now if somebody else gets it, it'll probably upset them knowing Fev didn't think they were best for it

I find it quite wierd considering most of them would not have had much to do with him at all.

By all these players jumping on the Judd for captain bandwagon you can only conclude that these same players dont consider Stevo an A grade leader.

Would there be any chance that the club has told a few the guys that it is going to happen and asked them to endorse Judd to the Media before anything is announced ?