Freo Loss

• Thread starter Thread starter SpInNeR

It was a very poor effort. As one of the ABC commentators said - they don't have a game plan.

panthers said:
Jump off...go on go and support some other club spinner..

seriously man, i am having real trouble understanding your posts.

i understand that sometimes in the heat of the moment that typing can be tough but thats like the third post in a row so pls....take some time and read what you are writting.

thanks in advance

on a serious note though...our game plan.

or lack of it....it is very clear to the keen supporter nearly every week win lose or draw but on subiacos wide spaces it just becomes more clearer to the naked eye.....it is quite embarrassing frankly

win lose or draw...what our team lacks is any type of momentum building which is the exact effect of not having a proper game plan.

It was disappointing that our players were unable to produce the gameplan.
It was disappointing that our coaching staff found no tactics that were successful in overcoming the Dockers.

Our performance was definitely hampered by the loss of Thompson and Blake.

Raph Clarke, Rix, Kosi, Peckett and Luke Ball were either ordinary or not up to it fitness wise.

We were short at least one midfielder, maybe two and the selection of too many talls was a real blunder by the selection committee, given the conditions.

Defining every loss as GT's fault is simplistic and belies a child-like approach to supporting your club. Calling all supporters who do not think the way you do, ignorant, is a similar offence.

StKildonan said:
It was disappointing that our coaching staff found no tactics that were successful in overcoming the Dockers.

That is what concersn me more than anything else.

When we are beaten (think of the last 3 losses, Freo, Adelaide and West Coast. We have been exploited in the middle of the ground. They got numbers back and then used their extra pace to push the ball back down our throats and sniff easy golas whilst we ourselves are trying to get back.

Its so frusterating. I hate watching us play like that. I hate watching us screw around with the ball, I hate the fact we always bomb the ball to G-Train and 'Roo whilst they have 2 and 3 defenders on them.

I keep waiting for a different game plan to come out when this happens. I am yet to see a sign of it. Round 24 is appraching very quickly.

Like I said spanner all you seem to do is whinge If your not happy email the club with your concerns or like i suggested front up on Monday morning and "vent your spleen"

Oh and StKildonan come on mate get "your gameplan together mate....obviously spanner blames you for Freo being far better than us on the night

StKildonan said:
It was disappointing that our players were unable to produce the gameplan.

Our performance was definitely hampered by the loss of Thompson and Blake.

Raph Clarke, Rix, Kosi, Peckett and Luke Ball were either ordinary or not up to it fitness wise.

We were short at least one midfielder, maybe two and the selection of too many talls was a real blunder by the selection committee, given the conditions.

Defining every loss as GT's fault is simplistic and belies a child-like approach to supporting your club. Calling all supporters who do not think the way you do, ignorant, is a similar offence.

GEEEEE....who made the same mistake in R1 in selecting too many talls for the big perth ground????

who...who stkildadon...thats right....that big fat man in the box!!! (fiora wasnt picked to my memory)

It is disgusting that the same mistakes continue to be made....and the same fool continue to acept mediocrity!!!!!

Shame Shame Shame......

....seriously wake up to urself...

Edited to remove personal abuse

The saints played too wide in the game, you could see they weren't going to get anywhere by doing that. When the ball went through the middle they looked a different team, much more competitive than the score would suggest. I was sitting with a saints supporter he couldn't believe they kept going wide when it wasn't working and was very frustrated.

One of the reasons we hadn't been towelled up that badly by the flood for a long while was that we had developed more avenues to goal up forward but the main one - Vossy - was required down back and the other - Kosi - looked like he had lead weights on. Another option on occasions has been Schwarze but he's been out for a while.

Of course, the other way we have improved is by having our midfield control the footy and move forward in an organised fashion but you just look really stupid if you come up against a side that is willing to smash you at every contest and work harder than you.

The other avenues to goal recently, by the way, have been Gram, Fiora, Goddard and Joey and they all got killed (although Gram was OK). Anyone noticed that when Joey plays badly we lose?

Anyone for having Milne play in the forward line again?

I thought Goddard was OK

Ball definately needs a rest for 2 weeks

We need leg speed, Mcqualter perhaps needs another go

Personaly..(now hear me out before you have a go.) i think Thommo did coach quite poorly. along with the fact that our confidence was shot to peices after 5 goals in a row (How often does Dal fumble the ball 3 times in a row, wet or dry?) but we had to many big men, and there should have been alot more talk about bringing it in through the corridor ( i can remember seeing Harvs in the 2nd quarter trying to get evryone to push in but they wouldnt) and to add to that week in week out we get smashed a CHF im not too sure if this is just a lack of number but im getting quite annoyed at it to tell you the truth.

P.S - I would kill to have lenny up and running

GO Sainters.

Your mob have had a rotten run with injuries, so it's hard to run a line through exactly where the Saints are at. There a much better side that what was shown on Saturday night, but it may be time to invest in a ruckman.

Fehring said:
One of the reasons we hadn't been towelled up that badly by the flood for a long while was

Fehring, I can't agree with the idea that flooding is what beat you. It was a very small feature of the game, and really only happened when you guys moved the ball forward at a snails pace. You were beaten in the centre, up forward and down back. Looked to me like the number of players you had returning from injury was a major factor, especially at a ground the size of Subi. CC exploited that, and we were the better side on the day. Would not be surprised to see that turn around in a final in Melbourne though.

yes too much asked of too few who were fit

i thought riewoldt fisher were excellent & kosi & ball gave everything their bodies would let them

wheres your arguement for that one stkildadon????

have time to edit my post yet theres no post reply????

well well well i must have made a good point....

... or alternatively, I was short of time on my way to work. :eek:

Edit: Please see how I spell my name, "StKildonan"

SpInNeR said:
Defend that Stkildadon!!!!!!!

.......absolute disgrace.

It almost sounds as if you enjoyed seeing us getting destroyed so you could log in and say this sentence.

I'm done reading any of your posts anymore from now on.

Go Saints!

Thomas has had long enough to show the goods.

Wallace came up with an unconventional game plan to beat the Crows earlier this year, Eade continues to conjure up something from nothing, and we bumble along without results - knowing full well that our best players are soon going be facing open cheque books from rival clubs. With GT at the helm who could blame them for going, at least they may get some leadership and direction at another club and have a realistic shot at a flag.

Bottom line is that Thomas has had his chance. Can anyone see him devising a game plan that can win us an important game against the odds?

Clangers like "we are looking forward to not playing home games in Tassie" the week before St K plays an important game there and today's "management speak" about Bangers just highlights his ineptitude.

That's the sort of logic that has got us to where we are today. It completely ignores the contextual factors which weigh more heavily than simple percentages.

The head-to-head stats between GT and TW/RE are skewed by the fact that Rich and Foots have been woeful over the last few years but are now starting to trend upwards because of recent draft picks and decent coaching approaches. GT had the luxury of playing them with the argubly the best list going around while they were just getting up off the canvass.

We have had our draft benefits but it appears that they have been squirted up the wall. Our window of opportunity has just about passed so why should we persist (read - risk ourt future) with an unproven coach. In fact, he is not even unproven any more - he's a confirmed dud.

No Latin here, but for St Kilda it's the old addage of "when you're in a hole stop digging"

Scutter said:
so why should we persist (read - risk ourt future) with an unproven coach. In fact, he is not even unproven any more - he's a confirmed dud.

"

Well Siad MY friend

Imaging GT was the man at Brisbane during 2001-2004....

Surely that team would have been able to make the finals.....

But win three premierships in a row during a time when there are 16 teams in the competition...i think not.

Yet by just making the finals - GT's record would be great.

If this is what you want StKildonan then so be it...ur attitude has plagued the club from its existance.

You need to see the bigger picture...it has been for years now that no matter how good we became we could always became a hell of a lot better.

Facts Figures and Injuries dont matter anymore....No supporter deserves to feel that ill feeling that I and my father and any person who has a thorough knowledge of the game feels at every game.

We has no momentum...and never experience even an ounce of it during any game....this is what kills us....and what wins premierships.