Packers, Detroit Tigers
Cats supporters on our board in the past week have behaved every bit as badly as Carlton supporters who, until this week, had OWNED the annual Fehring "Biggest W#nker Supporters" award for the past 108 years.

There have been some notable, and very magnanimous, exceptions and those posters should be thanked because intelligent debate is the cornerstone of the board (OK, perhaps I'm overstating there).

But I've been very surprised. Unlike others, I don't believe in red carding those who makes inflammatory comments, but it's useful to point out when supporters are acting like idiots. Let me make it clear that I'm not talking about "arrogance". Every team has supporters who come on and make comments about how much better their team is, but the number of petty, fight-picking Cats supporters who want to pick up on every comment you make and try to find offence has been something to behold. And they keep coming back, making multiple stupid comments like a bit part character from Dawn of the Dead.

If you want a comparison, compare it with the generally respectful tone of the Pies fans on the main StKilda/Collingwood thread on our board. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=491494

Just thought I'd put that out there. Mods, if I'm being overly inflammatory please feel free to pull the thread down, but I thought someone should point out the fact that we've had an entire peanut farm invade our board this week.

It just got to the point this week where it wasn't fun to come on and read. Once that occurs, I think there is a serious problem, because isn't that why we all come here? To have some fun talking footy? I don't come on here to be abused, and while I don't mind the odd troll to make (not-so) witty reparte with, eventually, struth, why bother.

Yeah, those few bad apples should be put out into the compost :mad:

I guess with Geelong being the top team of the last couple of years has been an invitation to all those inferior knobby nutjobs on board the wagon.

As Percy mentioned it wasn't fun to come on & read & I dont have much time to access the site, not enough time to sift through the garbage for the golden nuggets - HEY it looks like golden colour to me! :eek:

:p

I think the mods are doing their best to junk them as soon as possible which to me is the best way of filing some of the posts under "B" (for bin).

All week I have been reminded of a South Park episode. From Wikipedia (only slightly edited I promise) :

“Kyle's father Gerald becomes a Geelong supporter and goes around showing off to everyone. He begins an unwelcomed campaign to convert the other townspeople. This behaviour annoys his friend Randy (a St Kilda supporter), who complains that Gerald now preachily talks with his eyes closed, and that he almost likes the smell of his own farts. Deciding that they cannot live among such backward, unsophisticated folk, Gerald decides to move his family to Geelong.

Cartman (another Saints fan) is joyous over Kyle's leaving and, after holding a farewell party for Kyle that everyone but Kyle is invited to attend, not celebrating Kyle, but the fact that Kyle is leaving. He decides to fill the void by ripping on Butters, whom he now calls a "Carlton supporter". Stan coldly predicts that, without Kyle around to rip on, Cartman's life will be empty.

In Geelong, Kyle's father is glad to meet like-minded "progressive" people, who, in mid-conversation, fart loudly, bend over and inhale with pleasure, before resuming discussions of their philosophies. Kyle finds it difficult to fit in with the other kids, who take drugs to deal with their parents' "smugginess". Kyle refuses the offer of acid but, after seeing that his dad is even more arrogant than before (sniffing his own fart), and given he had no choice but to become a Geelong supporter, asks for "maybe just half a hit," while his brother Ike takes three.

The cloud of smug forms and it is revealed that the cloud of smug from George Clooney 78th Academy Awards acceptance speech (which claimed that the AFL was "ahead of the curve" on social issues) will soon drift into the center of the "super cell" and create "the perfect storm of self-satisfaction", which will completely destroy Geelong.

Cartman, meanwhile, finds Butters too nice and, due to his lack of self-esteem, unwilling to defend himself as Kyle did, quickly loses patience and wishes that Kyle would return, fulfilling Stan's prediction. To top it all off, Butters states that he is really not a Carlton supporter at all, much to Cartman's irritation.

Cartman, desperate to get Kyle back so that he can resume hating him, secretly goes to Geelong with Butters, planning to infiltrate the city and rescue his foe. Afraid of Geelong's moron and ******* movements (which he hates), Cartman wears an "anti-smug suit" (connected to a hose with an air supply managed by Butters). Just as the storm hits, Cartman finds the Broflovskis in their house, completely stoned on acid and smug.

The storm destroys thousands of homes, and Geelong disappears "completely up its own arseh*le".

The townspeople vow never again to buy Geelong memberships. Kyle points out that Geelong really are a good thing; but the people who are supporters should just not be smug about it, or act as if they are above everybody else. "

I think one premiership and they have forgotten the flag drought and the multiple failures in the years between.
They have forgotten they were the first Victorian side to lose the AFL premiership to an interstate club.
In short, they have forgotten humility and many are behaving like Matthew Scarlett did on the weekend. A touch of arrogance is creeping in and as long as it is not Sydney playing them in the GF (hopefully it is us!) I am leaning toward hoping another side knocks them off this year. They, and their supporters should remember that they still have to get ONE more premiership before they go back-to-back and TWO more premierships in the bag before they have a three-peat. I think many are assuming that they already have the Cup sewn up until 2009 or even 2010. maybe they do, but they are not there yet this year - let alone next year.

The Blues were civilised in comparison.
Personally I consider it to be bad form to gloat. The Cats guys were basically gloating in advance. Karma will get them eventually.

karma will come around in the name of Buddy Franklin!!
hope you guys get over the line against collingscum, ill be cheering for ya!!

In relation to the thread title, Geelong supporters are the biggest bunch of ferals going around, in the Members last week I had one guy a row infront of me talk the biggest load of rubbish i have ever heard. things such as (in a weasle like voice) 'c-mon catters' every 3 seconds 'keep going stevie' 'crush em moons'. Then he started to bag harves (i really started to get mad) and I simply reminded him or the R.harvey brownlow count - 2 vs Ablett jnr/snr combined 0. Seemed not to be able to heam me time and time again every time he piped up i reminded him. also asked him how such scum was let into the MCC members these days, seemed not to hear me once again. absoulute twat.

I think one premiership and they have forgotten the flag drought and the multiple failures in the years between.
That's what premierships do. You don't sit there feeling miserable about past failures when you're reigning premiers, then again, i guess you wouldn't know.

Then he started to bag harves (i really started to get mad) and I simply reminded him or the R. Harvey brownlow count - 2 vs Ablett jnr/snr combined 0.
Sounds like you were the one made to be a fool there.
Why don't you go and ask Harvey what he'd treasure more, 2 Brownlows or a flag.

That's what premierships do. You don't sit there feeling miserable about past failures when you're reigning premiers, then again, i guess you wouldn't know.

This drivel from one who bitched and moaned for years about getting rid of Thompson and then jumped right back on the Bomber bandwagon as soon as things turned around. What a hypocrite!

I'd say piss off back to your own board, but they don't like parasites there either.

I'd rather bitch and moan and be wrong and rewarded with a premiership than sit and watch my team happily under perform year after year.
Look forward to you talking up 2009 after you lose tonight.

I'd rather bitch and moan and be wrong and rewarded with a premiership than sit and watch my team happily under perform year after year.
Look forward to you talking up 2009 after you lose tonight.

At least I don't whinge, don't presume, and on other accounts we shall just have to wait and see won't we now.

And THANKYOU for proving the exact point of this thread.

Premierships don't turn people in jerks. It just seems sometimes it simply releases the jerk within them that was always there.

I personally like to think that if I was to see the Saints take out the big one, it wouldn't make me think that gave me the right to make fans from other clubs feel miserable.

Sounds like you were the one made to be a fool there.
Why don't you go and ask Harvey what he'd treasure more, 2 Brownlows or a flag.[/QUOTE]

Harvs after the game in the interview mentioned that its good signs for the club, including the younger players who are showing signs. by the sounds of that the clubs more important then a flag for himself.

Your board so you should say what you like

However

Categorising 'Geelong Supporters' based on some people on big footy? Go to the games the cat fans really dont say much to opposition fans or act arrogant. However i love to dish it out big time when an opposition fan acts like an idiot.

St Kilda ppl in 2004 while getting all these great picks continually said you would win flags before us. In fact you were overly confident and failed. Even BF fans started numerous threads on how you would beat us in this years QF. so now you can expect to hear all about it.

Dont ever forget how confident you guys used to be, our opinions were discarded, you gave our team no respect. This reached almighty proportions during 'the streak' Now we are giving back the respect Saints gave Geelong.

Categorising 'Geelong Supporters' based on some people on big footy? Go to the games the cat fans really dont say much to opposition fans or act arrogant. However i love to dish it out big time when an opposition fan acts like an idiot.

Don't take it personally bud. Most comments would be directed at the twits stirring up crap. Goodonya for sorting out those idiots though. The world's a better place with you in it.

St Kilda ppl in 2004 while getting all these great picks continually said you would win flags before us.

Our draft picks in 2004 were:

• Andrew McQualter
  • Cain Ackland
  • Mark McGough
  • James Gwilt
  • Luke Mullins
  • Edward McDonnell
In fact you were overly confident and failed.
hindsight 20/20
Even BF fans started numerous threads on how you would beat us in this years QF.
worth a crack, why would we give up before the first bounce, that would be looney tunes man.
so now you can expect to hear all about it.
ok ... go on then...
Don't ever forget how confident you guys used to be, our opinions were discarded, you gave our team no respect.
Yes we rightly were, your opinion is still disregard, didn't deserve it back then
This reached almighty proportions during 'the streak' Now we are giving back the respect Saints gave Geelong.
Thats it, you're off my Christmas card list!

Your board so you should say what you like

However

St Kilda ppl in 2004 while getting all these great picks continually said you would win flags before us. In fact you were overly confident and failed. Even BF fans started numerous threads on how you would beat us in this years QF. so now you can expect to hear all about it.

Dont ever forget how confident you guys used to be, our opinions were discarded, you gave our team no respect. This reached almighty proportions during 'the streak' Now we are giving back the respect Saints gave Geelong.

You have a selective memory, geelong fans gave back as much as they got in the year that neither achieved, also you don't mention the lucky f/s picks. easy to criticize when your team is winning.

Don't take it personally bud. Most comments would be directed at the twits stirring up crap. Goodonya for sorting out those idiots though. The world's a better place with you in it.

lol

Our draft picks in 2004 were:

• Andrew McQualter
  • Cain Ackland
  • Mark McGough
  • James Gwilt
  • Luke Mullins
  • Edward McDonnell
I didnt mean that years draft picks, previous ones and how they were coming towards their peak.

hindsight 20/20worth a crack, why would we give up before the first bounce, that would be looney tunes man. ok ... go on then...Yes we rightly were, your opinion is still disregard, didn't deserve it back thenThats it, you're off my Christmas card list!

Not worth a crack, looked arrogant. Why can only bad teams fans get away with starting threads? Hey i like your humour but.

Please make the GF....... It will be last year all over again.......

Cat's by 135

You should get together with your old mate scarlett. Combined smugness factor 135. Combined intelligence quotient 5.

BTW renegade, you were wrong ...again!!!