Great Captaincy!

• Thread starter Thread starter Zaka11

He leads from the front. He saw we needed a spark and put his hand up and copped what came after it.

300px-Thumbs_up-4-.jpg

While i've always respected Lloyd as a champion goal kicker, to say great captaincy for yesterday is an embarrassment. You guys beat us and there is no excuses but some of the comments here are awful.

Lloyd knows he's in trouble and most likely regrets it, he did hit Sewell and wasn't pushed (don't think he planned to go straight for Sewell). Apart from that he did nothing yesterday and was a liability. Some of you are looking into this far too much.

Good luck against the Crows, you'll need it and can't wait for our next encounter.

Coming from a Carlton supporter .. 1 bumps not and shouldn't change the way the hawks play? Llyod's bump inspired his team to get over the line and play finals? Even if it's going to cost him 1 week, or 2 weeks or even 3 he stood up like the leader he is and got the team over the line. Well done llyod! im sure if fev was in that position he'd probably do the same thing although id rather some dud do it then fev we need him. LOL

You guys beat us and there is no excuses but some of the comments here are awful.

The game was on the line, he stamped his authority on the game and sparked the team. If that isn't good captaincy, I don't know what the hell it is.

Lloyd knows he's in trouble and most likely regrets it..

You're joking aren't you? If you're serious, then I will never reply to one of your posts ever again. I thought you knew better.

I don't mean the bump, i'm saying he would regret the high contact. It was almost a good and fair bump ( speaking on a fan's view, not AFL view) but he should have lowered the body.

Why wouldn't he regret it? He's missing out on finals ( atleast looking like it atm) and you guys need an experienced player on the field who can step up when needed.

Gee how opinions change over the course of 1 week. First the game is soft and Franklin was treated harshly, now everyone is a sniper :D:thumbsu: Ironic thing is that comment has come from one of the biggest snipers in the game:confused:.

Enjoy you mad Monday girls:cool:

Captaincy personified. Lead by example with a beautiful bump that rocked Hawthorn and its paper thin spine. He exploded what was a hot air balloon that is tassie.

It was almost a good and fair bump ( speaking on a fan's view, not AFL view) but he should have lowered the body.

Should've, would've, could've. He made a bump and lead by example in the second half; sparking the team that ran all over the Hawks in the end.

That's called great captaincy champ.

Emabarrasing thread guys!

Why is everyone getting carried away. Lloyd played a poor game and did not exude any qualities of a decent captain what so ever. He will go for 4 wks (Lloyd & Lance = Apples & Oranges). Brown has every right to think that but should have probably kept it in house, the word sniper is a bit harsh as most blokes have had moments on the ground they would'nt be proud of. It was a great game that both Hawk & Bomber fans should have enjoyed and the Bombers thoroughly deserved there win.

Your ****ing kidding right???

you are a dead set ****wit... if breaking a guys cheek is leading from the front, then i'd hate to see what the rest of your inbred, incest ridden mob follow up with.

Mate, before you go throwing stones our way, have a look at Street Talk from last week's footy show if you really want to see the results of siblings breeding with each other, then go and have a cry to your mummy, or is that your sister....

Lloyd may have had a dog of a game but that one moment was the thing that woke us up and got us going again.

Whether people want to call it a dog act or not is irrelevant, it was a bloody hard hit and it's never nice to see anybody go down in that fashion, but that was the moment that sparked the team. That is what I would call a pretty darn good moment of leadership when he was basically otherwise completely ineffective.

Emabarrasing thread guys!

Why is everyone getting carried away. Lloyd played a poor game and did not exude any qualities of a decent captain what so ever. He will go for 4 wks (Lloyd & Lance = Apples & Oranges). Brown has every right to think that but should have probably kept it in house, the word sniper is a bit harsh as most blokes have had moments on the ground they would'nt be proud of. It was a great game that both Hawk & Bomber fans should have enjoyed and the Bombers thoroughly deserved there win.

I dont see why lloyd should get more weeks than franklin.

In both cases the affected player was concussed.

Lloyd struggled during the game. When a 50/50 ball came his way, he went in without fear or favour. It could of been anyone he hit, our blokes or Hawks, fortunately he got SEWELL. With that one action he change the game. Essendon kick 11 of 14 goals and win the game. He kept his head over the ball for the rest of the game and showed just what a class act he is. That's great captaincy and all you whinging Hawks trolls, get back to your own boards, and keep on sooking.

I admire him.

He sacrificed himself really, knowing that he had played a bad game, knowing that he had been a liability with his opponent running off him, knowing that the team is better off having Neagle and Hurley as the targets than him and most importantly, knowing that the team was as flat as a ****en pancake.

I admire him for that, he will be remembered as one of the greatest that this club has had.

A well-deserved retirement awaits him.

N.B. Hawthorn fans have no where to move on this. If they think it was deliberate, then we can simply say that he sacrificed himself for the betterment of the team.
If they think it was unintentional, then he is obviously not a sniper and therefore, it was only an accident and no worse than the Franklin bump.

Win, win.

Sewell has a fractured cheekbone and eye socket. That's not gonna hold up well for Lloyd.

You dont necessarily miss weeks with that injury.

It depends whether you need an operation.

If they think it was deliberate, then we can simply say that he sacrificed himself for the betterment of the team.
If they think it was unintentional, then he is obviously not a sniper and therefore, it was only an accident and no worse than the Franklin bump.

Win, win.

Don't think it was a deliberate hit to the head, and certainly hope not, yet reading some of these posts and it sounds like some of you Essendon supporters not only feel it was deliberate, but also the mark of a good captain.
So if its OK with some of you to intentionally do what Lloyd did, if a club picks up Barry Hall and uses his mean left hook to take out the opposition play maker is that ok?
Punch is against the rules, so is head high contact so what's the difference (purely talking of intentional contact, and not saying I believe thats what happened, though some of you do)

Don't think it was a deliberate hit to the head, and certainly hope not, yet reading some of these posts and it sounds like some of you Essendon supporters not only feel it was deliberate, but also the mark of a good captain.
So if its OK with some of you to intentionally do what Lloyd did, if a club picks up Barry Hall and uses his mean left hook to take out the opposition play maker is that ok?
Punch is against the rules, so is head high contact so what's the difference (purely talking of intentional contact, and not saying I believe thats what happened, though some of you do)
I don't think you can take serious any notions of Lloyd's bump being premeditated. Anybody who's played the game would know that was a split-second decision.

There were no ill-intentions in the play; if you watch it, and I'm sure everybody's seen it plenty by now, you can see both Lloyd and Sewell's eyes locked on the ball. Coaches love this stuff, they also drag players for not committing to a contest.

So what should Lloyd have done - waited for Sewell to get the ball and get bowled over, or skirt the contest altogether? As a a footballer, an AFL footballer, and an AFL captain, Lloyd would've been scrutinised for skirting a contest. Hardly an example to set for your young team in a cut-throat match.

Lloyd's instincts told him to go in for the ball, and it so happens he had the higher ground. The fact that he was running full tilt, with a bigger body didn't do Sewell any favours. It's extremely unfortunate that Sewell suffered as a consequence, but I'm sure if you asked the question 'would you commit to the contest next time?' both Lloyd and Sewell would say 'without a doubt'.

I was really glad to see Lloyd follow Sewell up after the game and apologise; he should've, but not all players would. To me that shows remorse for the consequences, and the signs of a decent person.

Campbell Brown made something out of nothing; funny that only last week he (along with every other person Hawthorn) was bemoaning the AFL's decision to rub-out Buddy for a similar incident, only that Buddy laid an intentional bump to a player already in possession of the ball; the impact was less, the intent moreso.

Under the rules Lloyd should and will be suspended; the way Campbell Brown carried on during and post-game was disgraceful and totally unnecessary.

I don't think you can take serious any notions of Lloyd's bump being premeditated. Anybody who's played the game would know that was a split-second decision.

There were no ill-intentions in the play; if you watch it, and I'm sure everybody's seen it plenty by now, you can see both Lloyd and Sewell's eyes locked on the ball. Coaches love this stuff, they also drag players for not committing to a contest.

So what should Lloyd have done - waited for Sewell to get the ball and get bowled over, or skirt the contest altogether? As a a footballer, an AFL footballer, and an AFL captain, Lloyd would've been scrutinised for skirting a contest. Hardly an example to set for your young team in a cut-throat match.

Lloyd's instincts told him to go in for the ball, and it so happens he had the higher ground. The fact that he was running full tilt, with a bigger body didn't do Sewell any favours. It's extremely unfortunate that Sewell suffered as a consequence, but I'm sure if you asked the question 'would you commit to the contest next time?' both Lloyd and Sewell would say 'without a doubt'.

I was really glad to see Lloyd follow Sewell up after the game and apologise; he should've, but not all players would. To me that shows remorse for the consequences, and the signs of a decent person.

Campbell Brown made something out of nothing; funny that only last week he (along with every other person Hawthorn) was bemoaning the AFL's decision to rub-out Buddy for a similar incident, only that Buddy laid an intentional bump to a player already in possession of the ball; the impact was less, the intent moreso.

Under the rules Lloyd should and will be suspended; the way Campbell Brown carried on during and post-game was disgraceful and totally unnecessary.

Hear what your saying and I don't think it was pre-meditated at all, more so just negligent. Happens all the time.
Just pointing out that some posters here seem to imply it was intentional which I'm pointing out, hypothetically if it were the case, is nothing to be proud of.
The games evolved from that and some people need to catch up.
Does make me look forward to next seasons first clash with you guys though, should be a ripper.
In the mean time, you guys have finals to worry about.
Good luck next week.

Just pointing out that some posters here seem to imply it was intentional which I'm pointing out, hypothetically if it were the case, is nothing to be proud of.
I agree with you there.

Bombers supporters claiming that Lloyd intentionally ran in to clean-up Sewell to spark the side are way-off; I think they're trying to glorify his 'efforts' even further.

It was as clear as day that that incident changed the momentum of the game. It's also clear that Lloyd's courage to commit to the contest also inspired his team mates; these are why Lloyd should be commended, and not for supposedly setting out to take out an opponent.

Does make me look forward to next seasons first clash with you guys though, should be a ripper.
In the mean time, you guys have finals to worry about.
Good luck next week.
Yep definitely. Rivalry round will be intense, Lloyd or no Lloyd.

Cheers.