Skills Grip/Tacky Ointments

Kenraq

Apr 1, 2009
After looking around a bit longer, I've realised I probably should've posted this directly here rather than the "Other Sports" forum. Any input from footy players, b.ball players..etc would be greatly appreciated.

I bought my first brand new KB Sherrin on the w/e. While it's bloody awesome to just look at, the problem is that when dry - my hands have no grip whatsoever on the leather surface of the ball.

I've heard of different tacky/grip sprays or creams that get used in many different sports (golf, basketball, AFL..etc) and wondered if anyone here could point me in the right direction? Rebel Sport had no idea which I found a bit odd.

A mate who used to play footy thinks he used something called "Grippo" but I haven't found anything called this yet.

If anyone could help provide brand/product/shop names, I'd really appreciate it. Dying to have a proper kick of this bad boy :footy:

i put dubbin on my ball to protect the leather and the ball became slightly more grippier, especially in the wet

I had actually considered that to be honest mate, but I wasn't sure whether I should put dubbin on the ball or not! After spending $170 I'm slightly cautious about ruining the nice finish...even if that sounds silly considering the ball is pure leather. I've just never used it before so I'm fairly clueless.

So you'd recommend a nice coating of dubbin this arvo then?

Yeah it's leather. Basically the same as the official AFL balls.

I rubbed some Dubbin into it this morning and you're right - it does have a bit more grip now. Thanks a lot for that advice. I'm sure it's going to help the ball last longer as well. :)

I always covered my hands in dirt and spat on them before playing.

It dosent sound great but doing that was always preferable to putting wilgrip on for me because once that stuff dries its even harder to grip the footy. :thumbsu:

When I started playing footy, it was grippo or nothing. Later the trainers came up with the spray-on type which was better, but I don't remember what it was called.

What you need to find is a place that sells equipment for lawn bowls. There you will find:

Grippo - Probably the worst of the lot. In hot weather it tends to melt and then it gets slippery. Not such an issue in winter I know.
Wilgrip - pretty good stuff
Betts - better again
Crack-a-jack - the best stuff I've found, plus it smells great.

They're all designed for polishing bowls, which then gives good grip with the hand, but you can use them the other way around and put them on your hands.

That's awesome, thanks very much for that.

I'm heading to a sports shop on the w/e that sells Grippo. From what I can tell, they look as if they pretty much just specialise in bowls stuff... so I'll ask them if they have any of the others you mentioned and just get the best possible.

Good to know about the Grippo though. Sounds like I should give it a miss coming into summer now. Thanks again

*Thanks TigerGlory as well. I've used saliva on the hands before which dried pretty quickly, but I've never combined it with dirt! I'll certainly give it a try if the other options fail :)

our trainers used to have something in a green tin which was awesome, can't remember the name though.
if there's a netball forum on BF you'd be wise to post there as i know my mum, sister and missus used to use some sort of liquid grip.
i think sportsmart in moorabbin has had something like that on the shelves in the past as well.

My brother is a football player. He always uses one type of polymer gel known as Grip Boost on his hands.