CrAckDoGGer

Tuesday 19 July 2005
www.westernbulldogs.com.au

Western Bulldogs - Where was Jesse Wells playing when you first spotted him?

Scott Clayton
He was playing for the Tasmanian Mariners in the Challenge Cup. They weren’t actually in the TAC Under 18’s Cup at that stage, they were still in the Challenge Cup and they played against New South Wales and Queensland in a round robin format.

WB – What type of role did Jesse play at junior level? Ruck or as a key forward?

Scott Clayton
A bit of both, he even played on the wing and down back so he was very versatile.

WB – What were some of Jesse’s qualities which made him stand out?

Scott Clayton
Well he is 195/196 cms so he is obviously really tall. He has a big body, he is very very quick, I think he was the Tasmanian 100 metre sprint champion for a few years and he has great agility and a big leap, so he certainly has a lot of tricks.

WB – Did you first meet Jesse at the Draft Camp?

Scott Clayton
No I had spoken to him a few times before and had interviewed him two or three times throughout the year.

WB – What were your first impressions of him when you first met?

Scott Clayton
He is a quiet guy who you could say lacks a bit of confidence. But he has a lot of developing to do both off the field as well as on the field he is improving with both all the time.

WB – Jesse has spent most of this year down at Werribee. Do you think he is a chance to play senior football with the Bulldogs next season?

Scott Clayton
Certainly next year he is, he needs another big pre-season because he came off an interrupted pre-season this year with a knee injury. He did the hard work and got it right but then hurt it again so he needs another big pre-season.

WB – Were you aware of any other teams who were keen to pick up Jesse in the build up to the draft?

Scott Clayton
Everyone had a look at him so he was certainly going to get drafted, it was just a matter of where.

WB – Did the fact that he is a key forward influence you to pick him up as early as possible?

Scott Clayton
Yeah sure, I mean someone that size you have to keep turning them over until you find one and he is a great size and height and he has some great physical attributes. He also played some pretty good footy at junior level, so a culmination of all those things was encouraging.

WB – What do you think is his best feature? Pace, strength, kicking?

Scott Clayton
I think his speed and his leap, as well as his agility are his best features.

WB – What position do you think will end up being Jesse’s preferred spot on the ground when he reaches his peak?

Scott Clayton
I think he is going to be a deep forward, a full forward for sure.

Thoughts????

Seems to me like yet another player drafted on athletic ability rather than actual football talent.

SirBloodyIdiot said:
Seems to me like yet another player drafted on athletic ability rather than actual football talent.
SBI, sometimes your name says it all. He hasnt even pulled on the boots and you're having a Bandy style dig.

the dog catcher said:
SBI, sometimes your name says it all. He hasnt even pulled on the boots and you're having a Bandy style dig.

Look, I never said that he hasn't got ability, I've never seen him play.

But from what Clayton is saying, it SEEMS he was DRAFTED on athletism rather than ability.

Bloody read the post.

SirBloodyIdiot said:
Look, I never said that he hasn't got ability, I've never seen him play.

But from what Clayton is saying, it SEEMS he was DRAFTED on athletism rather than ability.

Bloody read the post.
I'll defend SBI here. I would have liked to hear Clayton say "I saw him take 14 marks and kick 8 goals against Glenorchy so we hid him away for the rest of the season".

No point being able to run 100 in even time if you don't know where to run. You just get to where the ball ain't quicker.

scooter600x said:
I'll defend SBI here. I would have liked to hear Clayton say "I saw him take 14 marks and kick 8 goals against Glenorchy so we hid him away for the rest of the season".

No point being able to run 100 in even time if you don't know where to run. You just get to where the ball ain't quicker.
He leads to the ball well and knows where to put his body.

He has a huge frame and could really fill out to be a huge forward.

Jump on the wagon now.

scooter600x said:
Now I've only seen him once (Nth Ballarat), but the one thing that really disappointed me was he didn't lead to the ball at all well. It seemed to me the place he most put his body was where the ball wasn't.
Ive only seen him 2 or 3 times because i dont wake up to watch the Werribee 2s.

But what i have seen he plays a lot of Ruck/FF and leads well and tryies to take to many pack marks but doesnt have the up body strength at the moment.

Wells the great white hope Wagoners has 2 members Bogan4life and Bulldogstragic, full list will be sent to jesse wells :D

Jesse Wells ---------------------Trent Bartlett

Big tall bloke -------------------Big tall Bloke

Talented ---------------------Talented

Tasmanian ------------------- At least playing in Tassie

The new Trent Bartlett (The uggboot lives on people)

Get on board (This one can really, really play)

CrAckDoGGer said:
Tuesday 19 July 2005

WB – What do you think is his best feature? Pace, strength, kicking?

Scott Clayton
I think his speed and his leap, as well as his agility are his best features.

QUOTE]

I would love to see comments like, he is a great mark, gets plenty of the footy and has great decision making skills....

Not he has a great leap.......BTW he can't mark for S***.

CrAckDoGGer said:
Tuesday 19 July 2005

Scott Clayton
Yeah sure, I mean someone that size you have to keep turning them over until you find one and he is a great size and height and he has some great physical attributes. He also played some pretty good footy at junior level, so a culmination of all those things was encouraging.

I agree that if you keep on recruiting that 6'3"-6'6" type of player that sooner or later you will end up with a senior capable marking forward.

scooter600x said:

They say it is harder to make an elite athlete out of someone who doesn't have the natural tools than to make a good footballer out of an elite athlete. Plenty of blokes are drafted on footballing ability but never make it because they lack athletic ability.

Lucky Star said:
They say it is harder to make an elite athlete out of someone who doesn't have the natural tools than to make a good footballer out of an elite athlete. Plenty of blokes are drafted on footballing ability but never make it because they lack athletic ability.

Mick Nolan was an exeption though

Yeah J Wells

Has the assests physical but doesnt have the mental attitude to be able to use them.

been told by a few people that have seen it first hand. in tassie not many people view himas a good player

the deer said:
been told by a few people that have seen it first hand. in tassie not many people view himas a good player

Mate have youu seen him this year?

Have you seen him since he has joined a AFL club?

I to have heard as a kid he didnt need to work hard, but now he is at the dogs his attuidee has spun 180.

He is working bloody hard and never gives up at Werribee, he puts in 2nd 3rd and 4 th efforts. He has been working hard in the gym and has spent a lot of time with Chris Grant and Luke Darcy to try and take his game to the next Step

Unless you have seen him then you shouldnt comment on what others are saying.

Scott Clayton rates him high, and so do i.