How's David Haynes going?

I’ve been very impressed so far with David. He’s been playing a role up forward, however was dropped down back on the weekend in a last ditched attempt to quell a Blues attack.

He has a great grab on him, and will be a very prominent member of the team this year. One of the only shining lights to date.

I remember watching him at the Eagles and he's really playing quite the same way, getting about the same amount of ball too. Taken some good grabs, provided some mobility around half forward, and some direct kicks into the 50.

Still likes to kick long and direct, so he obviously hasnt been listening to Bomber.

But in all seriousness, has been a good pick up and he'll probably end up being our most consistent target up forward this year (and you can take from that what you like :D).

Good to hear Haynesy is off to an encouraging start - the mood your blokes are in about your team at the moment, David seems to have done quite well! ;)

At the Eagles, he finally showed something in 2003, but seen as how we already have the likes of Judd, Embley, Sampi and Chick floating around half forward (when they aren't in the middle), he was given a chance at full forward where he pretty much managed to sum himself up as a player -

Good player who is just not quite good enough or big enough to be a go-to man.

Hence us trading him, as we lack a go-to man that can consistently take contested marks, not flankers. As a half forward option, he'll be fine and you'll probably get 25+ goals from him over the year, but I have my doubts over whether he has a lot to offer up forward besides that - maybe as a 3rd tall?, but yes, like us, you need those other 2 talls firing before you start thinking about the 3rd.

Good luck to him though, it was only a perceived lack of opportunities that saw him out of West Coast.

David has been a good pick-up for us. His one-grab marking is a feature, though as mentioned above, he does tend to play on alot when it is unnecessary. His kicking could also do with some improvement, but all in all I'm satisfied with the way he has contributed thus far into the season.

Originally posted by GeeCat
David has been a good pick-up for us. His one-grab marking is a feature, though as mentioned above, he does tend to play on alot when it is unnecessary.
That's pretty much right.

He does play on a lot, but that would be his natural instinct in moving the ball quickly around the ground.

Originally posted by catattack
That's pretty much right.

He does play on a lot, but that would be his natural instinct in moving the ball quickly around the ground.

He's not helping moving the ball quickly at all if he gets caught, which has happened a few times already. Though there have been times when he has been able to shrug off the would-be tackler, I'd still rather he turn, look at what's around him then take off. Basically I'd like him to be more aware of what's around him.

David is probably used to players running fwd for a handball or pass or at least to put a shepard on as is the wce style
At geelong our midfielders are instructed not to run fwd of the ball
(bartel for one) David will have to learn to stop, prop and kick sideways.
The way haynes gos about his footy is another indictment on our setup/style
Its sad but true in a few weeks Haynes will be standing at h/f after a good mark waiting for a lead that will never come.
Keep playing on "dessie".............. some one will catch on

David has been a good pick-up for us. His one-grab marking is a feature, though as mentioned above, he does tend to play on alot when it is unnecessary. His kicking could also do with some improvement, but all in all I'm satisfied with the way he has contributed thus far into the season.

I think playing on is good because it moves the ball on fast. The thing is in our forward line we don't have many tall options that are taking marks so moving it in fast is to our advantage.

A couple of free kicks is to be expected, personally i am a fan.

Originally posted by Cat In A Hat
I think playing on is good because it moves the ball on fast. The thing is in our forward line we don't have many tall options that are taking marks so moving it in fast is to our advantage.

A couple of free kicks is to be expected, personally i am a fan.

As I stated above, I'd rather he become more aware and stop, prop, and check before playing on. Better to be safe than sorry.

Yes but to win games you have to be safe and sorry and if Haynes stops props and kicks over the mark we struggle to have a target capable of taking a mark inside 50, and if we pump it in after he has played on we have a better chance of taking a mark because of less congestion.

My point is if Haynes can grab his mark, and then develop an awareness as to what is in front of him before he takes off, he will be much better off. I myself do not mind Dessie playing on as, agree-ably, he moves the ball faster. I'd just like Dessie to develop an awareness by constantly allowing his head to think first before his body acts and takes off.

You just cant sit there for 10 minutes have a think! :confused: ummm what should i do now. His awareness of other players will come along alot better as he knows the players of the forwardline's game and his delivery will consequently improve. The best way to learn their games is to do what you would normally be expected to do if you knew there game, and in Haynes case it would be play on at all possible times.

One of the main team rules of football clubs is 'to play on at all possible times'.

You just cant sit there for 10 minutes have a think! :confused: ummm what should i do now. His awareness of other players will come along alot better as he knows the players of the forwardline's game and his delivery will consequently improve. The best way to learn their games is to do what you would normally be expected to do if you knew there game, and in Haynes case it would be play on at all possible times.

One of the main team rules of football clubs is 'to play on at all possible times'.

You obviously misinterpreted what I stated. When I say look around and be aware, I don't mean stare around the oval for 10 minutes. Rather, I'm asking him to check over his shoulder quickly or take a quick glance ahead to see if there is a charging would-be tackler approaching. If you look at the better players in the league, they don't simply just dash off. They are always prepared to glance back or ahead to see if they are clear.

Football is a game about making a split second decision you dont have time especially at AFL level, you have instinct.

If that's what you reckon, then Haynes has poor instinct. If he is to continue playing with this 'instinct' of his, he needs the awareness to go with it. Again, look at good players in the league. For those specially gifted, they are aware of what's around them. For the less fortunate, they know when to look back and check before taking off.

Thats cos they know what there players can do and they know where their opposition is and they have the confidence to take them on. All players can do that.

Haynes hasnt been with Geelong long enough to have the instinct to know where his players will be cos he doesnt know there game plan all that well yet but it will come in time. SO GET OFF HIS BACK. His defensive presence in the forward structure has been great and I think he will be a handy pick up.

Thats cos they know what there players can do and they know where their opposition is and they have the confidence to take them on. All players can do that.

Haynes hasnt been with Geelong long enough to have the instinct to know where his players will be cos he doesnt know there game plan all that well yet but it will come in time. SO GET OFF HIS BACK. His defensive presence in the forward structure has been great and I think he will be a handy pick up.

All players can do that? Sure all players can play on but whether they get away with it is another thing altogether. I never said Haynes had an instinct to know where his teammates were, but if you put it that way, if Haynes had developed some sort of awareness and taken a glance, he'd know where the opposition is coming from and where his own teammates are rather than making a split-second decision to play on with a 50-50 chance of getting caught. And when have I been on Dessie's back at all? If you had bothered to read any previous posts, you'd know that I said I thought Haynes was a good pick-up but just had to be aware before playing on so regularly. This again proves my point that you don't make very intelligent posts. Jubs also said earlier on that he thought Haynes was a good pick-up though he should stop playing on so much as well. You gonna have a dig at Jubs too because he was so called "on Haynes's back"? Pull your head out of your arse mate.

LMAO

LOL get a life you fat piece of ****

What's the matter, run out of lame responses that you have been forced to use childish insults? It would appear that I have won our debate. Game. Set. Match

lol, have u ever got off you 400pound arse andplayed football or are you an armchair expert?