Senior Hugh McCluggage (2016-)

2021 Season Review: Hugh McCluggage

Article-Size-Template.png

The ‘Rolls Royce’ of the Brisbane Lions continues to improve… and is still only 23-years-old.

Averaging 25 disposals a game, McCluggage continued to develop into one of the most damaging wingers in the competition in 2021.

With injury ruling reigning Brownlow Medallist, Lachie Neale out for 5 weeks, ‘Clug’ stepped up.

The silky midfielder averaged 31 disposals through Rounds 6 – 11 while becoming the most effective kick I50 in the competition.

The young star was rewarded for yet another consistent season, being named in the 40-Man All-Australian squad for the third year in a row while only notching his 100th game in Round 19.

He also finished Runner-Up in the Merrett-Murray Medal vote, his third Top 3 finish in as many years.

Speaking at the Lions Best & Fairest count, McCluggage showed his leadership qualities as he humbly accepted the Nigel Lappin Trophy.

“To the coaching staff and all the other staff that have continually helped us out this year, it’s an amazing effort from all of you guys,” McCluggage said.

“I know it’s tough on us players travelling and being away from our families for longer than we probably thought. But for you guys to do it just to help us out on our journey is really special.”

“To the boys, we’ll stick at it. I know it’s disappointing in the way we went out but there’s a lot still to come.

“We’ve got a very young list and a group of great blokes who can achieve a lot I reckon, if we can all stick together and work hard for it. There’s plenty more to come.”

Standout performance: Hugh’s Spin of Greatness

It was hard to choose a standout performance from our consistent star.

Having racked up 28 disposals on seven different occasions, there isn’t necessarily a wrong answer when selecting a standout performance from Hugh.

However, it was the 23-year-olds performance v Fremantle in Round 8 that really caught the eye of spectators across the nation.

With a measly 95 touches across the previous three weeks leading up to the Fremantle clash at the Gabba, one might expect a quieter game from a young player still growing his game.

Hugh, however, had other plans…

Collecting 27 touches, 6 marks, 5 tackles and a goal, McCluggage was a human highlight reel.

A late handball into traffic in the second quarter would usually spell carnage for most players on the receiving end.

In a sign of the stardom to come, McCluggage impressively spun his way around two Fremantle players (one of them being Nat Fyfe), leaving them in his wake as he blazed away Inside 50.

03CoBr21DT191955519.JPG

Season Averages

Disposals – 25

Disposal Efficiency – 63.8%

Marks – 5.1

Score Involvements – 6.5

Inside 50s – 4.5

Lions Star Working with Ex-Blues Assistant to Fix Flaw

Brisbane star Hugh McCluggage has been working hard to improve his finishing in front of goal over the summer months.

The 23-year-old midfielder is a polished field kick, but his kicking for goal has been wayward over the last two seasons, finishing with 8.21 in 2020 and 15.22 in 2021.

Across his 106-game career, McCluggage has kicked 64 goals and 81 behinds and has often struggled to convert from a set shot.

McCluggage has been working with new Lions midfield coach and former Blues assistant Cameron Bruce to fix his goalkicking woes.

“I think my delivery inside 50 was really good last year,” McCluggage told Sportsday.

“But just my finishing around goals is something that’s spoken about and I’m doing a lot of work to improve that.

“Obviously lots of repetition but probably more deliberate practice this pre-season.

0 seconds of 1 minute, 11 secondsVolume 0%
x close
“Just looking at the technique of it, looking at the mindset as well and then practising those normal field kicks at goal.

“Cam Bruce has just come to the club, and I’ve been doing a lot of work on my snaps and those shots under pressure with him.

“Because as a midfielder you get a lot of tough shots and I get a lot of tough shots, so I’m trying to get better at them.”

McCluggage has been named in the All-Australian squad of 40 for three straight years, but is yet to earn his maiden AA blazer.

McCluggage: "Energy Needs to be High Early"

Hugh-Presser-Article.png

Brisbane is desperate to avoid a repeat of the slow start that dogged its 2021, with wingman Hugh McCluggage saying Saturday night's opener against Port Adelaide is all about "energy".

The Lions lost badly to Sydney in the corresponding match last season and were 1-3 following defeats at the hands of Geelong and the Western Bulldogs, which sandwiched an after-the-siren win over Collingwood.

McCluggage said Brisbane was mindful of that ahead of playing Ken Hinkley's men at the Gabba on Saturday night.

"We saw what Sydney did to us in round one … they picked us apart," McCluggage said.

"We were a little bit flat, so we've just got to be switched on from the start against Port Adelaide, who we think will be thereabouts again this year.

"We want to make sure the energy is high early in the season, which comes with having a bit of fun and having a laugh."

McCluggage conceded the slow start, and another three-match slide late in the season, took energy away from the Lions as they played catch-up.

"We need to make sure we're more consistent this year for sure," he said.

"I don't think you run out there after those losses thinking you've got to play harder or spend more energy, but you probably do naturally because you want to get in the best position possible on the ladder and every game really does count."

Introducing Our '22 Leaders

Returning to the group are 2021 All Australian Daniel Rich, defensive stalwarts Darcy Gardiner and Ryan Lester, champion midfielder Lachie Neale and his best mate and forward line general Linc McCarthy and emerging champion Hugh McCluggage.

Sharp Shooting McCluggage Continuing to Grow

article-size-template.png

When Hugh McCluggage coolly dobbed his third goal against Essendon, it was firmly in the shadows of Lachie Neale's match-winning star turn.

But for both McCluggage and coach Chris Fagan, it was a crucial step forward.

The classy Lion has made his mark with his field kicking and workrate across 108 games, but hitting the scoreboard has proved more challenging.

After booting 15.22 last season and 8.21 in 2020 McCluggage homed in on his goal-kicking throughout pre-season.

"I'm getting the opportunities to have the shots but it's just finishing off has been my issue," he told AAP.

"It was just nice to get a couple away (against Essendon)."

Fagan noted McCluggage had nailed two set shots and a left-foot snap against the Bombers, and stressed they were reward for effort.

"That's evidence of growth in Hugh, but that's no surprise to me or to us," Fagan said.

"He's an unbelievable young man who never stops trying to get better. So I hope for his sake and our sake that he does take his game to another level."

McCluggage, 24, has made a name for himself on the wing but expects to branch out this season.

"I'm just going to play a variety of different positions, getting forward, playing on a wing, which I know I can do, and also get through the midfield," he said.

"Just building through the year really, I'll push forward and hopefully kick a few goals.

"But I'm just really looking forward to hopefully developing some more and being part of some team success would be nice as well."

Brisbane are 2-0 for the first time since 2019, something McCluggage believed would hold them in good stead as they attempt to avoid more finals heartbreak.

"Last year we started poorly, we were 1-3 and we've put a lot of emphasis on the fact that you need to have a good start," McCluggage said.

"Because if you start behind the eight-ball then then it can be tough to drag back and we probably ran out of puff a little bit later on in the year.

"So it's nice to just get two wins on the board."

And McCluggage is more than happy to play second fiddle to Neale, who looks back to his brilliant best.

"This year he's just gone to another level," McCluggage said.

"He's as fit as I've ever seen him and you can see the first two rounds he's been hitting the scoreboard as well.

"It's really exciting, he's in great form."

Look out, Suns: Lions targeting fast start in QClash

BRISBANE ace Hugh McCluggage says there will be no mental letdown when the Lions travel an hour south to play Gold Coast at Metricon Stadium on Sunday.

Brisbane has won the past six contests against their Queensland rivals, including the past five by at least 45 points.

However, when they met at the Gabba in round 19 last season, the Suns enjoyed a 27-point lead at half-time before being steamrolled with 13 successive goals.

McCluggage said there was no risk 4-1 Brisbane would not be mentally ready to compete.

"We still don't think we've played our best footy yet," McCluggage said following main training on Thursday.

"Our first quarters haven't been great, and we want to make that right this week. That should hold us in good stead for the match.

"We know they'll come out firing and we want to put our best foot forward early."

Brisbane has won just two of its five opening quarters, often chasing down deficits as matches wear on.

Keidean Coleman got through training strongly, leaving coach Chris Fagan with a decision to bring the exciting half-back straight into the senior team or play in the VFL after six weeks on the sideline with a hamstring injury.

McCluggage said defeating Collingwood's run-and-gun style last Thursday night was the perfect preparation to play the Suns.

"They're probably trying to take a little more territory this year, getting it going forward and playing a really exciting brand," he said.

"They use the corridor a lot, we'll have to try and protect that.

"They're playing a little differently to what they have in the past."

Nine things we learned: This teen Tiger is something special

4. This is the year McCluggage has to be All-Australian

For the past three seasons Brisbane ace Hugh McCluggage has made the Therabody AFL All-Australian squad of 40 – but never the final 22. The pick No.3 from the 2016 NAB AFL Draft has spent much of his early career on a wing, a specialist role that has often gone overlooked by the selectors. However, in 2022, the Lions have opted to use McCluggage in a more central midfield role, and he hasn't let them down. Against West Coast he was incredible, kicking four goals and setting up four others from his 26 disposals. He might not get the gaudy numbers of other midfielders, but the damage McCluggage does in the front half of the ground could elevate him to his first AA jacket this season. – Michael Whiting

QScan Injury Update: Hugh McCluggage

Brisbane Lions midfielder Hugh McCluggage is a test to play in this weekend’s clash with GWS after he experienced some hamstring awareness in the Lions loss to Hawthorn on Sunday.

The 24-year-old came off in the fourth quarter and did not return for the remainder of the match.

General Manager of Football, Danny Daly, said McCluggage would be a test to play on the weekend.

“Hugh’s just experiencing some hamstring awareness and will be a test to play this weekend.” Daly said.

Draft look back: The inside story of how the 2016 draft played out — and how Brisbane aced it

“If we had pick No.1 we might’ve been less likely to trade it back because we would’ve been worried we wouldn’t get Hughy, so we might not have got Jarrod,” Lions recruiter Stephen Conole said on Wednesday.

“To actually finish second last was probably a better result for us.”

It followed a nervous wait.

The Lions had clearly ranked McCluggage No.1 and traded back knowing the Giants were unlikely to touch the South Warrnambool boy.

But they were unclear on Essendon’s plans.

“I was getting phone calls from Stephen Conole two minutes before the draft asking, ‘Do you know whether Essendon are going to take Hugh No.1?’” former North Ballarat Rebels talent boss Phil Partington said.

“After the draft I said to (Essendon recruiter Adrian Dodoro) why would you go for McGrath?

“He said they thought McGrath had more pace and they wanted a defending midfielder more than an attacking midfielder.

“I said to Adrian, ‘It’ll come back to bite you on the arse because this kid’s going to kick goals’.”

Conole wasn’t sure he called so close to the draft, but said they were in constant talks with the Rebels, and all three players have shone brightly.

McGrath won the 2017 Rising Star, Taranto won the 2019 best-and-fairest in a grand final team and McCluggage, well, he is the man you want kicking inside 50m.

This year 31.3 per cent of McCluggage’s entries have been marked and 27.1 per cent have led to goals – ranked No.1 and No.4 in the AFL respectively.

But Partington said local coach Chris McLaren helped McCluggage stick with footy after his under-16 season.

“He nearly pulled out of our program as a 17-year-old. Self-confidence was a massive thing for Hugh at that age,” Partington said.

McCluggage started 2015 out of the NAB League team but the Rebels pushed AFL talent boss Kevin Sheehan to include him in the national academy because he was doing “extraordinary things”.

Then, a rapid rise begun and by 2016 most AFL clubs had McCluggage on top of their talent board.

“We certainly liked them individually as players, but the fact they were so close was a real bonus for us.

“If you can match those type of boys together it does pay dividends.”

Coaches Chris Fagan (Lions) and Brett Ratten (St Kilda) both gave McCluggage and Berry votes in their last game.

McCluggage scooped a perfect 10 while Berry’s aerial strengths were showcased more on the wing.

McCluggage and Berry lived with Harris Andrews, who will captain Brisbane at the MCG on Thursday night, and when Berry purchased a house McCluggage moved in.

Partington struggles to remember better kids than McCluggage and Berry.

“I used to always say once you’ve played 100 AFL games you’ve made an AFL player – it’s easier to get in and harder to stay in the system,” he said.

“You get 100 games that’s a six or seven year career. But I think those boys might have just wrecked my philosophy a little bit and gone a bit early, because as soon as they walked into the AFL they’ve become comfortable.

“They’re quality players but more importantly quality men. I don’t think the Brisbane Lions would ever get any trouble out of McCluggage or Berry.”

Stuck in the middle with Hugh: Silky Lion thriving in new role

PRIOR to the season, Brisbane coach Chris Fagan said he was keen to tinker with the midfield mix.

When speaking to AFL.com.au in February, Fagan threw a lot of names around, including Cam Rayner, Zac Bailey, Jarrod Berry and Nakia Cockatoo.

Men that could change the Lions' dynamic with their pace and power to complement the grunt and pure ball-winning ability of Lachie Neale and Jarryd Lyons.

"We just have to work out ways to use that tremendous asset we have against opposition teams," Fagan said.

After three straight years of making the top four but not qualifying for a Grand Final, the Lions coach was looking for a point of difference against the midfield powerhouses like Thursday night's opponent Melbourne.

Another name he mentioned, and the man who has spent more time on the ball than at any stage of his six-season career, was Hugh McCluggage.

McCluggage has made a name for himself as an almost pure wingman in the early stages of his career, but that has flipped in 2022.

The 24-year-old has been named in the 40-man Therabody AFL All-Australian squad the past three seasons without ever cracking the final 22.

Could this be his year to muscle in?

Statistics courtesy of Champion Data show McCluggage has spent more time in the middle of the ground and is a big reason why the Lions have nudged their way to the top of the table.

IOqrEWET.jpg

His time spent on the wing has plummeted from more than 60 per cent two seasons ago, more than 50 per cent last year and all the way down to 16.8 per cent this season.

That's meant his midfield minutes have increased from 31 per cent in 2021 – which included extra time in the seven-game absence of Neale – to 80 per cent this year.

Most of that has come at centre bounces.

While Neale and Lyons still dominate in those attendance for Brisbane, McCluggage and Rayner have often split time as the preferred third midfielder.

This has opened up a wing role that has been rotated among Jaxon Prior, Berry and Callum Ah Chee to partner regularly used Mitch Robinson.

McCluggage has thrived in his new role.

Arguably one of the best kicks delivering the ball inside 50 in the competition, he is equal-second for score involvements and third for goal assists for the most potent attacking team in the League.

McCluggage has polled AFL Coaches' Association votes in seven of his 12 matches and sits just outside the top 10 in that Player of the Year award.

Fagan wanted to shuffle his midfield to match the best engine rooms in the AFL, and there's no greater challenge for McCluggage and the Lions than facing a backs-to-the-wall Melbourne at the MCG on Thursday night.

Three Lions Named in All-Australian Squad

220349_All_Australian_Graphic_Article_Header.jpg

Hugh McCluggage experienced one of the best seasons of his career, reminding many why he was taken at pick three in the 2016 national draft.

The 24-year-old has made the wing his own in 2022, with two notable outings this season including a career-best 33 disposals against St Kilda and a four-goal haul against the Giants.

Lions to bring 'energy' and 'pressure' to topple highly-fancied Dees

BRISBANE midfielder Hugh McCluggage is not buying the notion Melbourne has all the pressure heading into Friday night's semi-final, saying the Lions are far from done in 2022.

Following their loss to Sydney last Friday night, the popular belief is the Demons will waltz past Brisbane and into a preliminary final after thumping them in two previous encounters this season.

And while McCluggage concedes Melbourne have "mentally and physically" got the better of Brisbane this year, he's confident they have the tools to cause an upset.

"I think everyone will be saying there's more pressure on them, but we put a lot of expectation on ourselves, and we've been in three or four finals series where we haven't done what we want to do," he said.

"I think there's pressure on both sides for sure.

"Obviously, we've got to look at Melbourne and look at what they've done to us in the past, but the main thing is we bring our energy, and we bring our pressure … it really is what finals footy is all about."

McCluggage said playing at the MCG held no fears for Brisbane, despite the club's eight-year barren drought at the venue.

McCluggage said Brisbane's 58-point loss to Melbourne less than three weeks ago was "obviously disappointing", but a result they had learned from.

"We're not happy with the way we've performed against Melbourne, they've really beaten us up mentally and physically," he said.

"They definitely outworked us, that's the main thing.

"They worked harder than us, they pressured better than us, they were cleaner than us and I think all over the ground they probably got on top of us.

"We need to change it up this week."