Kokoda Track

• Thread starter Thread starter wata

wata

Hawthorn Hawks - Muston and Savage Player Sponsor 2010 Hawthorn Hawks - Beau Muston 2009 Player Sponsor Hawthorn Hawks - Beau Muston 2008 Player Sponsor Hawthorn Hawks - Beau Muston 2007 Player Sponsor
Hi All,
My first post outside the footy forum. I am leaving sunny Darwin to walk the Kokoda starting ANZAC day. I intend to bring my Hawks scarf and take a photo each day wearing it. I will be following in the foot steps of our diggers and our team. I really looking forward to it.

Cheers and see you all in two weeks

Wata

That'd be a great experience and also great exercise! I have a track near my place the is suppose to be a replica. WOuld love to do the real thing one day.

Goodluck.

Walking the Kokoda track is getting up there with visiting Anzac Cove in Turkey. One of those things you have to do before you die.

Well done Wata for even attempting this and good luck on completing the walk.

Look forward to the photos and reports

Track .... Trail whatever it is, I certainly treked a long way. I now have official lost my abb and a lot more weight.

I'm back and had a great experience. Over the next few weeks I'll put together some photos (with my scarf on and wearing my Hawks watch) and try and find some words to go with the photos.

Thanks for the encouragement everyone

Cheers

Gday wata, Glad to read you had a great experience. :thumbsu:

I'm planning on trekking Kokoda trail next year in memory of my grandfather who fought the Japs on it & only just made it out of there alive.

What are your recommendations for it? Preparations? Is there a good source to research all requirements for doing Kokoda?

Cheers

Hey Goose,
Mate there are a couple of companies that run treking tours. I recommend Adventure Kokoda, Charlie Lynn's tour. They are into the military history of the whole trek and visit battle field site. There tour is not so much on the getting from A to B and physically / mentally pushing you over the edge. But pushing you both physically and mentally and getting the whole group through till the end. They gave me a great experience.

Training was about three months long. I walked 3km-1st month 5km- 2nd month then 8km five days a week. Walked stairs of a 17 storey building for a couple of hours one night a week. One day on the weekend a long 4-5hr walk usually along the beach.

First month just in runners second with walking boots and then third month with pack and boots.

Any more questions just PM me

Cheers

Hey Goose,
Mate there are a couple of companies that run treking tours. I recommend Adventure Kokoda, Charlie Lynn's tour. They are into the military history of the whole trek and visit battle field site. There tour is not so much on the getting from A to B and physically / mentally pushing you over the edge. But pushing you both physically and mentally and getting the whole group through till the end. They gave me a great experience.

Training was about three months long. I walked 3km-1st month 5km- 2nd month then 8km five days a week. Walked stairs of a 17 storey building for a couple of hours one night a week. One day on the weekend a long 4-5hr walk usually along the beach.

First month just in runners second with walking boots and then third month with pack and boots.

Any more questions just PM me

Cheers

Mark

You did this in the name of fun :eek:

What do you do for torture??? :D

Glad to hear you made it back safely and look forward to the pics.

Cheers
S