barnesy

Sep 11, 2004
carlton
Like anyhting at this time of year multiple sources say he is keen to come back to Melbourne. Right or wrong who knows.

Who of your team will be more than likely to leave of own choice or be expendible at seasons end. (with premiership or without).

At Carlton we would love Michael but would only give a 3rd round pick as we are a few years off being serious contenders.

What is his value worth.

Say the following clubs are after a good backmen - Carlton and Melbourne,.

News to us.

No family in Melbourne, married to a Canadian girl(I think) and his old mate, Taz could be in Perth or Adelaide by 2005, so I'm not sure why he'd go back to Melbourne.

Top 2-3 fullbacks in the league. AFL Coaches Assoc. team of 2004. 3 premierships. Who could afford him?

in the top 2 full backs in the league,3 premiership medals , what do you think he is worth - heaps id say you can have a pair of his shorts for a 3rd round pick my boy !!! NOT FOR SALE !!!!

I doubt whether there would be any lions players keen to get out of this side, especially since he's been there three seasons for three medals? :rolleyes:

People say that all rumours have an element of truth to them - but not in footy.

You know how these things start. Some supporter from another club thinks "ooh, we need a good fullback, like Mal Michael. D'ya think he'd leave Brisbane". Then they try to think of reasons he may leave and it snowballs from there. The someone posts it on bigfooty.

Why would a guy has has beat the percentages and made it back to Queensland (the only Queenslander besides Scott McIvor to do so, I might add) want to go back to Melbourne?

that's why I posted it in an attempt to get a fair, reasonable, and educated response.

If it is no - so be it.

Sorry if I came across as blunt barnesy. It wasn't my intention to have a go at you.

Short answer re: Michael - I would think there's nothing in that rumour.

Notting's name gets bandied around a lot, but he's played his best ever footy for the club in the second half or 04. Shattock would have been disappointed to get had stress fractures that finished his season early. With two or three retirements on the cards, I can't see them actively trying to move 2nd and 3rd tier players.

I love the end of season Chinese Whispers game on Big Footy. James Hird going to Central Districts in the SANFL. Warren Tredrea going to the Brisbane Broncos. Nathan Buckley going to the Green Bay Packers. Jason Akermanis going to play for Australia in Rugby Union.... hang on, Aker actually started that one.

xplo said:
Notting's name gets bandied around a lot, but he's played his best ever footy for the club in the second half or 04. Shattock would have been disappointed to get had stress fractures that finished his season early. With two or three retirements on the cards, I can't see them actively trying to move 2nd and 3rd tier players.

Shattock is one i can see moving on, whether it be his or the clubs wishes. Perhaps the crows might have a look at him see as though he was recruited from W/W-T.

The reason I think that is the first and second-year players are maturing a bit faster than they thought. Logan has had a good first year and a rate Selwood from what I've seen of him, not to mention Adcock, Rischitelli and Pratt. Wouldn't be surprised if Pratt and possibly Ryswyk get upgraded.

Mal may be oldish(around 28) BUT hes a gun, it would take a 1st round pick and a player to get him.

Even then you'd have to poach him, brissy wouldnt "push" him.

You dont win more of those shiny cool medals you get in september, trading your gun full back away for 3rd round picks :rolleyes:

i don't know - i think there may be something to the rumour..

recalling that he sold his bar that his wife was running before end of season 2003(or was it 2002) so that he could be prepared if he was traded .. maybe he is waiting to go back? i don't think he and his wife have put any roots down here - so he may go..

i would be absolutely devastated (as would all Lions supporters) what an awesome trade was he?!?!

The only players I can see leaving are those lacking opportunity or those who will retire.

And I think they sold the bar not only because he was unsure about his contract, but also because they were starting a family. I'm pretty sure he signed a 2-year contract at the end of last year.

I think we'll have a bit more room in the cap than people may think, cos I think they'll tap Whitey on the shoulder come season ends if he doesn't retire, then Vossy will go onto the veternas list, thus freeong up a bit of cash in the SC.

Ans there is no way we will trade Michael. We're a bit short on big guys as it is after Morrison and Weller left for Richmond.

Isn't Leppa's wife one of Mal wife's friends? Think the girls may wanna stick together?

Oh who knows! This time of your is full of rumour and inuendo -I love it!!!

p.s have you heard that Vossy is going to Collingwood to co-captain with Buckley!!! :D

Mal Michael

Write your reply...