Research Marngrook

Remove this Banner Ad

West_Coast_Eagles

Norm Smith Medallist
Oct 4, 2007
AFL Club
West Coast
Marngrook- which means "gameball" in the gunditjmara indigenous language.

Many people from different backgrounds & knowledge have different views on marngrook being the foundation (with many rule changes obviously)of what we now call Australian Rules.

I'd like to people's views and from research they have done

To share there views on marngrook and if they fit in with what Tom Wills was credited of creating.

I have no real knowledge of what is called Marngrook but would like to hear from people's research.

Marngrook- which means "gameball" in the gunditjmara indigenous language.

Many people from different backgrounds & knowledge have different views on marngrook being the foundation (with many rule changes obviously)of what we now call Australian Rules.

I'd like to people's views and from research they have done

To share there views on marngrook and if they fit in with what Tom Wills was credited of creating.

I have no real knowledge of what is called Marngrook but would like to hear from people's research.
A simple test- a search of Trove reveals that there were only 2 references at all in any Australian newspapers to "Marngrook" while at the same time there were over 299,000 references to word "n****r" and over 474,000 references to the word "aboriginal" and over 1,350,000 references to the word "indigenous".

A simple test- a search of Trove reveals that there were only 2 references at all in any Australian newspapers to "Marngrook" while at the same time there were over 299,000 references to word "n****r" and over 474,000 references to the word "aboriginal" and over 1,350,000 references to the word "indigenous".
I'm confused to what your trying to say

I'm confused to what your trying to say