Mcbean

• Thread starter Thread starter Bird Man

... so... can we expect him to play in seniors this year ?

Not unless we're clearly going to miss finals...Then he might get a token game.

You'd think Elton would be ahead of him as a tall forward otherwise.

... so... can we expect him to play in seniors this year ?
Extremely extremely doubt it. We saw it with Elton last year, and Richmond has surely learnt from their mistake. He is still far too immature to play senior football. From what we've seen at Coburg, we've got a beauty. Tall, athletic, can play multiple positions and elite ground work for a ruckman. Best thing is that he's comfortable at VFL. He isn't knocking down the door but is looking good. Even if we were to have an absolute dreadful run of key forward injuries, Edwards, Stephenson, Astbury, Elton and Griffiths would all get a game ahead of him at this stage.

damn all i want is a consistant tall forward :( hopefully he tanks up this year in the gym

From what I have seen/heard in the VFL so far... He will be very good but it will take a few years before he with be getting a consistent gig in the seniors (and that if everything goes right)

Elton + McBean + Riewoldt in the future. Geewizz... take out your notebooks kids, time to take notes. Watch out kids. A storm is brewing.

P.S. Anyone saying i'm missing Vickery out and blahblahblah. I'd just put him in the ruck. :P

I'd say McBean is still another 2-3 years away from making regular appearances at the Tigers , Although i did read that he gained 6 kgs over pre season he would still need at least another 10 before being at afl ready physically

He might not be as far away as people think. Vickery played a fair bit of seniors early.

I just have a question for the people that have seen him play - Is he likely to develop into a ruck / forward like Vickery or could he become a full time ruck?

He didn't play VFL reserves on the weekend, that was Tyrone Bean...

If he keeps up his VFL form he could play a game this year or definitely next year. Just depends on whether the players in the forward line at the moment keep up their form and don't get injured.

Elton dangerous. Just can't kick goals and his teammates can't kick to him properly.

McBean also dangerous but can make use of his opportunities.

Is he going alright in his games??
mate of mine wang that goes to coburg alot was positively gushing about this kid and his unique bag of tricks for a big fella. moves well, traps the ball clean in air and at ground level and is a good kick. Needs to fill out some, as much as I didnt wanna hear it my mail is he is closer to senior footy than Elton:confused:

Thanks DS.. That's some positive news mate..

Good prospect, but we will be in a fair bit of trouble if he gets a game this year. This year is about developing his game against men in the VFL and working on his body.

Should be ready to take the ruck mantle (or play as the second ruck/forward) once Maric reaches his twilight years.

Is he any skinnier than Fletcher was back in '93?

If he is going to play as a forward it doesn't matter if he is overly skinny. His advantages will be his height, athleticism and generous football smarts, not his body strength.

I reckon he'll get a token game once injuries hit and we have our late season fade out and miss the finals.