mcPhee

• Thread starter Thread starter lufc618

Look to be honest I thought if he stayed at Freo he would be a pretty good player. He played pretty well in his debut year, but was hampered last year after a shortened preseason and struggled with osteitis pubis and was not able to force his way into the starting 18 as much as he would have liked. He is a good sized player who would probably play his best footy either on a wing or the flanks and seems very compeditive. While I wasn't that happy about giving up Smokey, I guess you have to give quality to get quality. I think McPhee will be good for Essendon in a few years.

hahahaha ok no worries
he can play well against all the other teams besides freo...I'm happy with that.

Yeh I hope he does do well with the Bombers and the same with Browny at North. Afterall they were traded by the club and didn't demand to go home. So good luck to them.

Actually McPhee wanted to go home so that is why he was traded. zHe was offered a 2 year deal but rejected it.

Originally posted by FreoRules
Actually McPhee wanted to go home so that is why he was traded. zHe was offered a 2 year deal but rejected it.

I actually knew Adam McPhee whilst he lived in Freo. The way he went about his departure was excellent . He told Freo upfront he wanted to go home last July , he had spoke to a few clubs but told Freo just go out & get the best deal they could for him as long as it was in Victoria Freo did that. He has the utmost respect for the club and is freinds to many . A great bloke .. a player definately on the rise. He will give Essendon many great games ... and will be a player they will be saying " Why did Freo let him go ?? "

Good Luck to Smokey ( Just hope he dont sheet behind the trees at Windy Hill :D )

Originally posted by FreoDocker
Yeh I hope he does do well with the Bombers and the same with Browny at North. Afterall they were traded by the club and didn't demand to go home. So good luck to them.

I disagree about Smokey , he did wanna go home ;)

He was one of them players that Freo wanted , but knew he was good trade bait

Originally posted by Freo Hitman
Freo just go out & get the best deal they could for him as long as it was in Victoria

Best deal? I don't think so. Essendon got him, Cupido and #17 (or something around that) for Caracella and a 4th round pick.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Best deal? I don't think so. Essendon got him, Cupido and #17 (or something around that) for Caracella and a 4th round pick.

Which paved the way for Headland to come to Freo ;)

Just on Smokey (our first choice in the 2000 draft), he developed very quickly in WAFL ranks to force his way into the side halfway through his rookie year- 2001, and really looked the goods. As mentioned, injury hampered last year, and consequently no-one got to see the best of him. I have no doubt that had he stayed around McPhee would have gone into our midfielder mix, as a 'taller' midfielder so coveted by today's football. And probably done OK. He'll go alright at Essendon.

We received a late draft pick in that trade, too, originally 60, became 55, so essentially we traded McPhee for Crowley, and whatever fraction of Headland we care to postulate.

I do reckon he needs to work on his sense of humour, though.

I think Smokey is a pretty strong guy and will be a fairly good leader in the future (he used to gee up his teammates pretty well).

His only downfall is sometimes his on field decision making left a bit to be desired but hey he is still a kid and that will improve with experience.

I had big wraps on him because he reminded me very much of Parker when he was younger.
McPhee will never be the kind of backman you can throw forward for some pinch hit goals.
Hes never going to take the game by the scruff of the neck, but that said more likely than not he will never let you down.
Stable backman that possess all the skills a backman needs with few others.
I was anoyed to see him go for the fact that I believed at the time we paid a too higher price for headland, those fears have since been put to rest due to headlands performances.
Good luck to the guy he along with Black I will never boo if they return.
White on the other hand ...... *boo* *hiss*

What is it with these coloured (by name) boys going......White, Black, Brown??? Lucky we dont have any Greens or Greys

Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
I didn't rate him too highly.

Then I saw his girlfriend.

Now there is maximum respect.

You didnt see his last missus he left behind !!!

WHAT AN INCREDIBLE RACK !!!!!!!!!!