Michael Gardiner

Just heard on SEN that he has "fully" recovered from his injuries and expect him to be playing a lot of footy this year.

Do people think he is still a great asset for the saints considering he hasnt really played any games of footy for a long time..?

And do you think he could reach his AA form of 2003? Remembering he was the number 1 ruckman in the comp, above the likes of Cox, Lade, Everitt and Brogan.

Personally I think he will do wonders with the midfield. With alot of teams having gun midfields and there not being much difference between most, I think the ruckman will have the deciding factor on whether a midfield comes out ontop of the oppositions.

If he really is 100% recovered as they say (they did actually say he is 100%), we should get a taste of whats to come in the pre-season comp.

On the otherside, do people think he has just missed too much football and is too far behind the 8ball to have an impact this year?

Can't see AA form resulting, and I still think rucking on the Dome surface for any large chunk of the game will create problems. However, he has a great physical presence and can go forward. Other teams will worry about him, although (especially early) they will try and run him off his legs. He needs to be 100% if he's going to play.

Oh bloody hell UH! SSSSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

The footy gods are always listening for any Saints good fortune! He's doomed now for sure!

- if he were to make it to the season proper, he'd be an improvement on what we have (Kosi aside) but I wouldn't expect any miraculaous return to AA form, I don't think that's realisitc.

Just heard on SEN that he has "fully" recovered from his injuries and expect him to be playing a lot of footy this year.

Do people think he is still a great asset for the saints considering he hasnt really played any games of footy for a long time..?

And do you think he could reach his AA form of 2003? Remembering he was the number 1 ruckman in the comp, above the likes of Cox, Lade, Everitt and Brogan.

Personally I think he will do wonders with the midfield. With alot of teams having gun midfields and there not being much difference between most, I think the ruckman will have the deciding factor on whether a midfield comes out ontop of the oppositions.

If he really is 100% recovered as they say (they did actually say he is 100%), we should get a taste of whats to come in the pre-season comp.

On the otherside, do people think he has just missed too much football and is too far behind the 8ball to have an impact this year?

He may not be great, he may not be the best in the Comp. But having Rix as 1st ruck means at 60% gardiner will be a step forward

I hope that Gardiner can get fit, stay out of trouble, and have a good year for the Saints (Just not when you are playing the Eagles, okay ?):)

i heard this early last season about round 8. he was ready to make a comback at round 13 and started playing for casey at round 8 of the afl season adn played two games then the medicos changed his authotics and the were the wrong ones put him in a moon boot until round 16 then he could have made a come back at round 20 but they rather get him set for this season so he had recovered from his injury ages ago and would have started training with the main group at the start of the pre-season so he will be a 100% if he has no hick ups so he should be rareing to go in feb for the nab cup. my doctor use to be one of saints doctors and he told me and i am not naming names but reliable source

King and Gardy in tandem will be a welcome addition I reckon. Won't set the world on fire, but will at least give an honest go and hopefully at the very least halve the contest.

gardy is a shocking kick, the way he drops the ball onto his foot..i used to cringe when he kicked...i would like to see a fully fit gardy vs cox for old times sake.

They could of had to do with his feet being stuffed though, he could be different now

he always looked awkward with his drop- looked unco with his style more than something wrong injury wise

i heard this early last season about round 8. he was ready to make a comback at round 13 and started playing for casey at round 8 of the afl season adn played two games then the medicos changed his authotics and the were the wrong ones put him in a moon boot until round 16 then he could have made a come back at round 20 but they rather get him set for this season so he had recovered from his injury ages ago and would have started training with the main group at the start of the pre-season so he will be a 100% if he has no hick ups so he should be rareing to go in feb for the nab cup. my doctor use to be one of saints doctors and he told me and i am not naming names but reliable source

Bloody hell, that's a long sentence:p

I hope you're right. I'd like to see him play a full season and play well.

With a fit Luke Ball, and Hayes back to his best. Dal Santo, Armitage and Jones, and unfortunately, (for us other clubs), the list goes on, your midfield is going to enjoy the fruits of Gardiner, King, Rix and take a bit of heat off Blake. 87 goals from 129 games is a good return for a ruckman, despite the writings here about his unorthodox kicking style. The physical presence of both him and King will represent very good mentoring for Rix. good luck in '08

im a fan of the hawks and truly believe they have built the next domiant power

after we have our few years in the premiership sun

wait your turn

Apparently he has had the foot surgery now, so hopefuly it will be less about managing the injury and more about full recovery.

ball sack

gardy and Kinga will be a very handy duo, with so many injuries last year it has really improved our depth for this year and with the likes of arron fiora and X clarke (hes getting a bit better) we are really filling the cracks up. gardy will be aching to play, i think he will be a big part of our succes.

Ripper G

Saints dud ruckman

When was the last time this club had a decent ruckman?

Hoping Gairdner comes up. Give him a go.

Re: Saints dud ruckman

Peter Everitt was our last good tap ruckman.

I have been a bit lost on Gardiner...when was his last season, how well did he perform then and was he kicked out by the eagles or just injured? I forget?

I have to admit, i'm a little bit scared of the saints for 2008 - i know King is a bloody big unit, and if he holds up injury wise (and he is in his best condition for 4 years now), then given a split workload with gardiner and even kosi, they could be a formidable force.

With Ball back to his best and Hayes and Harvey running about, that is a fairly decent midfield - although Goddard has not really ever impressed me. And of course kicking to Riewoldt and Kosi up forward could be very dangerous.

Still, the window is short and i don't see a great backline and their is some suspect depth their. If you guys can keep your injury list minimal, then i think the Saints are going to be a pretty s@#t hot outfit in 2008.... Still can't beleive we gifted you Kingy!

What's wrong with the backline? Sam Fisher is a gun, and with Gram, Goose, Max, Gilbert, Baker and Goddard I think you haven't been watching too much.

Yeah, the midfield is "decent" - heard of Dal Santo and Montagna?

What's wrong with the backline? Sam Fisher is a gun, and with Gram, Goose, Max, Gilbert, Baker and Goddard I think you haven't been watching too much.

Yeah, the midfield is "decent" - heard of Dal Santo and Montagna?

Sam Fisher should have been All Australian, but the Selectors were virtually wetting themselves over Geelong

Yeah, I was going to drop the "AA" in relation to Sam Fisher, but the pussies have bragging rights so we'll move on and look to address it in '08.

In 2006, Gardiner played about 15 games in the WAFL for Claremont, as well as 3 games for West Coast. So his body stood up for nearly a whole season. He battled injury in 2005, and obviously missed '04 with the knee injury.

Why are there so many conflicting reports floating around re MG? Any at training advise what the real go is?

Word is that only Goose is a LTI. Gardiner is fit and training well and to the regime Misson has given him.

This is from a reliable source on a thread about the fitness of Kosi over at SS.