Opinion Moloney/Stringer

• Thread starter Thread starter allrighty

Sorry if this is a repeat post but I have been away and can't see this topic anywhere else. Yes I missed the game last night (fortunately) as I was on a plane.

Seems to me that one thing we have struggled for this year is a hard nut body in the guts to support the Joels (Sel and Corey). Stringer was looking the goods and Simpkin shows promise. But what about Moloney who is available? I remember him as having a real dip at the Cats. He is older, stronger and I hope wiser so he might fit the bill. What do you think as an investment for a couple of years?

Sorry if this is a repeat post but I have been away and can't see this topic anywhere else. Yes I missed the game last night (fortunately) as I was on a plane.

Seems to me that one thing we have struggled for this year is a hard nut body in the guts to support the Joels (Sel and Corey). Stringer was looking the goods and Simpkin shows promise. But what about Moloney who is available? I remember him as having a real dip at the Cats. He is older, stronger and I hope wiser so he might fit the bill. What do you think as an investment for a couple of years?
Moloney for Byrnes.

We aren't the saints.

Our midfield is already old and slow we don't need to add old spuds from other teams.

Lets just develop our own.

I like Moloney but I'm not sure we need another 28 year old on our list.

We either recruit a younger midfielder or we develop our own. Anything else wouldn't be helpful for the next 4-5 years, and that is where the club is looking.

The current crop in the 2's are to small, that's why we need a mid with size, Simpkin is the only Possible for AFL level ATM, IMO.
We need serious backup for Joel.

Why would a guy who got turfed during our tansition to greatness want to come back for another couple of years of transition? Unless Scotty is desperate, and can talk a stubby from the mouth of a thirsty camel, not a chance.

Well for one, Moloney isn't going to have every club in the league banging the door down to get him. That's why.

Why would a guy who got turfed during our tansition to greatness want to come back for another couple of years of transition? Unless Scotty is desperate, and can talk a stubby from the mouth of a thirsty camel, not a chance.

He wasn't exactly 'turfed'. We wanted to keep him, but we wanted Ottens more....thus he was sacrificed.

As long as he doesn't expect big money or a guarantee of a game, I'd seriously look at him, even if it is only as a depth player. If someone like Selwood gets injured he would be a good hard body fill in.

I like Moloney but I'm not sure we need another 28 year old on our list.

We either recruit a younger midfielder or we develop our own. Anything else wouldn't be helpful for the next 4-5 years, and that is where the club is looking.

Pretty much sums it up. I would not waste a pick on a 29 year old player. Moloney will be 29 before the season starts is not the answer to Geelong's midfield woes. We need to look elsewhere.

Moloney would be a great get as he is a hard inside mid we so badly need to support Selwood. Won melbs B&f in 2011 and came 3rd in the leauge for Clearences per game. 19 votes in the brownlow in 2011 to come equal 7th.

Would not cost us anything as he is a Free Agent, and if Byrnes is going to Melbourne as suggested it would pretty much be In: Moloney Out: Byrnes. Big win IMO.

Only issue i have is that i think a few of the geelong boys dont like him ???

Moloney would be a great get as he is a hard inside mid we so badly need to support Selwood. Won melbs B&f in 2011 and came 3rd in the leauge for Clearences per game. 19 votes in the brownlow in 2011 to come equal 7th.

Would not cost us anything as he is a Free Agent, and if Byrnes is going to Melbourne as suggested it would pretty much be In: Moloney Out: Byrnes. Big win IMO.

Only issue i have is that i think a few of the geelong boys dont like him ???

Well if he can help out Selly, and harden up our ball extraction, any that don't like him better look in the mirror and learn to live and let live.

I'm sure if he's in there 'busting his chops' any issues would be quickly forgotten.

Is Sylvia a free agent?

If a more suitable (read younger) strong bodied inside mid does not present then we could do worse.

A 2 year performance based contract to help out while Schroder, Cowan, Stringer, H-S and co. fill out.

Not sure if he is, but i would also like him. So much talent just has to put it together. Would be alot better in a better enviroment

If a more suitable (read younger) strong bodied inside mid does not present then we could do worse.

A 2 year performance based contract to help out while Schroder, Cowan, Stringer, H-S and co. fill out.

I reckon Simpkin's gotta be a starter next season, that's twice he's been given the subs vest lately, and twice he's had 9 possessions from a quarter of footy in both.

Think the match committee have got to give him a go or he'll be gone, but we do need a Moloney type.
Realistically our younger ones are at least another season away and just haven't got the bulk needed for the inside role at AFL level.