Monniehawk

Monbulk, Upwey, Strathmore, St Alba
Once again, the Monbulk community rises to a cry for help....
Important message from Steve Utting!
G'day All

As you may or may not know, my wife Kelly is organising a Fun Run around Monbulk on Sunday 22nd November. She started this event last year, with about 30 people participating, with money raised going to MS Australia.
This year, the event will start and finish at the MCG (Monbulk Cricket Ground). Money raised this year will again go to MS Australia as well as the Chris Hughson Fund.
Chris has been diagnosed with leukaemia and has just gone through chemotherapy, and I'm sure will again be fighting fit very soon. But in the mean time, obviously Chris cannot work, and it would be great if our fantastic community could help Chris and his family in some small way, as Monbulk always does.
Please spread the word about this event and the cause, and let me know if you can help or support this event in some way.
Cheers
Steve

MONBULK FUN RUN 2009

‘Run to the G’
DATE: Sunday 22nd November
PLACE: Start / Finish – Monbulk Cricket Ground
Moores Rd, Monbulk
TIME: 8.00 – 8.30 registration for a 9.00am start (sharp)
COST: $20
(0402 067 829 / kellyembellish@hotmail.com)

This is a 8km run/ walk around the scenic roads of Monbulk starting
and finishing with a lap of the mighty ‘G’ (Monbulk Cricket Ground).
The circuit takes you along David Hill Rd, down Cavey Rd, left to the
end of Old Emerald Rd, up and over Moores Rd and into the MCG.

Money raised will go to ‘MS Australia’ / and the Chris Hughson Fund.

After you finish your run / walk , there will be a bacon and eggs / fruit
breakfast cooked by the boys from the Monbulk Cricket Club. There will
also be tea / coffee provided and other drinks which can be purchased
in clubrooms.

Medallions / Prizes for: first male / female – open age
first male / female – U18
first mum or dad with pram and more

See you all on the 22nd .

Ladies & germs, I did this run last year and if I can do it, anyone is capable. This year we are looking to give Hughy a leg up as Steve has written. Super bloke who needs a bit of support currently.

If you get a spare hour on that morning and thats all you'll need, get over the "G" and go for a good run. Will be really worth it !!!

Fun Run - 2 words that shouldn't be used together!!! :) Is Chris the assistant coach there or is that his brother?
Chris came through our junior club, then coached us for four years winning two flags in 05-06, retiring in 2008. Michael "Juice" Hughson is his younger bro and was Chris' assistant. Chris was also a gifted tennis player, being a pro at 16. Both boys are multiple B&F's and outstanding people.

Thx Monnie. Michael trains at my gym and I often see him in the mornings but hadn't seen him for a while. Agree - top bloke and gun player from my memories of East Ringwood matches. Fingers crossed for his brother.

We're up this Sunday morning everyone.
8.30am at the ground for rego's. 9am start.
There are 2 courses, a 4km and 8km version.
I'm doing the 4km circuit from Monny Oval to the High School and back and then wacking the apron on.
All jokes aside, 50/50 split MS and Chrissy Hughson Fund. There is also an account specifically for Chris set up, I'll get EFT details and anyone wanting to slip him a private donation can do so easily.

Cheers

Tim

We're up this Sunday morning everyone.
8.30am at the ground for rego's. 9am start.
There are 2 courses, a 4km and 8km version.
I'm doing the 4km circuit from Monny Oval to the High School and back and then wacking the apron on.
All jokes aside, 50/50 split MS and Chrissy Hughson Fund. There is also an account specifically for Chris set up, I'll get EFT details and anyone wanting to slip him a private donation can do so easily.

Cheers

Tim

With you there Tim

Did Cavey Rd last night and nearly carked it attempting the Old Emerald Rd hill.

The details for Hughie's support fund are as per our website - http://www.monbulkfnc.com/

Bank: Commonwealth Bank

Name: E & C Johansson - Chris Hughson

BSB: 063 842

Number: 10219495

Reference: Your name or company name

With you there Tim

Did Cavey Rd last night and nearly carked it attempting the Old Emerald Rd hill.

The details for Hughie's support fund are as per our website - http://www.monbulkfnc.com/

Bank: Commonwealth Bank

Name: E & C Johansson - Chris Hughson

BSB: 063 842

Number: 10219495

Reference: Your name or company name
Just a quick note. If you try to transfer from Comm Bank using NetBank, their system won't recognise non-alphanumeric characters such as the '&' and '-', so just type 'EC Johansson Hughson fund' and enter the account numbers and it seems to work.

Aaaaaaaah, it burns us !

Today was the moment of truth (for me anyway). Just on 300 people ran, walked (and swam) either a 4km or 8km circuit for the duel fundraiser. Many, many auction prizes, raffles, Tshirts etc were up for grabs.

Well done to Steve & Kelly Utting for the organisation and to Monbulk CC for running the hot food. Many great efforts over the day from many people.

Great job Monbulk (as usual). Terrific result for Kellys MS fundraising efforts and a very humbling experience for Hughey and his family.

Time for hot bath !!!!!

Tim :thumbsu:

Here here Tim

Great turnout by everyone and great to see the support from Olinda, Upwey, East Ringwood, etc - great spirit in the footy community.

Enjoyed the 4km stroll / stumble/ fall/ chat with Ian Snell and it just highlights we all may wear differnt colours but we all come together to honour a great cause and a great bloke.

It was wet, cold and windy and I never thought this time last week I would be saying I needed a hot shower to warm up :rolleyes:

Ah Melbourne sweltering one day, thermals the next

Here here timmy
Was a great morning to be involved in.Its nice when the whole community gets behind a great cause,maintaining a little faith in humanity!Was also a great chance to catch up with all the old faces of days gone by!A fantastic effort by Steve and Kellie Utts and thier many willing and able
helpers.
:thumbsu::thumbsu::)

Yes agree with all written previously.
It great to see 300+ particpants spirits were not dampaned by the weather. There was a few questions being asked at 6.00am Sunday morning for the helpers how this would work out when the rain was pumping down with gutters & drains overflowing left right & centre. The turn out & support makes it all worth while for the organisers.
For the big race most participants got through without a drop on them.
It was great to see so many people from our community & others support a great day. As Mike Coen said it the reason we live where we live.

The Sunday sip & chinwag was also good

Well done Kel & Steve, Dash & Jo