Random Discussion - NO POLITICS, NO RELIGION

you really don't understand the gendered nature of family violence and never have - the bad news is there are still people like yourself making commentary from a place of utter ignorance - if there is any good news it is that there are fewer of you as more courageous, educated males step up to the learning...
Get stuffed.

I grew up watching it, I know exactly what it is all about. It only stopped when I was old enough to pin my old man against the wall and tell him enough.

At the end of the day that tik tok video had fk all to do with DV.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

you really don't understand the gendered nature of family violence and never have - the bad news is there are still people like yourself making commentary from a place of utter ignorance - if there is any good news it is that there are fewer of you as more courageous, educated males step up to the learning...
Bravo Thy.

Get stuffed.

I grew up watching it, I know exactly what it is all about. It only stopped when I was old enough to pin my old man against the wall and tell him enough.

I'm so sorry to read that Lace Out. I personally took no offence to an innocent fun moment. However I agree totally with Thy's response to the way you framed it. The whole gender reverse thing. Yeah nah.

That seems a very odd thing to add after reading the post above yours from Lace Out?
Yeah. I have explained in a response to Lace Out. Two different issues I think. I guess I'm saying that I personally was not offended. However I get the outrage. With Thy's post I totally agree that trying to reverse genders to justify, is not applicable (in my view) and seriously undermines the horrific reality of domestic violence. Hope that clarifies.
Cheers.

Get stuffed.

You get the obvious stuff but not the deeper entrenched structures that ensure FV flourishes. Do some research.

Just curious (you don’t have to answer if you don’t feel comfortable) if anyone else here has been tested for COVID19 ?

i ask this mainly if anyone else felt a tad uncomfortable with the nose swab ?
Mind you I have always been bit of a baby when it comes to medical procedures (I dread the day when I have to go for my first prostate examination, which I probably should soon just turning 40, but it just really is something as a guy makes me really dread/uncomfortable thinking about)

You get the obvious stuff but not the deeper entrenched structures that ensure FV flourishes. Do some research.

At the very least, that Tik Tok clip sends a message to young impressionable boys/lads that manhandling your wife/spouse in such a manner is okay (even if was just done as fun)

Many children look up to Joel Selwood, esp as a club captain, he has to be regarded as a role model, and from that point of view, it was inappropriate, and I am glad he took the video down.

Just curious (you don’t have to answer if you don’t feel comfortable) if anyone else here has been tested for COVID19 ?

Mind you I have always been bit of a baby when it comes to medical procedures (I dread the day when I have to go for my first prostate examination, which I probably should soon just turning 40, but it just really is something as a guy makes me really dread/uncomfortable thinking about)
yep. all good. wasn't too bad.

If it was not uncomfortable it was not done correctly

Not really. Won’t help any more people with the already allocated cash so it is now just an embarrassing error.
I think there is more to play out on this one. I’m not sold on the ‘embarrassing error’ argument.

If the Government was committed to spending this money then it should spend it for the betterment of those who were left out of the process due to the cost. Extraordinary times require extraordinary measures and spending. Seeing it as a positive (and not spending it) doesn’t wash with me.

On a side note. Treasury and the ATO are at the Rolls Royce end of the public service. Centrelink is more your mid sized sedan or SUV. As a result imagine how much s**t would have hit the fan if Centrelink did this. About time these people were taken down a peg or two and lumped in with the rest of us.

The Assistant Treasurer snapping back!

I used to live in his electorate and having met him a few times (including sadly shaking hands with him), I can honestly say Josh Frydenberg is completely out of his depth as treasurer, look I know he supports Carlton and he may seem like a nice guy on the surface (which he probably is), but in all honesty, I think he is bit of a buffoon, more concerned with his own political ambitions than actually financially managing the country in a competent and fiscally responsible manner.

As a bloke and family man, he is a good enough and likeable guy, but geez, I am not surprised at all by this fiasco, which will prove to be extremely costly to the Aussie Economy and The Taxpayer.

In the end we’re all just wrapping paper for fish and chips.

Posting on here is like starting your new smash hit musical off Broadway. It’s unlikely to become a hit because no one sees the show.

It’s interesting that the Federal Government appears to be reverting to type over this $60 billion bungle. They were only ever half hearted about helping workers in this manner and now the actual spend matches their half heartedness.

I’ve read so much in these months of catastrophe that I think my specialised subject on Mastermind would be The 2020 Pandemic and its effects. That covers a lot of area but it sums up what needs to be considered when dealing with this information. It’s not only a medical emergency. It has political and economic implications as well. I post information that I think people will read out of interest. I’m really not interested in polemics. After all this is just social media and no one in their right mind will ever take social media seriously.

I‘ve digressed. One of my favourite economic writers is Ross Gittins. Despite having all the qualifications his background is being raised in a Salvation Army household as a child. His articles, whilst analytical, contain many references to treating all members of society equally. He has categorised the major political parties in relation to Joe Hockey’s “Lifters“ v “Leaners” analogy. The Coalition represents the lifters and is in government to benefit the lifters. The leaners rely on Labor.

When the Government released its $130 billion Jobkeeper package we were all astounded. This is not in its playbook. And now we find that the Government is making suggestions that we’ll bank the saving and forget about all those leaners that we didn’t cover in the first round.

To strengthen this point imagine what would have happened if the Government had shortchanged the lifters.

Now we’ve upset the US.

Surely both “superpowers“ will see how even handed we are when we make policy and sign agreements that annoy them and just leave us alone. We’re clearly doing what’s in our best interest. A concept that they put above all others when they make their decisions.

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o'er vales and hills,

Lock down does strange things to people. I’m thinking about Wordsworth while I’m reading Big Footy.

In truth the lock down has restored my way of life before my wife retired and changed that for a short time. We’re spending time together like we did when we were courting. Obviously things have changed and electronic devices like iPads dominate our life instead of canoodling. No need for further explanation. You get the picture.

It doesn’t surprise me that we co-exist in companionship and calm. We’ve known each other for forty years (38 of them married) so we are well acquainted with our individual traits. This time of isolation has reassured me that I made the right decision all those years ago.

i know from experience that the Blue Room is a place seldom visited by a lot of posters. In all likelihood this will not be read by more than a handful of posters.

So this is my challenge. Share your thoughts on lock down. Get it off your chest and free yourself.

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o'er vales and hills,

Lock down does strange things to people. I’m thinking about Wordsworth while I’m reading Big Footy.

In truth the lock down has restored my way of life before my wife retired and changed that for a short time. We’re spending time together like we did when we were courting. Obviously things have changed and electronic devices like iPads dominate our life instead of canoodling. No need for further explanation. You get the picture.

It doesn’t surprise me that we co-exist in companionship and calm. We’ve known each other for forty years (38 of them married) so we are well acquainted with our individual traits. This time of isolation has reassured me that I made the right decision all those years ago.

i know from experience that the Blue Room is a place seldom visited by a lot of posters. In all likelihood this will not be read by more than a handful of posters.

So this is my challenge. Share your thoughts on lock down. Get it off your chest and free yourself.
Challenge accepted! Here's my stream of consciousness.

Lockdown has been a challenge for me mentally. We pulled Booger out of daycare for a while so I was stuck in the house 24/7 with a 3 month old (when lockdown began) and a 2 year old. Not being able to do simple things like go to the playground or visit my mum was tough. HBF has been working from home and Booger couldn't understand why his dad didn't want to play with him all day. Gomez (the baby) wouldn't nap anywhere except in my arms until very recently, so 4 hours out of every day were spent stuck under the baby. Booger couldn't understand that, either. I also haven't had more than 4 hours' unbroken sleep in more than 6 months so I'm exhausted.

It has been surprisingly good for my marriage though. Previously HBF and I really only saw each other for an hour or two on a weeknight before I went to bed, and the weekends were spent rushing around and busy busy busy. We've had to slow down, get back to the simple things in life, and we have the opportunity for actual conversation during the day. It has been nice to reconnect and HBF has had an amazing opportunity for bonding with Gomez that he otherwise wouldn't have had.

I got called back to work early, just 6 or so hours a week from home, to assist with restructuring the business. While that has been good for me mentally it has also been really hard to juggle two kids, no sleep, cooking, my twice-weekly health appointments and work. I have felt stretched very thin and am at the end of my tether more often than not.