Tassie27

Hi all,

Just something that has got to me a little.......
At times I get the feeling the club was a bit hasty in giving David Astbury the iconic number 12 jumper. Astbury has shown signs that he can become a good player but I thought the number 12 would have gone to someone who is already showing signs of greatness, like giving Martin the number 4. I just don't feel that David has really cemented himself as a solid footballer yet and the jury is still out. I just feel he hasn't "earned" it yet.

Perhaps I am being a bit harsh on the lad, but these were the thoughts that have entered my head when I watch the number 12 now. How do others feel?

I have no problem with it.
It's just a number on the back of a footy guernsey. I don't get what the biog deal is with numbers.
It's what's underneath the guernsey that counts.

No Issue with Dave taking the #12, he's just having some 2nd year blues ATM, he really needs a full defense there to help hit out cos he's getting monstered! Needs Moore/McGuane/Rance back in the side!

I've no issue with it either, I thought i heard that Richo didn't want it to be unused for very long, he also chose Astbury to have it. I've no issue with Astbury at the moment, he's playing on some massive Gorilla's and doing a serviceable job, all things considered.

yeah im not fussed about it either, in fact i think the pressure that comes with wearing a number of a past champ is a joke if im being entirely honest.

Hi all,

Just something that has got to me a little.......
At times I get the feeling the club was a bit hasty in giving David Astbury the iconic number 12 jumper. Astbury has shown signs that he can become a good player but I thought the number 12 would have gone to someone who is already showing signs of greatness, like giving Martin the number 4. I just don't feel that David has really cemented himself as a solid footballer yet and the jury is still out. I just feel he hasn't "earned" it yet.

Perhaps I am being a bit harsh on the lad, but these were the thoughts that have entered my head when I watch the number 12 now. How do others feel?

Good to see you back!!!!

I am still waiting for the pics :D

It's just a number on the back of a footy guernsey. I don't get what the biog deal is with numbers.

well said

but I also reckon a player can make a number famous, but it shouldn't matter who it goes to afterwards

Good call Tugga. Absolutely agree it's the quality of the player in it that make the jumper memorable.

The first club that 'retires' a number deserves to cop a monumental bake from everyone. Any individual player is not bigger than either the club or the game. You can feel proud to wear a particular guernsey number, and provided you do your best, no one can honestly object to your performance.

I hope the wearer of the number 12 realises the history of the number - a former player was one of the greatest ever Richmond players - magnificent goalkicker, B&F, Coleman medallist, century goalkicker, premiership player - I'm talking about the great Jack 'Skinny' Titus.

It is interesting that Hardwick said players would have to earn lower numbers but the very next season a few youngsters received new numbers. Having said that, I'd be surprised if it puts any more pressure on a player once the game starts. As for Astbury, he has shown considerable promise. When all our KPDs return, maybe we could send him forward again until Griff comes back.

We still keep 5, 7 and 11 Vacant so he seems to think that's the case- Grigg getting 6 goes against this but maybe they did that to convince him over