Riewoldt's kicking

• Thread starter Thread starter Wallaby

What has happened to his kicking? The last couple of years he was an unreliable shot for goal - in fact he was about as good as his cousin.

This season he's been excellent (I know, I've just jinxed him for tomorrow:D). Someone in another thread mentioned Danny Daly - our mystery forward coach. Is it his doing? If so, where was this guy for the last 15 years while Richo was running around?

What has happened to his kicking? The last couple of years he was an unreliable shot for goal - in fact he was about as good as his cousin.

This season he's been excellent (I know, I've just jinxed him for tomorrow:D). Someone in another thread mentioned Danny Daly - our mystery forward coach. Is it his doing? If so, where was this guy for the last 15 years while Richo was running around?

JR read our comments on big footy about ball drop and technique and saw the error of his ways earlier in the season!!

I think we went into meltdown either after the hawks or melb game IIRC, mods help me on this one.:):D

I think Jack's biomechanics were always pretty good - it's not like his kicked action has really changed. He's just got his head straight and the confidence from winning a Coleman (fingers crossed) will help him with that for years.

Richo's kicking biomechanics, on the other hand, were always rubbish. Better athlete by a long way.. but arms and legs went everywhere.

I think it has to do with Jack constantly practicing, every game he spends about 45 mins before the game taking shots from all around the F50.

It was a confidence thing. His kicking action is still exactly the same as it was (and he was a beautiful kick for goal when he wasn't in an AFL match), but he practiced and practiced under simulated match conditions so he could relieve the nerves and such.

True, whenever he played at Coburg and Tassie before that there was never a problem with his kicking for goal.

I reckon he said at one point Daly got him practicing with his I-Pod cranked right up, to help simulate match day. I might have read that on here though.

Edit: Half way down in this article http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/riewoldt-emerges-from-the-shadows-20100603-x70a.html

And a seemingly obvious yet brilliant move. It's so simple but it makes so much sense to do it. Train the way you play.

He's become extremely reliable this year from almost anywhere in the 50. In fact during his mid season dominant streak it got to the point where even before he'd marked the ball, if it was kicked in his direction I'd be thinking "yes! here's a goal". More often than not I was right.

ive noticed he has changed it alot since he first came even since the start of this year, he seems to run up abit slower and he seems to just drop the ball sooooo smooth onto his boot which he never use to do