macca23

Adelaide Crows
Heard Ronnie Burns being interviewed tonight by KG and Cornesy, and a very entertaining interview it was too.

Ronnie genuinely sounds like he is enjoying his new life in Adelaide. He is living with young Stiffy and when asked where Stiffy was at that moment, his answer was "right here mate, cooking the wombat" :)

He said that he enjoyed his footy playing under Ayresy, who he said is very supportive while demanding 110%.

When it was pointed out that he was looking super fit, he said that he was, thanks to the much more intensive fitness program of the Crows. He talked about doing much more running with the Crows than at Geelong, including the infamous Saturday morning runs up to Mount Lofty. He said that he couldn't believe it when he had to do the first one of those and said to Stiffy that surely this was only done for "Candid Camera". He found out much to his horror that this was not the case. :)

When asked about his new role in the trials in the middle and on-ball he said that he expected to play in quite a few spots this year, but didn't really care where as long as he got a game.

He said that he probably would spend most time up forward and he wanted to kick a heap of goals this year. He said that it will be great to play alongside Carey, but if he marks too many, he'll have to leap up and spoil him to make his own crumbs!! :)

He mentioned that he had been invited to play in the Aboriginal All-stars team, but had declined as his new team Adelaide was good enough to give him an opportunity and he wanted to concentrate all of his efforts in performing with the Crows.

He finished by saying that he, Carey and Torney were all excited about the coming season with their new club and looking to do well.

Go Ronnie!!

Thanks for that macca!

When we first traded for Ronnie, I could not believe we would pick him up. I never really thought he would get a game, that he was washed up.

This may well still be the case, but I have been very impressed by his commitment to the team. To turn down an honour like the ATSIC All Stars to concentrate on the Crows is a huge statement.

I have no doubt he will get a go and I hope he can make the most of it. He really was an excitement machine once, let's hope he can regain that form!

He is a bit of a funny bloke our Ronnie!!!!!!:D I am with you napsyd. I was very doubtful when I heard that we traded Ben Finnin for Ronnie mainly because I thought Ronnie was past it and lazy where as Finnin is a young up and Coming 190 cm player capable of playing anywhere on the field. Especially since Ben's credentials were very impressive (U16 AA Captain, and U18 AA) and his marking and booming left foot kick have won me over.

Having said this I think we lacked a very good crumbing forward in 2002 and with the arrival of Carey you would think that Burns would be handy. Going by all the reports he has better aerobic fittness than ever before so to me that suggests that he is Fair Dinkum about getting back to his best. Because he is fitter he will probably have a bit more run in the middle than he has done before. So overall I think this fella could be a recruit of the year.:D

I was just thinking the other nite how much goal-kicking power we have. The players like Carey, Burns, Welsh, Burton, Stevens, McLeod, Ricciuto, Goodwin, Bode and Edwards are capable of kicking a bag on any given day. I think we will have some very big days in front of goals in 2003 and lets hope it start with the powder in Rd 1 of the Wiz Cup. There wouldn't be many defences that would comfortably match up on our forward line. AND THATS THE WAY I LIKE IT:D

Who needs 5AA on the AFL website when weve got you Macca.:cool:

Brilliant Stuff!!

I can honestly say I was excited about Ronnies selection coz Ive always believed you just dont lose uncanny goalsense that he just happens to have, overnight!!

He will shock the knockers and probably find himself on the end of a couple of Stiffys to boot.:D

Wanting to kick a lot of goals (means hes hungry)...Bring on Ron;)

SOFT !!!!!
UNDISCIPLINE !!!
INJURY PRONE !!!
DOESNT GET THE BALL ENOUGH !!!
DROPS HIS HEAD WHEN THE TEAM IS LOSING OR HIS OPPONENT GETS A FEW KICKS ON HIM !!!